We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ouch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shells of Sanibel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Shells of Sanibel
Aldan, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ouch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This unit must be infested with no see um bugs, each member in my family has over sixty bites on our entire bodies. we went to the everglades and didn't get bite once. Now we are home with bite marks all over our legs, arms, etc...

Also on the kitchen counter near the microwave you cannot place food down and leave the room for a minute, bugs will be on it when you return.

I'm thinking a good exterminator would help.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — The bugs
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
50
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We've been travelling around Florida for 3 weeks and this has been an amazing stay. We found this apartment (number 5) on Owners Direct. We'd tried various places but they were either booked or ridiculously expensive.

I thought we might have got a dodgy place but how wrong? Sea Shells doesnt look much from the outside but it is steps from the beach, has a tennis court, shuttle board, pool, bike rentals. Our unit #5 was beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything we could need.

I can't speak for the other places but here's the owners details so you can find out availability and pricing. jbfalvey@aol.com

If you do visit, go to Captiva and try the Captiva Cruise - we went this evening and saw manatees (mother and baby) in the marina and then had a family of dolphins swim alongside the boat. AMAZING!!

Also get sun cream with insect repellent as I've been bitten by mosquitoes and these noseeums (day and night).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012. The condo had plenty of space but the whole layout was dated and tired. The carpet (advertised as new in 1999!) was shag pile and the colour (to be very kind) was 'brown'. In the bathroom the worn towels once removed from their rack brought the whole rack down with them leaving gaping holes in the stud wall where they were once fixed. The patio doors were so ancient that it required real physical effort to slide them open. When trying to lock them at night when you fixed one end the other burst open and vice versa. The communial pool was also dated and with insufficient shade and horrible plastic slatted sun loungers. This facility is overpriced and we would not stay here again although we love Sanibel and plan to return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for a week during spring break. The complex is on the inland side of West Gulf Dr, which is a quieter residential section of Sanibel. If you must be gulf-front you won't be happy here, but if you don't mind walking 5 minutes to the beach you can save $1,000 a week or more by staying here. Each unit is individually owned and decorated, so you'll want to check out the pictures of individual units if the decor matters to you. We rented directly through the owner on VRBO and had plenty of pictures to view. As others have noted, unit 1 is right off West Gulf and thus, closest walk to beach access. Our unit 43 is in the very last building. The walk through the complex is actually longer than the walk down the street to the access. It's not too far, and each unit seemed to come with a beach cart for hauling gear. The complex was nice and quiet, with a mix of retirees that lived there and families staying for a short while. There is a small pool (very clean) with umbrella tables, lounge chairs, and pool noodles, small clubhouse with books, magazines, laundry room, and baths next to the pool. there is also a patio with brand-new grills, shuffleboard, and more tables and chairs behind the pool area. The pool is located mid-way in the complex. Tennis courts are at the far end. Racquets and tennis balls are provided in the clubhouse. The staff we saw is there during day hours and was very pleasant. Each unit has a small screened balcony overlooking the parking lot. Both sides of the complex are surrounded by green space, trees, and tropical plants. It was a nice change of pace from the big condo resorts I've stayed at before, and much cheaper. We'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: Lower number units are closest walk to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here during spring break and thought that the price was very reasonable given the time period. The rooms were somewhat small (we had five people in our group), but it's not like we spent a lot of time inside! The beds were comfortable, but the extra cot was not. It was very clean and had all of the amenities we needed. I loved how close it was to the beach. You do have a short walk (less than 5 minutes for an average person), but once you got there, the beach was not crowded. I suppose if you are travelling with young children and needed to carry more than a bag to the beach, it may not be as convenient. The staff was very nice and I enjoyed being able to rent bikes on the property. It's easy to find and easy to travel around the island (and Captiva, as well). This was my first trip to Sanibel and I would stay at Sea Shells again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The staff are VERY helpful here. Unfortunately, the property needs a lot of help! Very overpriced for what you receive. Uncomfortable beds and furniture. Location is much farther from the beach than what a visitor would think. Kitchen much smaller than pictures present. Room for only one person to cook in the kitchen area. Won't stay again or recommend to others .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank unclewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I have always liked the ambiance of Sanibel’s small inns and cottages so we have stayed at places like the Parrot Nest, Driftwood Inn and PalmView. This time on the island we wanted to try a different beach location, explore new bike paths and restaurants so we chose the Sea Shells of Sanibel condos, which are a little more upscale, only slightly more in price and still within our budget. In January 2010 we stayed in unit #10 and in January 2011 we stayed in unit #7. Both units have the same layout, were very clean, updated, and each unit was tastefully decorated in bright, cheery colors—and compared to other places we have stayed, Sea Shell units are more spacious. This contributed to a very pleasant weeklong stay, thankfully, as we ended up spending more time in the condo than expected because of rain and record-low cold snaps (both years). The kitchens in both units were great—refrigerator and range were full size and there was actually enough counter space, along with utensils, pots and pans to enjoy cooking a full meal. Bedrooms in both units are large with ample closet and dresser space and plenty of room to move around without bumping into furniture. Beds were comfortable. Both the master bathrooms and hall baths were clean and large enough not to feel cramped. Unit 10 includes a TV in both bedrooms. The owners of unit 7 have assembled a delightful guidebook of tips and things to do on the island that would be helpful for anyone new (and not so new) to Sanibel. Both units have a nice little screened porch for two, perfect for enjoying a morning cup of coffee. There is a heated pool, coin-operated laundry facilities, outdoor grills, tennis courts and a place to clean your shells. Bike rental is also available and we found this part of the island just as enjoyable by bike, if not more. Take the bike path behind Rabbit Road to Doc Fords for lunch but watch out for alligators! So is there a downside? We didn’t find one but I have to agree with the reviewer from St. Paul who said the management was “uninterested”. We also found the woman to be very low-key and didn’t exactly receive a warm welcome upon our arrival nor did we see her much during the week, but she was okay. The only complaint I had was that I wished both units had provided spacious mats by the door (and brooms or vacuum cleaners) so we wouldn’t feel guilty tracking sand through the condo. But really, that’s our only complaint. One more thing—depending on where you stay in the complex it’s a 5 or 10-plus minute walk to the beach. Lower numbered units are closer to the bike path and beach. If you are looking for something a little nicer than a rustic small inn/cottage atmosphere yet can’t afford to stay directly on the beach, give Sea Shells of Sanibel condos a try.

Room Tip: units #7 and #10 are lower level, close to laundry and beach path
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank WisconsinKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shells of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells of Sanibel

Property: Sea Shells of Sanibel
Address: 2840 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Shells of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing