We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully maintained. Clean facilities, showers, changing area,lots of parking , off the beaten track, shellers heaven”
Review of Bowman's Beach

Bowman's Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained. Clean facilities, showers, changing area,lots of parking , off the beaten track, shellers heaven”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

very clean well maintained beach, Lots of shells . Go at low tide for the best selection of shells, they come in extending in bands of over two feet. Saw lots of families preparing to cook on the beach. Loved It.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuneWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,237
    740
    275
    48
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shell hunting excursion”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was very easy to park and walk to the beach. It's not anyway as long a walk as the internet description. The beach water was a lot clearer than the Sundial, but still a little murky. There are supposed to be 400 different kinds of shells there, I was hard pressed to find a handful of different shells, plus... not really much there to pick up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Water is murky and dark brown!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

During first week of August we visited sanibel and captiva. Warning! Only the beaches in captiva have clear, sea glass green water. The rest of sanibel, including bowman's beach, have the murkiest, darkest brown water we have ever seen in Florida. Apparently the rainy summer has drenched up silt from the large river nearby, and spread all around the Gulf, near Sanibel. The water was so dark, it makes shelling impossible. One can't see the bottom, even with goggles or masks on. The beach itself was wide and the waves gentle, but the brown water put a damper on our vacation. Before we book another trip to Sanibel, we DEFINITELY call in advance about the water condition!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank santorini04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great shelling!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

On our walk in we were able to see mantees swimming close to the bridge. We found many nice shells here. The sunset was beautiful! I did have a piece of seaweed hit my leg that had jelly fish in it. Had a rash for a couple weeks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ynljrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautiful wide, white sand beach and great shelling (much better shelling in the winter months, however).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowman's Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bowman's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing