We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fun in the sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Shells of Sanibel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Shells of Sanibel
New Philadelphia, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in unit 22 for 7 days from Nov 10 to 17. It was a very clean nicely furnished room. This building is right next to the office, which makes it convenient to use the laundry and pool, (its heated). The walk to the beach is not real far but you may want to consider a wagon or cart to move stuff to the beach if you have a need for chairs, toys for kids, coolers and so on. This place is very centrally located on the island I would say about mid point to all island attraction and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and ready to help with any of our needs. For $ value this is the best you could find on this island.

Room Tip: If you have little kids or are an older couple ask for lower numbered rooms which are closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
52
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pooled closed 2-3 days condo above being demolished 2 days now hammering banging drilling sawing scrapping very loud all day 8:30 til after 1:30 staff do not care they keep saying its only for a few days were only here for 7 days jerks
Do not recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karenedgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Where to start....the walk to the beach from bldg 5 is way too long, much longer than site explains, its over 500 ft to road, where then its another 500ft down to the trail to the beach, which is another good 500 ft to the beach. That long trip to sand is way too much for a family with kids and all the stuff you take with you and they do not provide wagons etc for you to haul stuff with. The pool is very nice but not screened in and the bugs eat you alive in the late afternoon/evening. Our unit said updated but that must have meant the new television, because the guest room had wallpaper that was small floral and reminded me of a grandmothers room. The kitchen cabinets were 40 yrs old and the appliances were very old too and the dishwasher only worked part of the time. The fixtures in the bathroom were just plain old. The furniture was so uncomfortable that I had a back ache. The screened-in porch was a joke, it was long and narrow, if you sat on a chair, your knees hit the railing. I guess I should have known better, you get what you pay for. The lower price was not worth it, paying for a bit more at a beach side unit would have saved two trips a day in the car to get to a closer beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melinda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville Nj
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Sea Shells from 9/8/12 - 9/15/12 and stayed in Unit 22. THe condo was clean and stock with bed linens and towels.The kitchen although dated had new appliances. The plates, cutlery, and glassware were a bit mismatched but usable. The unit contained one Queen bed in the master bedroom and two twins in the other bedroom. There are no washer/dyers in the unit itself but are available in the office building.
The complex was clean, well marked with access to a computer and washers/dryers 24/7. We used the pool several times during our stays and it was great. If you want to go to the beach you will have about a 5 minute walk from the complex. It take a little looking to find the path that you are allowed to use but its not bad at all. There are two newer Weber grills available for everyones use behind the office complex. The grills were clean and full of gas and we used the grill three times during our stay. All in all a very nice place to stay and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Unit 22 is the closest to the pool, grills, and office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akula2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldan, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This unit must be infested with no see um bugs, each member in my family has over sixty bites on our entire bodies. we went to the everglades and didn't get bite once. Now we are home with bite marks all over our legs, arms, etc...

Also on the kitchen counter near the microwave you cannot place food down and leave the room for a minute, bugs will be on it when you return.

I'm thinking a good exterminator would help.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — The bugs
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We've been travelling around Florida for 3 weeks and this has been an amazing stay. We found this apartment (number 5) on Owners Direct. We'd tried various places but they were either booked or ridiculously expensive.

I thought we might have got a dodgy place but how wrong? Sea Shells doesnt look much from the outside but it is steps from the beach, has a tennis court, shuttle board, pool, bike rentals. Our unit #5 was beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything we could need.

I can't speak for the other places but here's the owners details so you can find out availability and pricing. jbfalvey@aol.com

If you do visit, go to Captiva and try the Captiva Cruise - we went this evening and saw manatees (mother and baby) in the marina and then had a family of dolphins swim alongside the boat. AMAZING!!

Also get sun cream with insect repellent as I've been bitten by mosquitoes and these noseeums (day and night).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012. The condo had plenty of space but the whole layout was dated and tired. The carpet (advertised as new in 1999!) was shag pile and the colour (to be very kind) was 'brown'. In the bathroom the worn towels once removed from their rack brought the whole rack down with them leaving gaping holes in the stud wall where they were once fixed. The patio doors were so ancient that it required real physical effort to slide them open. When trying to lock them at night when you fixed one end the other burst open and vice versa. The communial pool was also dated and with insufficient shade and horrible plastic slatted sun loungers. This facility is overpriced and we would not stay here again although we love Sanibel and plan to return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
6.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shells of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells of Sanibel

Property: Sea Shells of Sanibel
Address: 2840 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Shells of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing