We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay and Relax!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been coming to Tortuga since the late '80's. We always look forward to our January visits because we know what to expect. Betsy and Cindy have always been wonderful and very attentive to our needs. The grounds are maintained and always immaculate condition. The units are constantly up-dated with new colors and new looks. We will continue to travel to Florida every January and stay at Tortuga as it is one of the best kept secrets on Sanibel Island.

Room Tip: All units have a view of the Gulf but the top units give a better view of the water and the surround...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Tortuga Beach Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 421 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our stay at TBC in November 2013 was our 25th since our first visit in 1987. Of all the places we visit and vacation at in this country and abroad this is the most pleasurable and relaxing by far. This is due in large part to the remarkable ability of the staff at the resort to maintain, update and add to the pleasures and amenities which they provide. Enormous credit to the team so ably and professionally led by Betsy Cain. It is not only a case of what they do for their guests (almost family in many respects!) but the friendly and outreaching way they look after us. We look forward eagerly to our next visit.

Room Tip: Lowe level units have easier access; upper units have more privacy and often better views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have been coming here for years and have never been disappointed. The grounds are well maintained plenty of palm trees and flowers. The view of the gulf is spectacular. We enjoy playing golf at the Dunes which is included for six players.The staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a wonderful place to visit for families of all ages, newlyweds and couples wanting a quiet, beautiful, restful stay for a few days, a week or a month! The staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous. Accommodations are top-notch, comfortable and every unit has a gorgeous view of the gulf. The beach is loaded with beautiful shells and perfect for walks any time of the day. We have been visiting this resort for more than 25 years and will keep coming back. Pickleball court and tennis court and volleyball area. Great pool and hot-tub. Easy access to downtown and to the causeway. Super place for biking. Try it...you'll love it!

Room Tip: Upper units master bedrooms are on the gulf side. Lower units have access to the beach off the porc...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Have been going for years and the place looks great. New living room furniture. Fantastic views of pool and gulf. GREAT staff - many have been there for decades!! Lots of very friendly guests. Great lunches around the pool.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have great views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Spent several days visiting a family member who owns a couple of weeks as a Time Share. At first, this is an impressive property. Immaculate grounds, excellent pool, steps away from a clean beach. The bedrooms are very spacious, the living room is okay, the balconies are a delight. Comments regarding the small kitchen are correct but we only ate breakfast and lunch in the unit so this wasn't a problem. Furniture looked relatively new and was functional and sturdy. Complimentary Greens Fees at the Dunes Golf & Tennis Club (separate review) which is a ten minute drive away are a nice touch.

It's the lack of details that keep me from making this a five star review rather than the four I give it. No towels available at the pool/hot tub, you need to bring your own. Seems like an odd thing to leave out given the advertised weekly rate. The hall bathroom in our unit was cheap and old as evidenced by the loss of silvering along the entire bottom edge. Made the bathroom look like something in a cheap motel not a first class resort.

Overall, we had a great time but the missing details dampened an otherwise enjoyable experience.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Don't get me wrong, the Tortuga Beach Club is lovely. The resort is steps from the beach, and sturdy beach chairs for 2 are provided. The view from unit 122 is obscured by palms from the screened in porch (which was terrific). The living room appears recently upgraded. The dining room is very cramped and the kitchen is small. Although it has most things you'll need, there is nothing "extra". The master bath has one sink although 2 could have been provided. The mirror was aging and the paint job not top notch. The towels were not resort quality. There is no bathroom on the first floor. This unit would have been cramped for two couples.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank SVFirstEdition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 20 in Sanibel Island
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $275 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tortuga Beach Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing