We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secluded location on a perfect island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Secluded location on a perfect island”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Our cottage was not ready due to renovations so we were upgraded to one on the beach. The location of the beachfront cottage was prefect and we didn't even have to leave the patio to enjoy the sunset. Moving across the street was not fun but it was nice to see the Marina side of the resort as well. The cottages were nice and had plenty of room for us and our dog. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Castaways on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your understanding that we had to upgrade you to a Beachfront Cottage as the cottage you booked was under renovation.
We make it our goal to make sure every one of our valued guests enjoy their stay with us and that they enjoy our resort and beautiful Sanibel Island. Thank you.
Carole Williams, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    167
    44
    18
    23
See reviews for
195
196
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were in #32 for a few days, it was great! The place was very clean. Two bedrooms (king, full & twin bed) great for 4 of us! The cottages are older but if you just want to relax, beach, fish & eat this is the place. The sister location is worth the drive if you want to see alot of tourists and drink frozen drinks by the pool! Captiva has some great restaurants. RC Otters was one of our favorites reasonably priced with lots of variety. Very casual with a guy playing the guitar. The only downside of Sanibel was the dredging! The noise and diesel smell is very offputting. They are supposed to be dredging until late August. One day the noise and smell was blown out to sea the next day was just smelly and loud, who knew? So we stayed at the pool who cares :) The marina was great! My husband enjoyed alot of man fishing time! They sell bait & tackle, snacks & beverages. Heard some great fish stories too! I would recommend Castaways for the laid back quiet vacation and The Tween for more interactions and touristy stuff :) A/C was very cold and ice machine always full!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Castaways on Sanibel Island. I am glad that you got to enjoy our sister resort Tween-Waters Inn on Captiva Island also. As guests of Castaways you have the opportunity to enjoy their facilities as well as Castaways. The dredging should be over soon, this has been a difficult few weeks that has been out of our control. I think you for your understsanding and look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just return (we checked out this morning) from our family vacation to the Castaways in Sanibel and it was great, we took our kids, grand kids and the dog! Stayed at cottage #1 and I have to say it exceeded our expectations, we didn't know what to expect....bedrooms where big, very good a/c, nice kitchen and I have to say everything was super clean.. Great location. Thaks to the Castaways me and my family were able,to have a nice vacation, so nice that we are making reservations again for next year, if you are looking for a laid back vacation this is the place.. Thank you The castaways!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi8489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Castaways. Our Cottage #1 is a spacious 3 bedroom cottage that is ideal for familys. This is also a pet friendly cottage so your furry family member can also enjoy being at the beach. Thank you so much for staying with us, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I are both native Floridians. We had the pleasure of spending our honeymoon (34 years ago in August) at Tween Waters Inn. We have been to Tween Waters Inn several times and have always been happy with the service we have received. Over the past few years we have stayed at their sister resort, Castaways, and have been very pleased with the management and service. I much prefer the relative isolation of northern Sanibel and Captiva over the more crowded southern Sanibel when visiting this area. We returned yesterday from a great visit to Sanibel and once again received wonderful service from the folks at Castaways! Tween Waters Inn and Castaways always welcome our furry companions and make it a pleasure for them as well as us! I would highly recommend them to anyone who wants a friendly, family oriented place to enjoy the beauty of the Sanibel-Captiva area! Yay!!! :)

Room Tip: Staying at the beach is great if you can afford the extra $$$. We stayed in #29 and it was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Castaways and Tween Waters Inn take great pleasure in makling sure that our guests and their furry friends enjoy their vacations with us. We look forward to your return to our beautiful islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in cottage # 21. It was comfortable and clean. The a/c worked very well. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The fold-out bed needs replaced/repaired. We will be staying with Castaways again in the near future. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my70superbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your really great review of Castaways . Our guests vacation experience and comfort is very important to us and getting a lovely review from you was great. Thank you also for letting us know about the sofa bed. We replaced it with a new one after you let us know it was not very comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I recently stayed here and had my wedding on the beach just steps from my cottage. What a memorable stay I had. We didn't want to leave. It absolutely beats a hotel. The staff was outstanding and the accommodations were perfect. I highly recommend staying at Castaways Cottages and you should consider spending a little more and getting a beach front cottage for the awesome sunsets..The Castaways at Sanibel is my destination for my anniversary each year .

Room Tip: Beach side for the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

First time on Captiva. Great shelling and fishing, the folks at the hotel could not have been nicer. Highly recommend a late breakfast at the Sunset Grille. I stayed in unit 16 and the ceiling fan and air kept the room quite comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrg625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The snook will be waiting for you too! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
6.6 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Property: Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing