We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cabin 11” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cabin 11”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in cabin 11 for 4 nights in November. The cottage is as its described on the Castaways website. Chris was helpful at check-in. Our cabin was clean and ready when we arrived after 4:00. Everything worked as it should. We enjoyed the screened porch the most. The view of the Gulf was great and the short walk to the beach supplied us with entertainment from the Dolphin, Pelicans and Osprey. Excellent sunsets. The only bad thing was the no see ums. Put your bug spray on before going to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizz3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    148
    37
    15
    19
See reviews for
172
165
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Castaways cottage #1 was clean and well located in Sanibel Island. It was affordable and in front of the beach. We stayed 2 nights and were 6 people. The bathrooms and kitchen were clean and beds comfortable. It is not fancy but had what we need for the weekend. All the group enjoyed the view, the silence and Sanibel. We will come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sicomorotree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Castaways cottages are clean, well located in Sanibel Island. Affordable and very close to the beach. Sanible is amazing, what an amazing place to visit. No junk food and gorgious views. A place to see and visit. People at reception were very nice and gave lots of explanations about things to see,restaurants and more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went for a getaway weekend and stayed in #16.....perfect small cozy room !!!! Everyone at Castaways was very friendly and helpful.....Me and my husband loved being able to fish as much as we could from the beach.....Perfect sunsets, every evening different, We had a memorable weekend in the Island!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daymee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The fishing has been really great this year.
We all enjoy our work here at Castaways and it is our pleasure to ensure our guests enjoy their stay on this beautiful island. We thank you for your review and look forward to your return to Castaways
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We did a quick weekend trip and stayed in #27...perfect choice! Everyone at Castaways was so friendly and my husband loved being able to step out of our cottage & fish later in the evening! We found the cottage clean and comfortable. Being able to walk across the street to the beach was perfect. We appreciated that we were able to bring out large dog...so many places will only accomadate 20lb and under...so we were so excited that we could bring our German Shepherd. Loved the screened in patio. Can't wait to visit again & plan a longer trip. Just the place we needed so we could disconnect. Our 2 and 1/2 year old & dog loved it too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilenematises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review The Castaways on Trip Advisor. We love that you enjoyed your stay here and that your German Shepherd enjoyed the vacation too! The fishing has been excellent and it was great that your husband could fish right from the dock outside of your cottage. We look forward to your return to Castaways. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've been coming here every year for 22 years and hope to come back for another 22! It's not perfect, no one is going to serve you drinks poolside, but if you want a little slice of heaven, this is it! These are older cottages, but the staff is excellent. Enjoy shelling, sunsets, and starry nights! Great place for families and pet friendly, too. Three restaurants within easy walking distance and lots of great places to dine on both islands...or grill some fresh fish right outside your cottage!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Castaways. We value your comments and love the fact that you are one of our long term repeat guests. 22 years WOW, thats fabulous. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Our cottage was not ready due to renovations so we were upgraded to one on the beach. The location of the beachfront cottage was prefect and we didn't even have to leave the patio to enjoy the sunset. Moving across the street was not fun but it was nice to see the Marina side of the resort as well. The cottages were nice and had plenty of room for us and our dog. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Castaways on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your understanding that we had to upgrade you to a Beachfront Cottage as the cottage you booked was under renovation.
We make it our goal to make sure every one of our valued guests enjoy their stay with us and that they enjoy our resort and beautiful Sanibel Island. Thank you.
Carole Williams, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Property: Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing