We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC place to stay on Sanibel!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Resort & Club
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Wow. We were so impressed with our stay at Lighthouse Resort and Club that we are looking into permanently purchasing a week or two. We arrived over Memorial Day weekend, and stayed until June 1st. The location is perfect, the pool was a great size and excellent temperature, and you are right on the bay side of the beach. The gulf side is only about a five minute walk across the street, or an even shorter bike ride. They provide pretty much everything you could possibly need including propane grills and bikes that you can ride all over the island.
Our room was absolutely perfect, and HUGE! We were thrilled with three balconies that overlooked the pond and the alligators (don't worry, they'll stay away if you will!).
We cannot wait to go back and spend time here. It is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillifinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Lighthouse Resort & Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

The comments are correct when they say the staff are very nice they are but the resort is very much in need of a major update. The pool is very small and there are no other amenities at the resort. I hate to say it but they did have roaches. We complained and insisted on immediate action, after 2 days they moved us to an ocean front room which did not have the roaches. Management needs to update this facility to be as nice as the property across the street, that is where we should have stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 374judym374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

unfortunately we got a timeshare trade to this resort june1-8th and experienced the first tropical storm of the season (2013). not counting weather (no one's fault there !) it was awful. the resort itself is very dated, the pool is quite small, one must walk across the street thru a really nice resort to use the beach. parking is tight and the entrance to the units is grim and dark. we were in a first floor unit so we did not have a patio and the noise from unit above us was awful....they must have dragged chairs repeatedly across the tiled floor repeatedly during the time were were in the unit.. we also had no view...we faced a tall hedge and were the unit closest to the pool ......that added to the noise level at all hours of the day and evening. the living room furniture was the oddest i have ever seen....the fabric was a cheap nylon blend and the sofa seat cushions were smaller that the sofa base so that the back cushions fell in behind. i had to put throw pillows behind the seat cushions to keep that from happening. the bed spreads were ugly....i took them off and hid them and the throw pillows associated in a closet so i wouldnt see them !! also cheap nylony stuff. i have never seen fabric like that used on interior furniture in all my 60+ years ! yuck

on the positive side: they have bikes for guests that are free, the staff is very friendly. we were told by staff prior to our arrival that internet was "sporadic" but we had no problem.

i would NEVER go there again. in fact we left early (weather and unit related). i was so happy we drove the 12 hrs and didnt fly. ...at least we could leave when we wanted. we only stayed 3 days out of 7 we had reserved.

you can do far better on the island, avoid this place !!!

Room Tip: if you have to stay do not take a frist floor unit !!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam5345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The place gest above because of of the above and free bike rentals. The island is really for retired people and families.Everything closes at 9. Quiet if you want that type setting.. Carpet in the condo older than GOD. Nice size rooms and plenty of balconies. Come prepared to fend for yourself. NO maid service! Nothing... But nice washer and dryer. Pool is ok and they have nice grills. .

Room Tip: Get room facing Bay. We got one facing lagoon, which is really a run off.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocky423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am currently staying at The Lighthouse Club and Resort on beautiful Sanibel Island. I was lucky
to get this unit through my timeshare company and I grabbed the opportunity when it found it online. It has a wonderful location near the lighthouse at the tip of the island. It is well maintained
and the the 2 bedroom is huge. The kitchen is full and has everything you need if you are inclined.
I basically use the fridge and microwave. The balcony is huge with various portions off different rooms. From the master bedroom,there is a good view of the bay. The one downfall is the 2 twin-sized beds in the 2nd bedroom. Except for children, I do not think they are comfortable. Luckily, there is room for the 2 of us in the king-sized bed in the master bedroom. Being economically minded, I found it better to buy groceries and eat in Fort Myers. The ride over the Sanibel Causeway is beautiful but gets pricey to pay $6.00 each time entering the island. There is a great walk starting at the front of the resort on the bay side with views of Fort Myers and lots of large birds. I go around the tip of the island onto the gulf side with castaway views. Lots of people
walk there then I head back to the resort. It only takes about 30 min. I found the 7 Eleven is a dandy place to get my large flavored coffee in the am.

Room Tip: See if you can get a unit that backs onto the bay.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank gendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As a family of six (2 adults, 2 grandparents, 1 preschooler and 1 toddler), we spent one week in March at the Lighthouse Resort. Since this was my first time in Sanibel, I don't have anything to compare it to but we had a great experience at the Lighthouse and it perfectly suited our needs. It was obviously an older resort, but the unit was clean, spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The kitchen could use updating, but the bathrooms looked fairly new. The unit had a balcony off the living room (with lots of sun), a shaded screened balcony off the kitchen and another open balcony off the master bedroom. We had an amazing view of the lagoon and even the lighthouse which I'm told was not the case before Hurricane Charlie. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed, including sharp knives. We chose to pay a little more and shop at Jerry's. I highly recommend their Key Lime pie and the fish and shrimp was very fresh. We made good use of the laundry inside the unit. Bathroom towels and pool towels are provided, you just need to bring or buy some beach towels. The resort also provides folding chairs. The beach is an easy, short walk from the resort and we were also close to a walking trail to both the lighthouse and a small plaza where Pinocchio's, Geppetto's and the Lighthouse Cafe are located. When the ocean doesn't wash up a bunch of gunk, the beach has beautiful powdery soft, white sand. We didn't find "shelling" lived up to the hype, but I understand it's not the same as in previous years. There are a number of dolphins in the area who were not afraid of people and loved to play and do tricks for an audience. When we weren't at the beach, we enjoyed the pool or the shuffleboard. We did check out the bikes, but our young ones weren't into the idea of a bike ride. The resort staff were friendly and helpful. They hosted a meet and greet bagel breakfast one morning and printed our boarding passes before we checked out. I discovered at the end of our stay that the office has a library of books, DVDs and games that can be borrowed. Most the people staying at the resort are retirees, empty nesters and families. After such an enjoyable stay, we will definitely be back. A few notes about Sanibel: it was cool in the morning and evening, hot during the day, so heed the advice about layers in March. Also, traffic along Periwinkle Way was insane at all hours of the day and thankfully police officers could keep things moving along, but one lane of traffic in both directions cannot accommodate the popularity of this island. Luckily, my husband knew some detours we could take and we suggest you find your own alternative route to and from your hotel to avoid getting stuck in a jam. Or better yet, ride a bike to your destinattion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJZvan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Look forward to being there for 2 weeks every May. Family, friends, and a great staff to spend time with. No better place to spend your vacation! Great location at end of island where its quiet and you can walk the beach and view the lighthouse. Been going for 20 yrs and wouldn't miss it. Met so many friendly people over the years who have become best friends. Every January we all start our countdown to when we all will arrive and see each other.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kas13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandalfoot Condominium
Sandalfoot Condominium
#3 of 44 in Sanibel Island
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Inn
Colony Inn
#10 of 44 in Sanibel Island
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Spanish Cay
#44 of 44 in Sanibel Island
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarpon Tale Inn
Tarpon Tale Inn
#6 of 44 in Sanibel Island
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanibel Arms West Condominium
Sanibel Arms West Condominium
#4 of 44 in Sanibel Island
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Resort & Club

Address: 210 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7414
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Resort & Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Lighthouse Resort And Club
Lighthouse Resort Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing