We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cute and colorful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachview Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachview Cottages
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute and colorful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love the tropical colored cottages! Each one has it's own personality. Great screened porches, mid century feel, and steps to the best beach on Sanibel (in front of West Gulf Drive). A great pet-friendly place to vacation. And very reasonable by Sanibel standards

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    102
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
162
182
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is a slice of old Florida Heaven. The cottages are well equipped and steps from the beach. We come because they are dog friendly and everyone has them. Each unit has a charcoal grill and screened porch. The staff is nice, no maids, but you leave dirty towels on the porch and the replace with a bag of fresh ones each morning. Great location close to everything and really good fishing and shelling. Every morning we saw dolphins on our beach walk, then I would spend most of the day floating in the calm water.
Remember nothing is flashy, but everything is good. This is my favorite place on the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well managed and maintained. Exceptionally competitive rates. Personable, efficient staff: kudos to Bob, Lisa, and Dilya! Clean and quite cottages with basic household amenities. It's on the beach with shells, shells, shells galore in both directions. Stayed in Unit 20 and will request it when we return. Comfortable queen bed. A 3 - 5 minute, quick bike ride to restaurants and shops if you want/need some variety. Free bikes and absolutely superb bike trails through various nature areas. Excellent, high speed wireless internet. Pet friendly. A large percentage of guests return frequently and are greeted as old friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISP2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had an amazing time at Beachview Cottages! This was hopefully the first of many return trips to this location. The cottage is simple and has everything you would need. (Just bring papertowels, bug spray, charcoal/lighter fluid) I stayed in cottage #7 and the bed was comfortable. We stopped at Jerry's Supermarket and got all of our food/alcohol on the way to check-in.
You are walking distance from the beach and the beautiful sunsets in the evening. Unit #7 was on the second level which gives a nice view of the property. There are charcoal grills in front of each cottage and a propane gas grill by the office that is shared. They are pet friendly and there were many different dogs enjoying a dip in the ocean and hanging out on the screened in patios. You can put out your towels by the front door in the morning and they will be replaced with fresh towels, daily. I loved going onto the dock at night and looking at the thousands of stars you cannot see in the city. Amazing!
I go to Sanibel to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of South Florida, so I am not looking for luxury. I want simple and serene and this fits the bill, perfectly!
I even had a Fedex package delivered to Beachview and Lisa kindly signed for it and left it on my patio while I was at the beach. Everyone was very friendly and I look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Cottage #7 has an elevated room view and is perfect for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband, 2 cats, & I have been coming here for years. It is absolute paradise! As native Floridians, we love to see Florida in its beautiful, natural setting while staying in an "old Florida" (translation: not a slick high-rise) setting. The cottages are well maintained and nicely appointed. The staff is always friendly and helpful, and our cottage is always very clean and welcoming when we arrive. The grounds are clean and charming. We have seen several different types of woodpeckers on the property, as well as a few gopher tortoises crossing the sands. We look forward to returning again & again & love seeing Lisa, Bob, and Dilya! We have stayed at a few other places in Sanibel (prior to finding Beachview Cottages & also once when there were no rooms available at Beachview) and there is simply no comparison in terms of location, amenities, charm, and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1RaysFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I have been staying @ Beachview Cottages for over 20 years- way before Tween Waters bought them, and it is still our very favorite place to vacation after all these years! No hassles- just beautiful beach and sun. The staff is always friendly and outgoing, wanting to please. The cottages are just that- cottages- and a few household ammenities are provided- pots, pans, dishes,etc. Bring your own food and any special utensils you "just have to have" from home. Grills are provided. Bikes are available, and there are wonderful places to bike to- Ding Darling wildlife areas, beaches,-the whole island is bike friendly with wide bike paths everywhere. Beachview is "dog friendly" and it was quite the show the 2 weeks we were there! A Bloodhound, doxies, Corgis,beagle, ShiTzu,and labradors along with Chihuahuas and
pomeranians!! Loove this place, the convenience,and the BEACH just minutes away! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Book early for a good selection of rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Spent 5 days here awhile back, was originally booked for 3 days but had such a good time extended it. When you think beach cottage this is exactly it!! Why stay in a condo and be isolated when you can have a true beach experience. Our cottage was about a 1 minute walk to the beach tops from door to sand. Great kitchen and all utensils provided, needed an extra frying pan and they brought it right down. We too brought all our food and drink with us before getting on the island and never left the property no need to. Our 2 chihuas loved the screened in porch and the fact they could also be on the beach legally, Sanibel is very dog friendly. While some of the cottages could use a little updating, that is part of the beach cottage charm. Lovely quiet part of the island. A vacation that will be hard to top and will be back again soon..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,578 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Cottages

Property: Beachview Cottages
Address: 3325 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Beachview Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Resort Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing