We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First trip to Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seahorse Cottages
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First trip to Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just returned home from our first time in Florida, celebrating our 25th anniversary. We are so happy with our experience at Seahorse, we are already planning our trip next year with our family. We loved our visit and Peggy and Keith were the perfect hostesses. Our stay in 1A was extraordinary! It was the perfect size for the two of us. We rarely have good luck with hotel beds....the bed in 1A was as comfortable as our bed at home, even the pillows were great. The pool was the best for cooling off and we were within walking distance of two beautiful beaches and The Lighthouse. Their complimentary bicycles afforded us the ability to traverse the island quite easily, as we had no car. We were impressed with the hospitality of the islanders in regard to bicyclists, everyone is friendly and respectable.

When you choose to stay at Seahorse Cottages, you will not regret it!! It was hands down our best vacation ever.

Marty and Dolores Murphy

Room Tip: We believe that all the rooms are great rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Seahorse Cottages. We are very happy that you chose Sanibel and Seahorse Cottages for your first trip to Florida. We never tire of hearing that we succeeded in our goals to provide all our guests with a relaxing retreat on an island we consider paradise....and home! We look forward to calling you repeat guests as our repeat guests make up the heart of our business and we love welcoming people back again and again. Best wishes and thank you for spending your vacation with us. Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    30
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed the stay there. Never saw the folks that own the cottages but extremely well run would be an understatement. Immaculately clean it was a pleasure to use the kitchen and find any and all utensils that were needed. The grill worked like a charm. Pure pleasure to hang out in the pool and sip a few cocktails.

You may or may not meet the owners but it is obvious these folks are experienced at what they do all the while staying in the background. Sanibel may be a bit too quite for us but if we head back there we'll certainly be staying at the Cottages again!

Room Tip: “We stayed in room 2 and were perfectly content. A/C worked excellent which is rather important in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill-Maggie-33431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know you had a wonderful vacation at Seahorse Cottages. I appreciate the time you took away from your own life to help us be successful with our small business. We are so happy to know that you appreciate all our hard work and the hard work of the cleaners we have employed for many years. We have always been extremely happy with their work and they have become like family! We especially loved the appreciation you had for the effort we put out to stay in the background and let you enjoy your vacation. We really do work hard at that and we are so happy you noticed! While on the property we are always available to help, advise or just chat....but we are also aware that this is YOUR vacation and we want to stay as unobtrusive as possible so you can enjoy it. We hope to see you back at Seahorse another time. Thanks again! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I would diffinitly recommend the Seahorse Cottages. Perfect location, access to both sides of the island within a couple of minutes walk. Very comfortable. Even the bed to our surprise was very comfortable. Had a good nights sleep after wearing our selves out walking the beach.A little small but perfect for the time we spent in it. Loved that they Had a grill available right outside your door to use. Swimming pool if wanted, offered nets to use for shelling, bikes, wagon, really anything you would need. It was great. The only compliant I have is the shower is very, very small. Kind of hard to shower but other than that it was great. We really enjoyed the piece and quite. Really had a wonderful time. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: A little on the small size but very comfortable and in a good area were it is quite and excellent be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us and others know you enjoyed your stay at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel. We are so happy you took advantage of all the extras Seahorse Cottages offers like the grill and pool, and perhaps even the bikes. We are also extremely pleased that you noticed how comfortable the beds are. We replace our mattresses often, always with high end quality products and also work hard to make sure we provide high quality, high end, comfortable linens so you can sleep well after a day on the beach! Thanks for noticing and noting that! We hope to see you back at Seahorse Cottages soon. We are blessed with an extremely high return rate, and its then that "guests" turn into "family" at Seahorse Cottages! Best wishes, Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Mass
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 1A for three nights late May 2014. I was thrilled with the unit. My first impression was that the property and unit were very clean, comfortable and well thought-out. I was expecting an efficiency unit and discovered a delightful and sizable one-bedroom! It was a perfect place for me as I'm self sufficient and just want a quiet and calm place as a retreat. The information about the property and sign-in process were very clear. My expectations were certainly exceeded! I enjoyed the using a bike, having easy proximity to bay and gulf beaches, time in the hammock by the pool, and the many thoughtful touches inside and out.

As I was leaving, I had a chance to speak in Spanish with the housekeeper. She has been with Seahorse Cottages for years and is very happy to work there. She said, without any guile, that the owners "are very well organized and so good to work for", which is a terrific reference in my view. Her positive work experience is evidenced in the care shown and cleanliness of the property.

It's the attention to details and how we treat others in small daily ways that matter. This is a family business that I'm pleased to support and recommend fully.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Fue_la_china
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel. We never get tired of hearing that all our hard work is meaningful to others and provides them with the relaxing retreat in our tropical setting that we endeavor to provide. We are also glad that you got the chance to speak with our cleaner. She has been with us for many years and we are so happy to have her! Her company, like ours, is a family run business with her mother and sisters often helping out. We are confident in how good a job they do cleaning our units, and have come to treat it like their own! We are happy you enjoyed your stay on Sanibel, and were able to soak up our sun and warmth after the long winter up North. Thanks for recognizing what we do....we look forward to having you back again as our return guests, when you too become part of the Seahorse Family! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Ok.....the first time we stayed here for 9 days.....the second time 11 days..its hard to imagine doing almost nothing for that long of time but its easy when you stay at the perfect place..clean...quiet...great location...bikes...wagons...chairs...umbrellas...beach towels...quiet patio with cool pool..shops and food right
next door....next year...14 days.....thanks Peggy and Keith

Room Tip: took an adventureinparadise sunset cruise...trolley picked us up a block from the Seahorse...beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We always enjoy your visits, and we are so happy that this year you got to share part of your time with your extended family. That's what makes Sanibel, and Seahorse Cottages such a special place. It's a place to slow down, and unwind, and enjoy the company of loved ones...and yes do nothing. We think doing nothing is a lost art, and we are so glad that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility that we try to provide. We look forward to seeing you back next year. Call to reserve soon as we love having you here! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been remiss in my reviews. We stayed here last fall on a trip down to the Keys. I hadn't been on Sanibel in many years and didn't remember much about it, so we took a chance on the Seahorse. What a find ! Nice and quiet, clean and comfortable. Easy walk down to the beach or across to the Bay side. Peaceful neighborhood. We'll come back for an escape.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dennis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are so thankful that you took the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay at Seahorse Cottages. We are so happy that we met all your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back again for another vacation with us. We love having repeat guests come back to us....they become our family! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were so impressed by the coziness and turn key, every need met condition of the cottage that we knew immediately we would be staying here again. The location was also perfect for us as when taking a right turn we wound up on the gulf and a left took us to the bay. We just booked our next stay and are so looking forward to the peace, serenity, comfort and of course magnificent treasure hunt of shelling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We love hearing the word PERFECT! It means that all our hard work to provide you with a relaxing retreat on Sanibel has been successful. We especially love repeat guests...they become part of our family. We, like you, think the location is perfection, so close to the beach, yet tucked back in our own private oasis. We look forward to seeing you back next month! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
4.8 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Property: Seahorse Cottages
Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing