We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clayton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation Spot”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Castaways during spring break and had a wonderful time. We rented unit 34 which has a small dock right outside the back porch. You could see the marina from this site which was great for the fisherman in our family. There are many reviews about the resort being old and I agree that it is but it was a perfect place for a family vacation. Our cottage was completely equipped with dishes, silverware, pot and pans so we could cook the fish that we caught. We shipped down dry goods as the grocery stores are limited and expensive. The front desk staff were more than willing to accept our package and hold it until we arrived at the site. The pool is heated and was never very crowded and pool towels are provided. The beach is directly across the street, so it was convenient to shelling any time of the day. There is a path that runs along side the resort which we used for running and biking every day. We did not rent a car while we were there as Castaways is conveniently located on the island and we were able to ride our bikes to Bowman Beach and the general store and anywhere else we wanted to go. The staff was great, we arrived a couple hours before check in and even though our cottage was not ready, they allowed us to put our luggage on the back porch of our unit and use the resort while we waited for housekeeping.

Castaways has a paddleboarding outfitter, YOLO, right on site which was great as my family and I did the ecotour with them one day. They also rent kayaks and canoes. You can book a fishing trip with Captain Joey right at the Marina. We caught red drum and trout and had them for dinner. There is also fishing under the bridge which isj just a short walk from the cottage.

My family and I will definitely visit Castaway's again.

Room Tip: #34 has its own dock and is conveniently located near paddleboard outfitters and marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeannieT562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
What a really nice review. Thank you so much. I am happy that your family enjoyed their stay and also enjoyed the fishing, shelling, biking and paddle boarding. These are great family amenities that are right here at Castaways for your enjoyment. We look forward to your return visit to Castaways and our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    167
    44
    18
    23
See reviews for
195
196
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sanibel and Captiva are my favorite quick getaways, I try to go a couple times a year. I've stayed at various places and have really grown to love Castaways. They're dog friendly, super nice staff and cute places. The rates are reasonable if you go off season or look for and ask staff if there's any deals...they're very accomodating. It's peaceful and quaint, which I love. It's in a great location, right in the middle of the two islands, there's a nice store in a short walk that has food stuff, deli, ect.. My favorite part is the location is awesome for shelling and fishing, very cool spot ...enjoy this place...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maraingela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Castaways is as you say in a great location on the quiet end of Sanibel. Our guests are our priority and our staff enjoy helping our guests to have a great time.
Again thank you for your time in writing this review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winslow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Husband and I stayed at Castaways (marina side, #24) in late March. It was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a 5 star resort or amenities of a large, luxury chain, this isn't for you. But it was great for us and met all of our needs.

For the most part, it was very quiet and relaxing. Constant car door banging as one of our neighbors packed up to leave woke us up one morning around 6 ish, and that night we endured the noise of our new neighbors repeatedly banging what I guess were their kitchen cabinet doors. But those were two instances of rudeness that management had no control over and could happen anywhere.

Very few minor complaints...one is the old and badly damaged fence outside of our porch. (the porches in the area would have excellent and enjoyable water views if they would just fix the fences, move some landscaping and store the kayaks in another area). Another was the bathroom lightbulbs that were burned out when we got there (in all fairness, we didn't complain about this until leaving..I'm sure if we had let them know they would have replaced right away, but isn't this something housekeeping should have noticed before we checked in?). Some new linens (towels, sheets, blankets were all clean but well worn) would be nice too.

The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The location so close to the beach was nice, too. Unfortunately, we were there during a record breaking cold snap and didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool or canoeing that were in our plans. Heard the fishing was great though! The sunsets on the beach a few steps away were fantastic. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Units on the beach looked amazing, sorry we didn't reserve one early enough! Keep in mind that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to review the Castaways. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay even though the weather was not the best. We do appreciate you letting us know about the bathroom light bulbs that were out. Our maintenace person went to the cottage and found that they had been unscrewed by the last person that stayed there. I agree with you that our housekeeper should have found this. We take our guests comments seriously and thank you for helping us to improve the department that missed this important item. The fence behind the cottages belongs to our neighbor and we are trying to get him to replace or at least make this area more inviting. Again, thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are planning to return. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We selected Castaways for our mother-daughter senior spring break trip as it was able to accommodate our group of 6 during our short window of travel days. We booked the cottages a tad late so we were also willing to move from a bay side cottage to a beach cottage based on availability. We also researched with the chamber of commerce that called it a "quaint property". The pictures offered on their website were in not representative as the cottages in general were dingy, dirty, ill equipped, and unmaintained. The management was not the least bit concerned that we had to keep visiting them for forks, knives, spoons, dishes, sheets, blankets, etc., but they were very concerned with getting payment in full for our 4 nights which was in excess of $1500 as soon as we checked in. Not only was the main office closed at 8 pm the first night of our arrival, they left a series of sticky notes to incoming guests on the window. One day I informed them that I slept on the pull out sofa without sheets, even though we had moved into the new cottage that day and were told it was "ready"...the manager mildly apologized, went out to find the "sheet lady" but sadly she never arrived at the cottage. In fact, I had to flag her down myself later when I saw her driving by. It is our groups opinion that as management was clearly aware that 6 people were staying on the facilities should be prepared for 6 people, meaning at least 6 dishes, utensils, glasses, sheets, pillows, blankets, etc. Guests should not have to scrounge around searching for basic materials, especially given the prices per night. Lastly, the facility is general is unmaintained and unclean. Interior of cottages lacked operating smoke alarms and were outfitted with low quality materials and fixtures. I would not ever return or recommend this property to family or friends.

Room Tip: They have another location on Captiva which I am told is more upscale, and from the looks of it, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am sorry that you found that the Castaways was not to your liking. At no time was a manager approached so that we could address your concerns. Before arrival we did purchase additional items that you had asked for and placed in the cottage per your request. Items that were missing were replaced as soon as you let our front desk know. Often items gets moved from cottage to cottage and it seems like some of the items that were missing were placed in another unit. Our housekeeper should have noticed this. A manager is on property 7 days a week which is either myself or my assistant manager, we would have gladly have taken care of any issues you may have had. I did check the unit and found that the smoke alarm was working. It is placed just outside of the kitchen and is probably hard to be seen. We appreciate your comments and take them seriously and will look into who you spoke to that you thought was a manager. Obviously they did not follow through with making sure that our guests needs are attended to. We do place keys for late arrival guests in envelopes on the office door. These envelopes are coded for security. Also if the night person has to leave the office to attend to a guests requests we do leave a note on the office door to say we will be right back. As you can see by the majority of other reviews we work to make sure that our guests enjoy their vacations and meet their expectations. Again I am sorry that you felt that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband, two dogs and I stayed here last year. We loved Sanibel and Castaway so much we made a promise to come back every year for our anniversary. It's very relaxing and affordable. Great location and dog friendly, we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rdianeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really happy that you loved your stay here at Castaways. We have many repeat guests that come back year after year with our longest repeat guest returning for 35 consecutive years. We are very pleased that you are going to return to us every year for your anniversary and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband I recently spent several days at the Castaways. We had a wonderful time, and we are planning to return next year. We stayed on the bay side where the only sounds we heard were the cries and the calls of the birds. We had a special close encounter with a pelican while we were sitting on the dock by the bay. The pelican landed on the dock and edged closer and closer to us ending up about two feet from us where he promptly fell asleep. The unit itself was very clean and the personnel at the Castaways were very friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a place where you can completely relax and appreciate the peace and quiet, this is
the place for you as it is far away from the commercialization and the traffic found on other parts of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your really great review. We agree with you that this is such a great place to relax and enjoy out natural surroundings. The pelicans always seem to fall asleep on our dock. Seems like they are relaxed too!. Again thank you for your time in writing this review. We look forward to your return visit to Castaways and our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My sister and I needed an affordable GetAWay on Sanibel and we found this lovely place which sits at the end of Sanibel just before the bridge to Captiva. You walk between the Bay and the Gulf and a more perfect spot could not be had on Sanibel.
Another fabulous benefit is its relationship to Tween Waters Resort on Captiva. You get to use all of the amenities at the resort and there is even a free shuttle between them.
You can't go wrong at Castaways if you love authentic Sanibel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen12561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location on the west end of Sanibel. Also that you enjoyed being able to use the facitlities at our sister resort Tween Waters Inn. We look forward to your return visit to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,249 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,706 reviews
6.6 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Property: Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing