We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quiet and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Cottages Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sanibel Cottages Resort to your Saves list
Sanibel Cottages Resort
2341 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Gorgeous property and very clean. Just a few drawbacks for my husband and I. Management has limited hours. We are timeshare owners and traded in. We usually stay at more resort like places and this was definately not resort like at all. No bar or restaurant on property or nearby. If you like quiet and relaxation, this is absolutely the place for you. Pool is small so during season, you may find it crowded. Also, there are no lounges or umbrellas to sit under on the beach. You must rent them from the office. Also, no amenities provided for the condo. Make sure you are aware for this fact. You must buy everything you need, down to salt and pepper if you are going to cook. Again, most of the places we have stayed have been high end condo resorts so it is unfair to compare a small condo property to any of the larger places we have stayed. This is really a beautiful place as long as you love seclusion and want only a nice pool and beach and plan on driving somewhen for drinks and dinner.

Room Tip: The Sunset Building has great views of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Carole517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This resort is "outstanding" a cut above the rest.

Beautiful vacation spot - Look forward to coming every year....cleanliness is outstanding feature....the management and staff keep this place in excellent condition.

Resort is easy to find, and yet it is hidden from view from the road.....

I just love the Cottages - can't say enough about it.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant on site, but the market and eating places are very close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The location of this property is great - steps to the beach. It has great access to the many bike trails on the island. Local bike rental businesses will deliver and pick up bikes directly to the property including bike helmets and locks. The 2 story buildings (no elevator) are set up in a "horseshoe" fashion with a large pond and gazebo in the center. The pool/hot tub are located on a lawn just in front of the beach...The units, 2BR/2BA are very nicely laid out. Our unit was on the 2nd floor which afforded a great view of the gulf with a very large outdoor balcony which also had a large screened porch with table/chairs for outdoor dining. Master bedroom quite large with plenty of storage space - large bathroom had large soaking tub and separate show - 2nd BR had 2 twin beds and bathroom had combo shower/tub. Washer/dryer in the unit which is always appreciated as it allows you to pack a lot less and avoid the hassle of having to check bags at the airport. Would love to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MarinaUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Right by the beach but so green and beautiful around the pool and condo. First class facilities and very well maintained by very helpful staff. Reluctant to publish this in case the spell is broken, but maybe mr Frommer has done that by making Sanibel his personal no1

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank costadelsolent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

On March 31, 2012 we drove from Key West, Florida to the Sanibel Cottages in Sanibel Island, Florida, to find this resort to be wonderful! When we checked into our room, it was clean, smelled great, and was more than we expected. Our unit was #110 which had a direct view of the Gulf of Mexico which was stunning, and the 2 bedroom 2 bath unit was spacious and very up to date as far as the fixtures and furniture. Overall this resort made us feel welcome and 'at home. The atmosphere of the resort was very inviting, warm feeling, and comfortable. What was really amazing was that we went during Spring break time and yet the resort was not crowded with too many people. There were kids of all ages enjoying the various amenities of the resort which only added to the charm. It is definitely a place we will come back to, and will recommend it to everyone we know. Thanks Sanibel Cottages for providing us such a great place to stay for our 2nd week of vacation in Florida!

Room Tip: I believe every room will have a great view of the ocean. But #110 had a direct view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ExplorerScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at the cottages during spring break. It was very quiet and peaceful. The beach and pool were both very nice and clean. We stayed on the top floor so it was a haul to carry our luggage and groceries up the stairs. Consider this if you have elderly or handicap persons in your party. Also the floors are not soundproof so I am sure the people under us could hear us. I would not want to be on the bottom floor. The cottage was spacious and beautiful and the screened in porch was a delight. Enjoyed morning coffee and evening cocktails everyday bug free with a wonderful gulf view.

Room Tip: No elevators. Lots of stairs to the top unit and the floors are not soundproof, so the bottom units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank nursedocstl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Recently, I contacted Martha at Sanibel Cottages to inquire about any vacancies for the last week of March. I received a return call the following Monday and was advised there were no vacancies and a waiting list was being compiled. As I was talking and telling Martha of my interest, she rudely hung up. I was speechless, I mean, I understand you're full, however, a little politeness would go a long way. I immediately called back and was put on hold, apparently, another person called during my conversation, perhaps more important. When Martha came back to the phone, there were no apologies, nothing, just a reply that it's basically hopeless so no need to bother with the wait list. If this is an indication of the 'service' level before your trip, buyer beware as I would never consider booking one of the owner condo timeshares. Perhaps some of the condo owners take notice as she is representing you and trust me, there are many beautiful places to stay on Sanibel (Casa Ybel, Jensen's, etc). And, they really need to update their website, what a disaster, the forum is of no use whatsoever and provides no value to visitors. So . . . no, I definitely would not recommend Sanibel Cottages, it's a nice place but with this level of service and uncaring attitude, why bother when there are no many other wonderful venues!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
43 Thank Randall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#3 of 5 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Cottages Resort

Property: Sanibel Cottages Resort
Address: 2341 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sanibel Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Cottages Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing