We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to go home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Delmar, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't want to go home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found Tortuga Beach Club while looking through my Interval Resort directory. Tortuga was listed as an Interval Premier resort. Called on short notice (2 months before desired travel date) and was lucky to stumble upon a cancellation for the February week we were looking for. After discussing the facility and and my preferences regarding amenities with Cindi, rented that week on the spot. Cindi was very helpful in keeping me informed regarding the pool maintenance project and offered 3 other pools that we could utilize if Tortuga's pool was not ready when we arrived. That worked out well as 2 of those pool options were on either side of the Tortuga Resort. While there for a great week, Cindi, Janeen, JoAnn (activities director) and Joanne in sales were all very helpful and enjoyable to interact with. We had one very minor maintenace issue which Mike immediately corrected, even though I had indicated "no rush to fix." Everyone working at this fine resort acted as though they really enjoyed their job. My wife and I shared a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo with her sister and husband. Condo was very clean and well appointed. The grounds were very nice and well kept. This is a smaller resort which makes it even nicer. It was very quiet and had nice views of the beach from the upper units. Even though we will be vacationing in another part of Florida next year, we do plan to return to Tortuga Beach Club within a couple of years. Thank you all for making our stay a special one.

Room Tip: Upper level units have a better view of beach, but if stairs are an issue chose (if you can) a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave28854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
207
88
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visit Tortuga Beach Club every year in February and we look forward to the trip all year long. Sanibel Island is the perfect family destination with many eco-educational, recreational and just plain fun things to do. Over the years some of our favorite things to do have included the Farmer's Market, Dolphin watching boat rides, sunset cruises, sunset at Mucky Duck in Captiva but most of all....hanging out at the Tortuga Beach Club pool! The staff at TBC cannot get any better - they take care of you like you're family. Our unit just gets better each year with upgrades like new kitchens, more comfortable beds, etc. If there is anything you need the office takes care of it, whether you need a tennis ball or a pan to bake brownies - they've got it. We plan on spending many more vacations at TBC - our vacation home!!!!

Room Tip: The upper units may have a better view of the water, but the lower units have the ease of one flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlow222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi K, Front Office Manager at Tortuga Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

Sanibel has many cool things to offer families, and especially children, that focus on nature. Everyone seems to find their favorite things to do here and places to go. Sometimes, just being in a chair on the beach, listening to the waves and the seagulls as you read a book, is the ultimate vacation experience. There are varying ideas of the perfect Sanibel vacation! One thing we don't have is an amusement park or a water park! Sanibel is a unique, beautiful, natural island. A rare find these days!

The staff at Tortuga Beach Club try to treat our owners and guests the way we would like to be treated. We look forward to seeing our old "friends and family" each year.

We look forward to seeing you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We go every year in October and it just gets better and better. We just recently went to Disney World with our 6 children and even tho we had a blast they would pick Sanibel over Disney. It's a place were you can really connect as a family, you can just hang out at the pool or walk right to the beach. The island does have a lot of fun things to do if your looking for more than just relaxing. We love to vacation and do so as much as possible and without a doubt Tortuga is our favorite. In response to the last 2 reviews it really upsets me that anyone can be upset over something that will only better our visits in the future. A few years ago some maintenance had to be done to the pool for a few days during our trip and the staff made sure to tells us about it and provide alternative pools to use. We will be back again this October for an adults only trip and can't wait!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kpressley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi K, Front Office Manager at Tortuga Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! One of the wonderful things about Tortuga is that our guests tend to "bond" and find life-long friends while they vacation here. The children find new friends and look forward to seeing each other year after year. Sanibel is a fabulous, relaxing place to be. It will become whatever you want it to be. We feel that Tortuga Beach Club is a great place to begin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Surprise maintenance around the pool was a total bummer! We planned to spend our time there sunning and swimming in the pool but were unable to do so because of unannounced landscape and pruning work around the pool during the entire time we stayed there. We were passed back and forth between Hilton and hotel management, and were not given any real discount due to the fact that a key component of the "resort" was missing. Also, I slept poorly on the uncomfortable beds. This was not the vacation I had been looking for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank absolutgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi K, Front Office Manager at Tortuga Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear absolutgcs and katiecam,

I am addressing both of your posts as they basically have the same comments.
You and your wife booked your reservation online on short notice, which gave us no human contact with you so that we could let you know of the pool closing before you booked. We are so sorry for that. We sent out letters to all of our guests, months before the scheduled work so there would be no surprises. This was an occasion where the work had to be completed during the dry season and very soon.

Hilton Grand Vacations is the management company for our timeshare owners. We want only happy guests! Your reservation was for 3 nights and you checked out when the pool was roped off on day three. We discounted your two nights 15%, even though the pool work had not been started. We do not have the ability to give you any more of a discount as we are not a hotel – we are booking units for our owners.

During the pool closure, we had secured 3 different pools for our guests to use. The resort pools on both sides of our resort let our guests use their facilities, and our guests have privileges to use the Dunes Country Club pool, which is a short drive. Our other guests have been satisfied with the arrangement although it always is best to have your own pool open! We understand!!

Regarding landscaping and pruning work around the pool…We apologize for that. The vegetation grows so quickly in Southwest Florida you must continually stay on top of it. Sometimes they do use trimmers that are noisy .The days that you were here, the neighboring resort was having trimming done. The same trimmer came over to our resort for a very quick trimming one day. We think that must be what you heard.

Both you and your wife mention the uncomfortable bed(s). In our experience, we know that we will never please every person with a bed that they are accustomed to. We purchased the best possible Hilton brand beds that are available and still, there will be some people who just feel uncomfortable. There are so many different types of beds that switching to one that is different can feel terrible to you.


I am sorry we could not do more to make you happy. We do appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were optimistic about our stay, but unfortunately were disappointed. The premises are in average condition - definitely dated and worn furnishings, but on par with other condo timeshares i've rented in the area. However, the problem with our stay began on the second day, when we awoke to constant sawing and mulching sounds and saw the pool had been roped off. The pool closure and noise continued the entire day, and when we talked to the management about this unannounced closure, they were not helpful at all. Basically told us "sorry, we'll give you a 15% discount", which was not effective since we would not have booked that condo had we known that we would not have been able to use the pool. None of the confirmation documents nor the facility website mentioned this scheduled maintenance. We also called Hilton Grand Vacations, and they just pointed us back to the hotel management, since the specific unit we rented wasn't owned by Hilton, yet another fact that we were not aware of. Would not book here again. Beds were also uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank katiecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Large, beautiful pool overlooking beach. Grounds and housing units (all 2 BR,2BA) are spacious and meticulously maintained. Staff very helpful. Other guests are predominantly timeshare owners, who appear to interact as old friends at a re-union, but quickly welcome newbies. Many multi-generational families with young children, who contribute to the happy mood. Overall atmosphere of friendly people enjoying themselves, while continuously being amazed by the beauty of the setting. Easy access to the other features of Sanibel Island, including large wildlife refuge (Ding Darling), and of Ft. Myers. Tennis courts excellent. Wi-fi works well.

Room Tip: Not a "fitness center" per se but excellent on-site pool, tennis,volleyball. Beautiful gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneKuchner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simsbury ct
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Enjoyed this property very much. It's a smallish timeshare property with 54 units. 2 BD, 2BA. The pool and hot tub area are very nice...the lounge chairs are being refurbished as well as the condos themselves. The property is well maintained with a very homey atmosphere. Great for familiies. Only drawback is just one elevator in one building, difficult hauling bags, groceries up to the second floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing