We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hide Away Location”
Review of Tarpon Tale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarpon Tale Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2009

A wonderfully relaxed and peaceful place to stay for a few days

Convenient for the beach (make sure you have insect repellent) but very little in terms of restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RatnWres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 269 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the Seashell room, which had a full kitchen. Reservations were made online. The room was clean and spacious with a king size bed, a dining room table, and a sofa. Tarpon Tale only has 8 rooms. Amenities include a hot tub, bicycles, and wireless internet in the office and in rooms close to the office (like ours). Across the street are a cafe, a deli, an ice cream shop, and a shell store. Next door is another cafe. It took about 5 minutes to walk to the beach or you can bike there in half the time. On the southern end of Sanibel, so we had to drive to the restaurants, but the island is only about 10 miles long so it was no big deal. No maid service, but fresh towels and sheets are readily available. Each room has a private patio. The shower needed to be recaulked and the air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool. However, the quiet, garden setting was just what we needed. If you're looking for nightlife, don't stay here. If you're looking for a nice, clean, place to relax at a great price, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cztz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This was our first trip to Sanibel and we couldn't have asked for anything better!! I read all the reviews before booking a room at the Tarpon Tale Inn and I was not disappointed at all. We stayed in the "Birdhouse", which is small, but not too small for a husband and wife to enjoy it. We loved absolutely everything about the Tarpon Tale from our room, the setting, the quietness, the lack of hassle, the hot tub (which we did use), the seating area outside of our room..basically just EVERYTHING!! The owners are quite perfect! It is definitely a laid back atmosphere. Everything that you could possibly need is there for you at the Inn from beach towels, bikes, shelling equipment, washer/dryer use, hammocks, utensils, dishware, soap, hair dryer, microwave, mini-fridge and well the bed in the "Birdhouse" is the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept on. I actually had to jump up to get into the bed..Just Amazing! I cannot say enough of great things about the Tarpon Tale! We didn't find one down side to the whole place. It's an open door policy and there is no daily housekeeping, which was perfect for us because we don't like to be bothered while on vacation. You just replace your towels and wash rags yourself. So if you feel you need to be pampered while staying somewhere this is not the place for you!! It's about a 5 min. walk to beach, but no major roads to cross, or a 2 min. bike ride to the beach, which we enjoyed doing. Shelling is amazing! My husband even did some fishing on the beach right at the Tarpon Tale. It was just everything we could've asked for and more! Thanks so much Joe and Dawn for a wonderful stay and we will without a doubt come back again!!! P.S: I love Edgar. He was always a delight while sitting out in the evening hours for company, really made me feel at home!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn R, Owner at Tarpon Tale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you!!!
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We come here without reservation and walked in the office. No one there but there was a phone with the number from the owner. Called them, inspected the room and took it! That was new for us, very very uncomplicated !!
Room itself (Sanibel Sea Shell 2) was very nice decorated and big enouth for us!
The best is there is a Gas-Grill for everyone. We loved it!!
Next time in Sanibel, next time in Tarpon Tale Inn !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexusworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

The Inn was so much more than we expected ! We arrived, and found our reservations on the bullentin board. The studio was adorable, when we walked in it felt like we were at a family beach cottage. Everything we needed was there. The walk to the beach was our evening stroll, and the shelling was the best we found. We visited in the "off season" and it was if we had the beaches and the Inn all to ourselves, sooo quiet. Our regular visitor was Edgar, the cat, we all enjoyed laying around on our patio, being lazy.
This was one of our best vacations in awhile, and we will be back. Thanks to Joe and Dawn for their great retreat !

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deblynwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We went to Tarpon Tale for my wifes birthday. We did some research about places to stay on Sanibel and the great reviews could not have been more accurate. The rooms were not new but well kept and the location was great. We had a short walk to the beach which we both enjoyed very much and we were located just minutes from all of the many things to do on Sanibel. The weather was great while we were there so we were not in the room much but when we were in the room it was very clean and home like. We stayed in Lighthouse #1. (bed was totally comfortable!!) Be sure to eat across the street at the Lighthouse Cafe, and get ice cream at Pinnochios. When we come back we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Historic Lighthouse 2 room. The room like the inn was charming. The bed was comfy, the shower pressure is great, the room clean and full of thoughtful little extras such as a bag of microwave popcorn, sunscreens, beach towels and a real hair dryer. Not one of those typical little hotel room numbers that don't do a thing. The location was great ... a short walk to the beach. We slept with the window open and it was very quiet. The birds did wake me up in the morning but I live in the city and am more used to hearing sirens than nature. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petittarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#19 of 20 in Sanibel Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
724 reviews
1.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#7 of 20 in Sanibel Island
733 reviews
5.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Tale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Tale Inn

Address: 367 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7431
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $208 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Tale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarpon Tale Inn is a charming, family run property on the east end of Sanibel, a short walk from the island's famous shelling beaches, the lighthouse and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Each of our cottage style accommodations has its own distinct character, and range from cozy efficiencies to spacious one bedroom suites. We hope you'll choose the Tarpon Tale Inn as your home on Sanibel. You'll find the Florida you're looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tarpon Tale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Tale Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing