We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowman's Beach

Bowman's Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
NY
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We drove Sanibel & captive & picked this as the beach we wanted to go lounge & eat lunch on. It was a great pic. Right away we saw a boat going by with dolphins jumping behind it. That made our day. It's a beautiful white sandy beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scp427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    692
    248
    45
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great family beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were staying on Captiva but took a drive to visit Bowman beach one morning. Because it's a public beach, you pay for parking and it's more crowded by far than the beaches near the condos on Sanibel (we have stayed at Sanibel Cottages for years and the beach is far less crowded). It's kind of a longish walk from the car to the beach down a wooden pathway. On the up-side, they have drink machines and restrooms mid-way. If you plan to stay for several hours or do not have beach access where you're visiting, this is a good option.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BaconsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island with Great Beaches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Day trip to the island was wonderful. Will be back to stay for a week on the island or on Captiva Island. Clean beaches. Lots of fun to hunt for beautiful shells!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secluded Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Blind Pass Condos right at Bowman's beach. Very private, secluded, clean location. Shelling was outstanding...great get away from the crowds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Smike53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach on Sanibel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is a bit further of a drive than the lighthouse, but the shelling here is excellent, restrooms were clean. We have not been here for sunset, but since it is western most point on island it is probably very nice. We also like it because it is located in a secluded nature area with no visible housing/hotels around. Be careful going on the weekend in season, as the traffic on Sanibel is horrendous and it could take you hours to get on or off the island, also, all the beaches have paid parking, think it was about 2$ an hour or so, not to bad.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair_Critique67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowman's Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bowman's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing