We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel! Unforgettable Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seahorse Cottages
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel! Unforgettable Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our honeymoon and it was a fantastic holiday from start to finish. The hotel was lovely- the pool was huge and we always managed to get sunbed- room was lovely, comfortable and clean with a nice view. The staff was very helpful and really did everything possible to help -from restaurant staff to front office staff... And also many thanks to animation staff. Entertainment laid on every night which was great. We enjoyed a lot especially in karaoke night. We cant wait to go again next summer

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aykaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so happy you had a great time on your honeymoon and enjoyed the hotel where you stayed. When we read this review, however, it doesn't sound like you stayed with us. You mention staff, entertainment, and even karaoke. We are a small family owned group of cottages on the beach and we don't have any of those things.....but once again we are glad you enjoyed your honeymoon! If your travel plans ever take you to Southwest Florida and Sanibel Island please look us up. I believe we could provide just as memorable a trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    30
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved our time at the seashell cottages. Very clean, nice facility with a lot of charm. Felt very welcome and right at home. The casual check in/out policy made everything a breeze. Very quiet, charming location. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PLCasey0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to tell others how much you enjoyed your stay at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel. We work very hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful, relaxing vacation with us, and we never get tired of hearing we have succeeded! We hope to welcome you back again soon Warm Regards, Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

we have spent many weeks over the years at seahorse cottages. they are clean, well equipped housekeeping cottages. the one bedrooms are a bit small, but there are so many outdoor places to sit, and beaches to walk, it never seems to be an issue. the pool is tiny but it is really just to cool off, or sit nearby and read, and enjoy some shade after the beach. there are bikes, and wagons, and beach chairs, everything you need to make beach going easy. we particularly enjoy that is private and quiet. kids are great, but sometimes it is nice to travel to a place where there aren't any. if you need kids there are always some at the beach you can build a castle with, and then go back to the quiet. we will return again.

Room Tip: there are only 4 cottages. each has a porch- the one bedrooms are small but adequate. there is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vtski48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanibelinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your vacation at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to having you back as our return guests! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

we also stayed in #1......lots of room....nice kitchen..comfortable living room...beautiful bedroom....made use of both porches..back porch in the morning for enjoying a home made breakfast with bloody marys.. listening to the many birds that call this area home..the front porch was for evening...having a glass of wine ..listening to some music and talking about what to do tomorrow..biked to the local eateries..grocery stores and shops....we were a short walk to the gulf side of Sanibel. and an even shorter walk to the bay side.....and about the small pool...yes its small ..but i didnt stay here to do laps...its a perfect size to relax...cool off...read the local paper...or meet new friends....no.. 9 days was not enough to explore all the things you can do on the island...looking forward to our next visit....thank you seahorse

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us and others know you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful vacation at the cottages as it is our "labor of love" and never get tired of hearing when we are successful! Seahorse Cottages enjoys an incredibly high return rate and we are so looking forward to having you back as our return guests....who we consider "family" Once again, our thanks and best wishes! Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Looking for a place to kick back, have the comfort of home and none of the work?? Seahorse Cottages is the place. Most places were charging for the use of bikes but not here, they were provided free of charge. What a perfect place to get together with 2 other women and renew a friendship that had been dormant for 52 years. Close enough to everything to be convenient but private enough to be thoroughly enjoyable. Comfortable beds, CLEAN rooms, equipped kitchen (not that we cooked) everything you could need including being close to both sides of the island. Front porch with comfortable chairs, back deck with chairs and a front yard with chairs also. Thank you to the Richardson's for making our stay an enjoyable, relaxing and fun get away.

Room Tip: Room #1 has two bedrooms and two porches and is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your vacation with us! We are so glad that you chose Seahorse Cottages to spend your vacation time. We loved having you ladies as our guests and found your story of renewed friendship so wonderful. We are pleased you found our location and facilities so enjoyable and look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Travelling alone it's sometimes hard to find the perfect spot, but Seahorse was the perfect fit for me. I spent a week at the property and felt completely safe and secure. The owners are great hosts and the use of bikes and other amenities was perfect for me. This part of the island is quiet and peaceful and the walk or bike to the bay and the gulf was no problem. Would recommend this place to couples or singles who just want to unwind, have no fuss and enjoy the simpler side of Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Keith and I are so glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable time at Seahorse Cottages and thank you for taking the time to let us and others know. We try very hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable, relaxing and peaceful time at our cottages. We felt, like you, that we had found paradise tucked away when we came upon Seahorse Cottages and have done all we can to keep it the relaxing place it was and still is. Thanks again for staying with us and for your great review. We hope to see you back again at Seahorse Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

we stayed in #1 the only two bedroom cottage and it was very nice. We used the bikes, shelling tools and the walk to the beach was nothing! I have no idea how people can say it was a hike, it was down the street. Come on people get off your lazy butts your on vacation. Everything we needed was available. The owner gave us help on afternoon on what do do and was very nice. It was a very quiet place to stay with amenities close. The POOL-what pool that was a large bathtub. My husband could reach both sides of the pool with his arms!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks so much for spending your vacation on Sanibel with us and for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you were able to get together with friends and enjoy our cottages. We, too, love the location tucked away on the quiet side of the island. We are also happy to hear you agree with us, that its location close to two different beaches is ideal. And yes.....our pool is a small dip pool only but we are glad you took advantage of it to cool off in after a day on the beach. We hope to see you back again soon. We pride ourselves on our return rate and welcome the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
4.8 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Property: Seahorse Cottages
Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing