We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found paradise at Seahorse Cottages”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seahorse Cottages
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We just got back from a wonderful week on Sanibel at Seahorse Cottages. Having found this group of cottages on the internet we were a bit uncertain as to what we would find, but we are so happy to say it was EXACTLY as wonderful as it looked on line. Seahorse Cottages is a small secluded group of cottages located on the East End of Sanibel. The cottages are all fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. They are furnished with wonderful oak antiques, such a wonderful touch. We found our one bedroom cottage to be very clean, and the grounds to be immaculate, groomed, and most importantly wonderfully quiet. The manager, was always there to help if we needed her, but never intrusive on our vacation. The location was perfect. . .. a short walk to two different beaches!! They provided everything we needed: chairs, umbrellas, coolers, bikes,....even little red wagons to pull our things to the beach. The beaches were as beautiful as ever....we have been to Sanibel numerous times. This time however, we enjoyed it thoroughly and came home totally relaxed.....thanks to Seahorse Cottages. This year we discovered two new restaurants Melissa's and Twilight Cafe. They were both wonderful and we can't wait to go back to both next year. We have already rebooked at Seahorse Cottages for next April.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ihearthorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2009

I finally got myself to take the time to write a review for the Seahorse Cottages and that in itself should tell you how much I enjoyed my stay. My fiance and I stayed in the studio cottage for 7 days and had an amazing vacation. The studio was very clean, had a well equipped kitchen with some utensils, dishes, and other kitchen necessities although we only needed the fridge for our water and beer. Sanibel has some amazing restaurants. The Lighthouse Cafe is just a short walk down the round has a very good breakfast.

We loved being so close to the beaches. It was also great that they provided a wagon, beach umbrella, beach chairs to bring to the beach. The wagon was big enough for the essentials and a cooler of beer. The location is nice and quiet and away from the touristy part of sanibel. This is a plus because going to the south side beach you practically have 200 yards of beach to yourself in either direction. If you stay at one of the bigger hotels you have to share your strecth of beach with all the other people staying at your place.

The other big plus was the free bikes. Come and goes as you please. I felt bad for all the other people on the island riding around bikes that they had to pay to rent while my fiance and I were cruising for free. There are a lot of bikes to choose from, some more comfy than others so take a test ride.

All in all a great place to stay. Will be staying there again everytime we go back to Sanibel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michigfab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Great location, but..I am a stickler for bright and cheery and our unit 1 was so dark inside you needed the lights on during the day and to step outside to see if the sun was out. Even the large covered porch was dark. Surrounded by high bushes and trees made it too dark. The restaurant behind the building although convenient, had 5 a.m. deliveries and left their noisy motors running for 20+ minutes.Couldn't wait to escape to a brighter on beach location Everything else was okay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roxylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, owner/innkeeper at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2009

This review surprised us, so we looked back on weather.com to check on the dates you were here. You happened to hit on a spell of unusually cold and cloudy weather with almost an inch of rain which made everything seem less bright than usual. Sorry you had such gloomy weather while you were here but we are pleased you found everything else OK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

The Seahorse Cottages provided a perfect stay while on the island. It was great to have a bicycle to get around the island. It was close to the beach and the grounds were very pretty and quiet. I would definitely go back.

2  Thank islandgirl026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My sister and I recently stayed at the Seahorse Cottages in Sanibel and had a great time. We had the 2 bedroom unit which was well worth the additional money. Both bedrooms had a queen size bed, the living room/dining area very spacious and a full size kitchen. We utilized both the covered and sun porches and the pool was a nice size. About a 2 minute walk to the gulf side. Cottage provided complimentary bikes, chairs and a wagon to cart all your stuff in. Very convenient. Staff very nice and helpful. I'm a travel agent so going and experiencing a hotel, inn or cottage is helpful to my business. Location is very quiet and peaceful. Most relaxing vacation I've had in a while. Would hightly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank judyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We recently stayed at seahorse cottages for one glorius week over the 4th of July. It was absolutely incredible! Very close to the beaches and shops. Very quiet and private which is exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in the effiency and it was very comfortable. Loved the pool, the grill was nice for some evening cookouts and having the wagons and the bikes there were a really nice touch. It is a beautiful place! I am having island withdrawls! We will definaltely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank indianasunshine261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Really enjoyed our recent stay at Seahorse Cottages. We rented the one bedroom unit, it was neat, private and had everything we needed (the beach umbrella and wagon were a nice touch). The location is great on the quiet east end of the island, really convenient to the beach, shops and causeway. The pool was nice to relax in as well, just the right combination of sunlight and shade. Had a wonderful time, will definitely stay with you folks again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nickmcnickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,883 reviews
4.8 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#7 of 20 in Sanibel Island
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $132 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing