We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Going here for 26+ years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going here for 26+ years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My Parents got a condo time share here back in 1986 and have been going every summer since. I was born in 1988 so I grew up going to Tortuga Beach Club every summer for vacation. My family and I absolutely love it! We look forward to our summer family vacation every year. Its so much apart of me now that I can not wait to bring my family here when I have children. The condos have improved and have been updated through the years and so has the resort. The staff is like family as we see the same people every year. The beach is a stone throw away and they provide everything we could need. I cant wait till we can get down there this summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
187
83
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great place for familys or just walking the beach and laying about the pool and hot tub. Rent a bike, the island has bike lanes every where along with great eateries, pubs, and shopping. Rental includes reduced golf fees at one of the two courses on the island. Light lunches are offered for less than $10, ice cream, and adult frozen drinks at the pool for $3-4, afternoons. A small fee is charged for kids activities each morning and are supervised.

Room Tip: All units face southwest toward the Gulf of Mexico. The lower units have easy access to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
230 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wow! Consistent and wonderful. Tortuga Beach Club is the best place to stay on Sanibel Island. There are 7 buildings with 8 units in each building. Units in Building F have access to an elevator. I prefer the end units with a rear stairway to the pool and gas grills. As the environmentally sensitive area has grown up over the years one can no longer see the water from the lower units but they are much better if you have small children. From the upper units you get a great view of the water but you must exit from the rear and head to the pool though the parking area or around the unit. Not a big deal but perhaps important if you have small children.
The units are continually refreshed and updated. If you have an interior lower unit the MBR has a window/ slider that is exposed to the back walkway though there is almost no foot traffic there. The upper units have tiny porches with water views that are very lovely.
The pool and hot tub remain in great repair. There are many chairs and chaises. On one end there is an area you can sit under for shade. There is a shuffleboard area, hammocks, and volleyball.The small clubhouse has a pingpong table, tables and chairs, an ice machine and soda machine. There are noodles and a small number of plastic toys that children may borrow. There are multiple tennis courts and you can borrow equipment from the office.
Joan runs daily activities Saturday through Thursday. Examples are 9 AM coffee/ cappuccino, 10 AM arts and crafts ($3-10), noon meals (cheeseburgers, hot OVS/brats, pulled park, grouper sandwiches, etc for $4-10 dollars). Very casual and convenient. At 2 PM frozen drinks begin ($4). There is an afternoon snack (usually ice cream :) ).
The beach is bout a 120 yard walk. Each unit has two beach chairs. The shelling is spectacular. One can also walk bout 100 yards towards the next business ( Sea Star) and sit at their small bar and order drinks.
Management is friendly, cordial, and always helpful. Betsy has been there 25 years and Cindi nearly as long. Janeen fixes all your little problems and is very helpful.
The units easily sleep 4 adults, you can have 6 but two will be on a pull- out couch in the living room.
The kitchen is fully equipped if you want cook all week and the office has extra items if needed. The office also has books, toys, DVDs, magazines, etc. that you may borrow.

AND!!!!!! You have FREE green fees ( for 4 all week) at The Dunes, pay for your cart and go! An amazing perk!

Room Tip: Upper units for a water view. Lower units if you have children. Building F if you need an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BillP1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The property is nice, though further towards the end of Sanibel Island. All of Sanibel is lovely!
The staff was very responsive - a leaky kitchen faucet (twice), instructions to access the wifi, checking cables for TV when we couldn't change channels, bringing egg crate foam to improve a poor sleeper sofa matress. And, we liked being able to borrow additional kitchen things (pizza pans, cake pan) from the front office and pool/beach toys for the kids. But overall, the impression was average. We were in a unit which had not yet been updated (Nov 2012) and we could tell - old mattresses, dated appointments, cosmetic damage (marks on floors, walls, appliances), and the leaky faucet. The message in the unit about treating everything nicely/preserving what existed in the units did not diminish the ho-hum feeling and certainly didn't make us feel that we had entered a "resort." None-the-less, the vacation was really about family and fun. Tortuga Beach Club served as a nice home base for biking (bikes rented outside, not a resort ammenity) to the sights, restaurants, wonderful library, and excellent playgrounds as well as the needed grocery shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

HAd a GrEAt TIME WE WERE THERE WEEKS 37---38---39. CANT WAIT TILL NEXT YEAR..GREAT STAFF WORKS WITH YOU AND HELPS YOU IN ANY WAY Thanks BETSY,,, CINDY AND ALL THE STAFF. Tortuga has a great pool, tennis, court, golf, shuffleboard ,and also has a food bar at the pool . also has great view of the ocean...Lot and Lots of seashells.

Room Tip: Higher floors have greater view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This facility is expertly maintained (grounds & condos). The condos are spacious and well equipped. The staff is top notch, being very friendly and accommodating. We met many wonderful people and made new friendships. When it was time to leave we wished we had booked another week. We will look forward to returning to Tortuga beach Club.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just got back from another fantastic week at Tortuga Beach Club. This place hits it out of the park on multiple levels. The units are large, well-kept. The grounds are immaculate. The staff is unparalleled. There is nothing too large or too small they won't tackle and make right. They are all friendly.

Things you must do while there:
1. Say hello to the staff.
2. Take a dip in the crystal clear pool.
3. Relax in the hot tub.
4. Walk along the beach looking for shells "Do the Sanibel Shuffle".
5. Leave your cares and woes behind you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing