We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of character and a fabulous value on Sanibel!”
Review of Kona Kai Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kona Kai Motel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loads of character and a fabulous value on Sanibel!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'd driven by the Kona Kai for years and always wanted to stay there because of its funky tiki look. On a last minute trip to Sanibel and decided to call and check the rate for a couple of nights. It was such a great deal to stay on the island that I couldn't resist! We stayed in a room which was enough for two considering you have your own deck and there are so many inviting spaces on the property to hang out - the large pool deck, several sets of tables and chairs under canopies. While it is an older property, everything is scrupulously clean. What really made our room was the incredibly comfortable foam bed and quality pillows and linens. Kona Kai is central to all the village amenities. The fantastic Traders restaurant is next door. Everything else is bikable. If you don't feel like going to the beach, the pool is quite large and has a deep end. Kona Kai is such a cool little gem on Sanibel, and the owner, Brenda, is wonderfully attentive and allowed us to check out the other accommodations ... if we could have stayed longer - or should I say, when we come back - I would choose a suite or the cottage so we could cook. (There are several bbq grills on the property for guests and the grocery is walkable, with surprisingly reasonable prices for the island.) In short, Kona Kai is full of character, uber clean and a terrific value on Sanibel. Thank you so much, Brenda ... you do a great job and we loved it. If I could stay down here for the winter I would totally apply for the manager job! :))) Wishing you much success this season!

Room Tip: I would have loved to be in the standalone cottage but it was booked. I was able to look at the effi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    108
    28
    20
    16
See reviews for
87
170
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here for the past five years and been in all different rooms. The rooms are are very clean, the bed was good, coffee maker, micro,frig, wifi. Very relaxing, nice pool to enjoy. Several types of eateries within walking or there are thatched areas where you can BBQ.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2runing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just for One Night at the kona kai. It consists of Bungalows in hawaiian style. The surrounding Garden / trees are nicely illuminated, Natural Materials are used Like Wood for the "pavement". All the Bungalows have a Terrasse and their are tables, Chairs and Grills to have a BBQ right in Front of Your Bungalow. The Bungalow is clean and well equipped with fridge, AC, TV, Wifi etc. The Bunglows were clean, of course in this Environment you have an Insect in your room from Time to Time nur Overall you felt to be in a clean Environment. Not always is somebody present at the Frontdesk, but of you call from there, somebody will help you within a Minute or so. In direct proximity there are a Lot of Restaurantes, which you could reach by foot (i would Reccomend Car due to the mosquitos). Overall a really Nice Place to stay in an warm & heartly atmosphere with ok-prices. Would come back anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelinho82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an old-style, "mom & pop" type motel, which is nice for Sanibel Island. Brenda, the Front Desk/ Reservations Agent is very enthusiastic that "you'll have a great time". And for the most part we did. The place needs alot of up-dating. Specifically the doors and locks to the rooms. The Hawaiian vibe is nice. The stench of garbage from the next door restaurants dumpster as you sit on your Lanai, not so much. Overall it's a 2 star with 4 star prices. Window a/c units are very noisy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

the kona kai has a small, cozy atmosphere that made me and my family feel like we were on a secluded island :) the managers Brenda and Lenny work to make the kona kai look gorgeous, tropical and make you feel special and cared for. the great thing about the kona kai is that it's located on periwinkle way (a main road that leads to many restaurants, shops, etc.). you MUST stay at the kona kai or else you're missing out on the amazing experience it brings to sanibel island!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We can't say enough about how great this place is to stay. Brenda and Lenny truly make us feel like we are part of their family. They are so warm and friendly- we have never been treated so graciously by hotel staff! We stayed here with our 2 daughters and we all had such a good time. The room is clean and beautiful, a tropical escape. No matter what room you get the view is perfect and you have a porch to sit and drink your morning cup of coffee. :) The atmosphere is amazing and makes you feel instantly relaxed! We would never want to stay anywhere else in Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I took my family to the Kona Kai Motel in Sanibel for the weekend. Let me tell you first hand....from the moment we stepped onto the property, we were pampered and well attended to by the Managers Brenda and Lenny! Everything from advice on where the best restaurants were, to special places to visit during our stay.

The room and amenities were flawless, and the prices super reasonable! If you are going to take a trip to Sanibel...you MUST stop in and take a look for yourself! You will not be disappointed!

Gregory S.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms...they are all awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Motel

Property: Kona Kai Motel
Address: 1539 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4513
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Kai Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn borders the Sanibel river for our guests who love to fish or kayak. We are located directly on the bike path and are close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Kona Kai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Hotel Sanibel Island
Kona Kai Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing