We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything You Could Want!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Resort & Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Resort & Club
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Everything You Could Want!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in room 305 for a week and really enjoyed our time here. The resort is located at the East end of the island near the lighthouse. Our room had a view of the bay, and a short walk takes you to the gulf side. We had a great time shelling and enjoying the relaxed atmosphere of Sanibel.

We had rain while we were there, but it wasn't a complete washout, and we found plenty to keep us busy.

The condo was huge, and had three balconies. The master bedroom is spacious and very comfortable. The second bedroom has two twin beds which I suspect might be made of bricks. :( The den/third bedroom had a sofa bed which had a memory foam mattress which was very comfortable.

The kitchen had everything you needed. The office keeps a stock of items that you can request on a first come first serve basis. They even have crock pots down there.

The staff was very helpful and efficient. Having the bikes at the resort to use when you wanted was a great bonus as well. We put them to good use.

Great place - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmfug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkley, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in room 202 and were pleasantly surprised how large and clean it was. The kitchen was fully supplied with all amenities including wine glasses, and there were plenty of towels for bathing as well as the beach. We exchanged through Interval causing us to be cautious as, some of our exchanges places were very questionable in the past however we were so pleased with the Lighthouse Resort that we will definately stay here again. The walk through the sister resort across the street to get to the gulf is not unpleasant it takes all of a few minutes. One unpleasant issue was the discolored water which had nothing to do with the resort but the Florida government allowing the release of water from Lake Okeechobee into the gulf causing the discoloration. Going to Florida and not seeing the pretty blue green water is a huge disappointment. All in all this resort is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location, but would have preferred to be closer to Captiva, as the beaches we frequented were a 20 minute drive. We were there during storm season, and apparently the city opens the lake damn this time of year, so water was very murky. Millions of no see-ums and nothing seems to work!

Room Tip: Rooms are being slowly updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Wow. We were so impressed with our stay at Lighthouse Resort and Club that we are looking into permanently purchasing a week or two. We arrived over Memorial Day weekend, and stayed until June 1st. The location is perfect, the pool was a great size and excellent temperature, and you are right on the bay side of the beach. The gulf side is only about a five minute walk across the street, or an even shorter bike ride. They provide pretty much everything you could possibly need including propane grills and bikes that you can ride all over the island.
Our room was absolutely perfect, and HUGE! We were thrilled with three balconies that overlooked the pond and the alligators (don't worry, they'll stay away if you will!).
We cannot wait to go back and spend time here. It is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillifinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The comments are correct when they say the staff are very nice they are but the resort is very much in need of a major update. The pool is very small and there are no other amenities at the resort. I hate to say it but they did have roaches. We complained and insisted on immediate action, after 2 days they moved us to an ocean front room which did not have the roaches. Management needs to update this facility to be as nice as the property across the street, that is where we should have stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 374judym374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

unfortunately we got a timeshare trade to this resort june1-8th and experienced the first tropical storm of the season (2013). not counting weather (no one's fault there !) it was awful. the resort itself is very dated, the pool is quite small, one must walk across the street thru a really nice resort to use the beach. parking is tight and the entrance to the units is grim and dark. we were in a first floor unit so we did not have a patio and the noise from unit above us was awful....they must have dragged chairs repeatedly across the tiled floor repeatedly during the time were were in the unit.. we also had no view...we faced a tall hedge and were the unit closest to the pool ......that added to the noise level at all hours of the day and evening. the living room furniture was the oddest i have ever seen....the fabric was a cheap nylon blend and the sofa seat cushions were smaller that the sofa base so that the back cushions fell in behind. i had to put throw pillows behind the seat cushions to keep that from happening. the bed spreads were ugly....i took them off and hid them and the throw pillows associated in a closet so i wouldnt see them !! also cheap nylony stuff. i have never seen fabric like that used on interior furniture in all my 60+ years ! yuck

on the positive side: they have bikes for guests that are free, the staff is very friendly. we were told by staff prior to our arrival that internet was "sporadic" but we had no problem.

i would NEVER go there again. in fact we left early (weather and unit related). i was so happy we drove the 12 hrs and didnt fly. ...at least we could leave when we wanted. we only stayed 3 days out of 7 we had reserved.

you can do far better on the island, avoid this place !!!

Room Tip: if you have to stay do not take a frist floor unit !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pam5345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The place gest above because of of the above and free bike rentals. The island is really for retired people and families.Everything closes at 9. Quiet if you want that type setting.. Carpet in the condo older than GOD. Nice size rooms and plenty of balconies. Come prepared to fend for yourself. NO maid service! Nothing... But nice washer and dryer. Pool is ok and they have nice grills. .

Room Tip: Get room facing Bay. We got one facing lagoon, which is really a run off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colony Inn
Colony Inn
#11 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarpon Tale Inn
Tarpon Tale Inn
#5 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandalfoot Condominium
Sandalfoot Condominium
#3 of 42 in Sanibel Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Resort & Club

Property: Lighthouse Resort & Club
Address: 210 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7414
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Resort And Club
Lighthouse Resort & Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Lighthouse Resort Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing