We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shell Island Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

we traded our Hilton Grand Vacations Club week for this affiliated vacation spot. It was clean and nice and extremely convenient to the beach . We enjoyed the quiet beach everyday. The place provided 2 beach chairs and had towels for rent(free when returned clean/money refunded). They also rented an umbrella and 2 more chairs. The only thing we missed was the interaction with other guests. We did not spend any time at pool since it was small and where all the little kids were.The beach was very warm and shallow and filled with shells. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We played tennis for free 3 times and the free bikes were great fun. We brought our own helmets. Overall we liked the place. Internet was quiet slow. Would recommend if you like a quiet peaceful and secluded beach vacation. My 13 year old was a little bored.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

At the end of the island, near the lighthouse, this was hands-down the best location to stay in Sanibel! We had a beach front view. The pool was amazing with plenty of toys for the kids. Walking distance from the beach, the resort also had chairs and towels for free with a small deposit. Beach umbrellas were also available for $2 per day. With plenty of bikes available for guests, this resort is in a perfect location to bike around. The best part was the bikes were also free for use. Very kid friendly place to stay, my 10 year old and 18 month old had plenty to do! The resort staff were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this resort and we plan on returning again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is very quiet and safe. Rooms are very clean with all the equipments needed: kitchen, bathroom and exteriors all included. Not for handicapped persons because have no elevators. Pool is very clean and water do not hurt your eyes. Beach is good for shelling. Sanibel have plenty of restuarants very good ones and is excelent for fishing, not much to do there.
Service in front desk is 5 stars, excelent!!!

Room Tip: First floor, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hector D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Parents of my good friend own two time shares here and they invited us to stay in one last week. This was my first time visiting Sanibel Island as well. I absolutely fell in love with the island. Shell Island Beach Club was beautiful inside and out. Gorgeous grounds and pool, just steps from the ocean. The condo unit was spotless upon check in and beautifully furnished. The staff and residents were extremely polite and helpful. Considering purchasing a timeshare here when I retire. Absolute beauty!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank redheader50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

At the east end of Sanibel Island is a peaceful and relaxing resort. The new interior furnishings are great with soft greens and yellows. The pool often gets crowded early. Some people hog the chairs early. They also offer free bike rentals. Not the most comfortable ride but enough to get around and see some sights. Overall a great place for families.

Room Tip: 8A, oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rfh3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

After driving from the mainland over the causeway, turn left onto Periwinkle -- you've immediately left the main flow of traffic (which turns to the right). Near the end of Periwinkle, tucked away on the south beach, is Shell Island Beach Club. It's a fine place, if you enjoy quiet, and little or no traffic (great for walks and bike rides). Beautifully cared-for grounds, with specifically South Florida native plants. Two-bedroom condo units, each with screen porch looking out to the ocean, and SIBC's white-sand beach, and the famous Sanibel sea shells. Beautiful swimming pool, outdoor hot tub; indoor sauna; tennis courts; bicycles. One-car parking under each building. Wonderful master bedroom with private bath, with sliding glass door to the screen porch, and windows overlooking the water. Very friendly, helpful staff. An easy walk up Periwinkle to good food -- Pinocchio's Ice Cream's south branch (always crowded), and the tiny East End Deli (voted, again and again, best Sanibel sandwiches -- the shrimp salad is amazing, as are the beans and rice). Shell Island B.C. is a favorite place. A drawback -- no elevator, though the staff will take your luggage to your room, at your request.

Room Tip: All units are two-bedroom condos; no lock-outs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HarvardboyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to SIBC since the late 90's as a guest of my friend and his wife. We love it so much, we finally purchased our own unit for the week before my friend. Oh, and my friend bought a second week after his original week. So we have a potential of three weeks in a row in this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms are 2 bedroom, 2 bath with washer/dryer and full kitchen. You can do a quick wash and bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
715 reviews
5.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Beach Club

Address: 255 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7491
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 56

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing