We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here with no problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2010

On a scale of 1-5 it is hard not to give this resort a 6! If I had been allowed to bring my puppy with me they would have had a hard time getting me to leave. The Tortuga Beach Club has everything that you need for a perfect vacation, but to be more accurate, it has everything that you would need for a couple to live full time.

The Unit is very well kept with the tropical theme that you would expect. The living room and dining room are one large area with the small walk-in kitchen connected to make the best use of space. The cookware is very nice compared to most other units we have stay at in the past. There is a sofa that can seat 6 people comfortably, and a very nice chair with an ottoman. The lower floor is completed with a huge screened in porch with a very nice table with 4 chairs and a lounge chair. Also on the porch is a small sink complete with an electrical connection for a blender, and 3 beach chairs.

Upstairs is a huge master bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed. The bath/dressing area is nice sized and the closet opens from both the bedroom side and the dressing area side. The second bedroom has two twin sized beds that we pushed together for the couple that came with us to make it like a king bed. There is a second bath that is a typical bath, and also a closet with a stackable washer and dryer.

The pool area is very nice. It is open 24/7 with the agreement that you check in after 7:00 PM to keep people from making too much noise. The beach is about 100 yards out the back of the property with multiple boardwalks to get you to and from the beach. There are several BBQ pits throughout the property, but the nicest one is by the pool. This is a hug super pit that is as nice as my Weber Summit at my house. I love a nice pit and this one is excellent!

Parking is available under your unit so even if it were to rain you can get to and from your car without getting wet.

What are the negatives here? 28 steps to reach an upstairs unit, and if you got super picky you could say the carpets could be changed and the units updated a little. You better be ready for the "sticker shock" when you go to the restaurants and stores on Sanibel and Captive, and the food we have experienced is very average.

The island as a whole is the closest we have ever seen to Maui. The area where we stayed reminded us a lot of the area between Kaanapali and Kapalua but less built up and less commercial. I don't know if there are laws and restrictions but there are no fast food restaurants on the island, and there are no high rise hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 446 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

this is our 2nd trip to Sanibel and first to Tortuga.Our room is 110 with 2 bdrms/2ba. We flew in from Maryland to Ft Myers, pick-up our car and go straight to Wall Mart Superstore and Costco to get our supplies as both stores are on the way to the Causeway leading to Sanibel Island. Tortuga Beach is a timshare with 50 units/2Bdrms situated right after the entrance to the island so access is very convenient. Its staff is wonderful. You can rent umbrella/chairs for 1 dollar/piece/day. The pool is 24/7 and there are many grills fro outside cooking. The ground is well groomed with 4 tennis courts, volley ball area, fishing cleaning area, hammocks, hot tub with straight access to the beach. Our family loves to place and the room has non obstructed view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thatzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

***********Corrected review I fumbled fingered the first rating.
Friendly staff, good location, beach is great, saw a lot of wildlife(dolphins, pelicans, etc from the beach) Upper units have great views but you must climb stairs to the unit and stairs to second floor (all baths are up) if stairs are an issue ask for a unit with elevator . Restaurants are close and staff makes great suggestions. All the guests were like family after a couple of days. Grills are provided. We had a great week..

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank panzer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We were lucky enough to trade into this facility (managed by Hilton Grand Vacations) and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were on the second floor and had a good view of the gulf from our living room, master bedroom, and lanai. (There was a little deck off the master bedroom that allowed me to get some photographs as a storm rolled in.) We didn't use the pool at all but went swimming on the beach each day. The pelicans, gulls, terns, osprey and frigate birds entertained us as we relaxed in the gentle waves and we saw dolphins frequently.

We have been to Sanibel many times before and found this a great location for getting to Ding Darling, Blind Pass, restaurants, etc. There are a lot of stairs to climb if you are staying on the second floor but the exercise helped us work off the wonderful meals we had at local restaurants and we had a great view!

Note: We stayed at a Hilton property on Marco Island last year, and I appreciate that both places are run professionally but with a relaxed approach that puts guests at ease. I also appreciated the excellent wireless connection here at Tortuga.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We traveled to Sanibel at the last minute with our three year old son, and chose Tortuga based off of Tripadvisor reviews. Tortuga was better than I even expected. We arrived early and the staff graciously let us get in our room early. The friendly staff suggested great places to eat and things to do with our son. All advice was spot on. The condo was extremely clean and spacious. My one complaint was the bathrooms are very outdated, but functional. The beach is so close and the pool was perfect for our son. I love that we had gorgeous views from the living room and master suite. I recommend the 2nd floor rooms despite all of the stairs. Views are better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We were ther in late september-1st of october. Pool and spa were great .2ND floor steps were tough on entering your condo.But has a great view. A little more attention to clean up on inside of condo.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My wife and I went on a late summer vaction to Tortuga Beach Club. Our stay was fantastic. Close to the beach,clean modern resort. The staff was friendly,helpful. I can't say enought about Sanibel but Tortuga Beach resort fantastic by itself. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daddyb60056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,502 reviews
10.5 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#4 of 20 in Sanibel Island
389 reviews
4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 20 in Sanibel Island
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $275 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tortuga Beach Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing