We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sanibel Island Beach Resort(Sanibel Island)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$229
$209
Seaside Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$349
$229
Sanibel Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
$229
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$226
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/22
$269
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/21
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
64
12
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikeshilton grand vacations clubthe staff were extremely helpfultwo twin bedslight housea great vacationgreat resortlighthouse cafefull kitchenfew stepstimeshareshuffleboardunitsislandamenitiesgroundspaths
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 78 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My family vacationed here a few weeks ago and had a great time. Located at the eastern end of Sanibel Island near the lighthouse, the Shell Island Beach Club is a great choice if you're looking to enjoy quality time on a quiet beach with fantastic shelling, a relaxing time at the pool or hot tub or even a game of shuffleboard.

The units are spacious, the beds are comfy and the amenities are great (full kitchen, washer/dryer, screened in terrace, beach chairs). Having bikes available to hop on at any time was a major plus as we decided to not have a car. Whatever we needed was available to borrow (bike helmets, board games) for a nominal deposit (beach towels) or at a nominal cost (beach umbrellas for $5 a day/$25 for the week).

As an aside, this hotel is environmentally and socially conscientious as we were given instructions to close our blinds at night to not interrupt the sea turtle nesting as well as information on how to go about donating our unopened food for the local food pantry.

Of note, this is a timeshare community and not a hotel so certain things like room service or maid service do not exist. We didn't mind it at all and actually preferred the the DIY experience and the independence of not having to worry about being out of room at any given time as this was a vacation from being on someone else's schedule.

Last but not least, while other resorts may have comparable amenities, the customer service here was second to none and is a major reasons why my family will choose to come back to visit the Shell Island Beach Club on our next visit to Sanibel.

Room Tip: Upper unit have full ocean view versus partial, but otherwise there really aren't bad rooms here.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed there 2 weeks the last of may Had a great time . Hope to go back again next year.They furnish bikes Great service and clean. Great communciations with staff...The location is at the end of the island The lighthouse is close and you can see it from resort and it is on main the maun street of Sanibel that being Periwinkle

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have best view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lovetenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ended up trading our time share in Orlando for a week here on Sanibel Island. This is a great spot and well maintained resort and we would definitely come back here again.

First off, the units here are well appointed and maintained. We had a 2 bedroom unit where the Master had a king bed and the guess had two twins. We have a family of 5 so we had to adjust a bit but made it work. The kitchen is a good size and had everything we needed to cook and eat meals. The units could use some tupperware or other storage items for left overs and some plastic glasses (for use around the pools).

The grounds are really nice and well manicured. The pools (there are 2) are very nice and have plenty of seating around them for you to lounge and enjoy the Florida sun. There are gas grills near the pools which we used and they work well. There are also washing areas that you can use to wash your shells or other beach items.

The resort also has bicycles available for the guest to use. These are a great way to get around the island and see some of the areas you might miss. The resort is located on the East end of the island so it is an easy bike ride to the Lighthouse and pier.

Lastly, this resort is located on one of the nicest beaches on the island. We used it daily as well as visiting other beaches on Sanibel and Captiva. The beach that you can walk to from the resort is one of the whitest and best shelling beaches we visited. The water is warm, shallow and the there is plenty of space to spread out and without feeling crowded.

Overall, a great resort. One that I would visit again if we make it back down to Sanibel Island.

Room Tip: Buildings 14, 15, 16 are separated from the main complex. We stayed in 16c and loved it. The pool and views of the ocean are better in these buildings than from the main complex.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank colobrad1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in Sanibel several times at Casa Ybel but it was booked so we tried this resort. Love the quiet relaxing island feel of Sanibel. The rooms were spacious w/ nice views. The staff was courteous. Right on the ocean w/ great views of sunrises and sunsets. On lighthouse end of island & very peaceful. Walking distance to Pinocchios for great ice cream. Ocean is nice and calm for kids! Large pool, hot tub & sauna! Preferred Casa Ybel because it had a full service tiki bar! Otherwise this resort had plenty, shuffleboard, tennis & free bikes at each unit! Would def visit here again!

Stayed: August 2014
8  Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a time share for a week here and I loved it from the moment we walked in through the door. The beds were incredibly comfortable, best sleep I've had in a long time.The patio was enclosed so you didn't have to worry about the bugs at night.

Room Tip: The A & B Units are on the first floor. C & D Units are on the second floor and have the better views. Tennis courts across from Building 4. Beach chairs(in units) and bikes are available all over the resort. Ladies at the reception desk when we arrived were nice, friendly and helpful. Not much to do in the area that doesn't cost much.They have little stores for grocery up Periwinkle. Jerry's is their version of Publix on the island and is better priced. Try to bring what you need along with you. They have some "outlet" stores on Summerlin with OK prices.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickI65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews