We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages is a step above camping but 300x the cost"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We selected Castaways for our mother-daughter senior spring break trip as it was able to accommodate our group of 6 during our short window of travel days. We booked the cottages a tad late so we were also willing to move from a bay side cottage to a beach cottage based on availability. We also researched with the chamber of commerce that called it a "quaint property". The pictures offered on their website were in not representative as the cottages in general were dingy, dirty, ill equipped, and unmaintained. The management was not the least bit concerned that we had to keep visiting them for forks, knives, spoons, dishes, sheets, blankets, etc., but they were very concerned with getting payment in full for our 4 nights which was in excess of $1500 as soon as we checked in. Not only was the main office closed at 8 pm the first night of our arrival, they left a series of sticky notes to incoming guests on the window. One day I informed them that I slept on the pull out sofa without sheets, even though we had moved into the new cottage that day and were told it was "ready"...the manager mildly apologized, went out to find the "sheet lady" but sadly she never arrived at the cottage. In fact, I had to flag her down myself later when I saw her driving by. It is our groups opinion that as management was clearly aware that 6 people were staying on the facilities should be prepared for 6 people, meaning at least 6 dishes, utensils, glasses, sheets, pillows, blankets, etc. Guests should not have to scrounge around searching for basic materials, especially given the prices per night. Lastly, the facility is general is unmaintained and unclean. Interior of cottages lacked operating smoke alarms and were outfitted with low quality materials and fixtures. I would not ever return or recommend this property to family or friends.

Room Tip: They have another location on Captiva which I am told is more upscale, and from the looks of it, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

I am sorry that you found that the Castaways was not to your liking. At no time was a manager approached so that we could address your concerns. Before arrival we did purchase additional items that you had asked for and placed in the cottage per your request. Items that were missing were replaced as soon as you let our front desk know. Often items gets moved from cottage to cottage and it seems like some of the items that were missing were placed in another unit. Our housekeeper should have noticed this. A manager is on property 7 days a week which is either myself or my assistant manager, we would have gladly have taken care of any issues you may have had. I did check the unit and found that the smoke alarm was working. It is placed just outside of the kitchen and is probably hard to be seen. We appreciate your comments and take them seriously and will look into who you spoke to that you thought was a manager. Obviously they did not follow through with making sure that our guests needs are attended to. We do place keys for late arrival guests in envelopes on the office door. These envelopes are coded for security. Also if the night person has to leave the office to attend to a guests requests we do leave a note on the office door to say we will be right back. As you can see by the majority of other reviews we work to make sure that our guests enjoy their vacations and meet their expectations. Again I am sorry that you felt that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 522 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband, two dogs and I stayed here last year. We loved Sanibel and Castaway so much we made a promise to come back every year for our anniversary. It's very relaxing and affordable. Great location and dog friendly, we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rdianeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really happy that you loved your stay here at Castaways. We have many repeat guests that come back year after year with our longest repeat guest returning for 35 consecutive years. We are very pleased that you are going to return to us every year for your anniversary and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband I recently spent several days at the Castaways. We had a wonderful time, and we are planning to return next year. We stayed on the bay side where the only sounds we heard were the cries and the calls of the birds. We had a special close encounter with a pelican while we were sitting on the dock by the bay. The pelican landed on the dock and edged closer and closer to us ending up about two feet from us where he promptly fell asleep. The unit itself was very clean and the personnel at the Castaways were very friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a place where you can completely relax and appreciate the peace and quiet, this is
the place for you as it is far away from the commercialization and the traffic found on other parts of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your really great review. We agree with you that this is such a great place to relax and enjoy out natural surroundings. The pelicans always seem to fall asleep on our dock. Seems like they are relaxed too!. Again thank you for your time in writing this review. We look forward to your return visit to Castaways and our beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My sister and I needed an affordable GetAWay on Sanibel and we found this lovely place which sits at the end of Sanibel just before the bridge to Captiva. You walk between the Bay and the Gulf and a more perfect spot could not be had on Sanibel.
Another fabulous benefit is its relationship to Tween Waters Resort on Captiva. You get to use all of the amenities at the resort and there is even a free shuttle between them.
You can't go wrong at Castaways if you love authentic Sanibel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen12561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

What a lovely review. Thank you so much. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location on the west end of Sanibel. Also that you enjoyed being able to use the facitlities at our sister resort Tween Waters Inn. We look forward to your return visit to our beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I had a great time at Castaways. We stayed on the marina side and enjoyed watching Captain Joey come in each evening with the fish. The pelicans and egrets would come in waiting for their share. The dolphins were in the marina waters everyday. Walking across SanCap rd. would take you right to the beach ( which did not have public parking so was sparsely populated) and since they have been dredging to rebuild the beach, it was excellent. Great shelling right there! Sunset Grill or The Mad Hatter right there if you want to walk to dinner. Doc Fords was great and we went there several times for appetizers (Yucatan Shrimp) and excellent dinner. Right up the road on Captiva was The Green Flash, The Bubble Room, and The Mucky Duck. The sunsets were beautiful-fantastic romantic evenings. Groceries next to the Sunset Grill in case you need something quickly or a 7 mile drive gets you to Bailey's or Jerry's for a more substantial shopping trip. Our cottage was a little outdated, but clean and towels were readily replaced by placing them on the porch. This place was accommodating, comfortable and in a great location away from the traffic in Sanibel. We are going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and gave this review. Our guest opinions are really appreciated We work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their vacations and have the laid back feeling of "old florida". We hope you can come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. We did not want a busy resort. We were recomended castaways by a friend and were so glad we stayed there. It was like having our own place on the beach.
If you want to self cater there is everything you need. But if you prefer to eat out there is a restaurant next door and plenty of restaurants a short drive away. We were able to watch the most gorgeous sunets from what seemed like our own beach which was just a few steps from our cottage. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble.
The cottage we stayed in was clean and well maintained. There is a small but lovely marina on a bay at the back where you can rent canoes, paddle boards and go fishing. This is great for watching the local wildlife. There is seating there if you want to just chill out and watch the pelicans and egrets. While we were staying there a cheese and wine party was held by the beach which gave us a chance to socialise with the other guests. One of the guests said she had been going there every year for the past 27 years and we can understand why. There is a secluded small but adequate pool with plenty of sunloungers.....great for cooling off after a hard morning collecting seashells from the beach. We love this place and will definately return.

Room Tip: If you want a water view and like bird watching or fishing ask for a marina facing room. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to go on Trip Advisor to help other people to know our property. We look forward to your return to Castaways in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Thank you once again Castaways!
We had a great holiday whilst staying at your resort.
We've visited numerous times and wouldn't stay anywhere else.
This time we stayed in one of your bigger units which was just as great as the smaller ones but with more space and even greater views...the bay to the rear and sea to the front.
In particular we'd like to thank the staff who were so friendly and create such a nice atmosphere. The sunset cocktail party was great.
Oh, nearly forgot to mention the other friends we made here; Charlie the Egret, the Pelicans and the midnight Dolphin.
Hope to be back real soon...

Room Tip: We've yet to find a bad room but we've never known a better room than 33 with its windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Castaways. We really appreciate your opinion and value our guest responses. Your animal friends here on Sanibel as well as the staff of Castaways look forward to your return. We all thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
706 reviews
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,964 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $141 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing