We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I would stay at Sanibel!”
Review of Tarpon Tale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tarpon Tale Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is my second time to stay at the Tarpon Tale Inn and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! It is a small inn with private rooms and front porch areas. They provide a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, plates, cups, silverware, paper towels, and the items needed to wash them. You can change your towels or anything else at anytime by taking them to the "laundry room" area. There is free wi-fi, movies to check out, bikes, and many beach items you can use as well. There prices are very affordable and the owners are very helpful and concerned you are having a great experience.

The inn is within walking distance to the beach (about a block) and is close to the lighthouse. It is across the street from a great ice cream and bakery shop (Pinocchio's and Geppetto's)...a good way to start and end your day!

I would never stay anywhere else but here!!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Birdhouse and Lighthouse II rooms. They are considered an efficiency room. Th...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigred_rolltide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Tarpon Tale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 261 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We liked the slowness of the island, whole families riding their bikes, and a lower speed zone for cars. We liked everything about the inn. It was close enough to walk to the beach, a place to wash my shells, a cool, clean place to stay and friendly hosts. We loved the birdlife and the flowering trees and shrubs. We love Bailey's grocery on the island as we had just become vegan and needed to cook most of our food. It was a good stay and we want to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethesea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here recently for five nights. We loved the place. They provided beach towels, beach accessories, bikes, just about anything you would need for your stay on Sanibel. The bikes are a great way to get around the island. The place was quiet and clean. They don't provided daily housekeeping, which I liked, and any additional items needed were just steps away. I recommend Tarpon Tale Inn and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtnWmnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the last half of our honeymoon (we were here for 6 nights), and we absolutely loved it. It was quiet and cozy, and very convenient for all of our needs. We had a fully equipped kitchen, which we used fairly frequently. We also had access to bicycles which was amazing for getting to the beach super quick, which we did every day (they also offer beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, shelling gear, and many more conveniences). It's very close to the beach, and also across the street from the famous Lighthouse Cafe, which was amazing. The owners were very nice and helpful, and though we didn't really end up needing anything, they let us know that if we did, not to hesitate to call. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Sanibel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Tarpon Tale Inn is a good choice for a Florida getaway vacation. For us, Sanibel is a place to escape the busyness of touristy locations and to soak up the beauty of peace and quiet in an unspoiled natural setting.

Don't be put off by the outside appearance of this inn. It's a simple wooden building that looks slightly shabby on the outside, but the rooms are modern, updated, clean and comfortable. I was reminded of the classic Florida inns that I stayed in decades ago -- family-friendly -- but with modern bathroom, microwave and coffee pot.

Reasons to stay here: friendly owners, convenient location, ice cream and breakfast pastry shop across the street, free bikes to use on the excellent bike bath along the whole island, value.

Amy was especially accommodating to us when we arrived. The board in the office clearly says that the owners are available by phone at all times. We incorrectly assumed that the envelope on the board was for us and went to the designated room. In fact we were assigned to a different room. Amy came and at first tried to do a room assignment switch so we could stay where we were, but reservations made that unworkable. We gladly moved into the correct room next door (which we liked better). Amy apologized for the mix-up even though it was our fault.

The sitting area outside our door was nothing special, but it was a pleasant place to sit, eat breakfast, have a late afternoon glass of wine and read a book. The area is screened off from the adjacent rooms.

The room is well equipped for simple food prep/microwave heating/refrigeration, but I wouldn't try to cook a whole meal because the bathroom sink is the only available cleanup area. The bathroom was very clean, including the shower curtain, with the usual small soaps and shampoo. There was a hair dryer stored in the bathroom cabinet.

I would suggest that the outside, including the lattice screens and sign, be given a fresh coat of paint to attract walk-in guests. On the other hand, Tarpon Tale could remain a hidden getaway for those who have read the reviews.

Room Tip: The Bird House's layout gives the feeling of having more space and has good privacy screening.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Tarpon tale October 22-26 for our 10th anniversary , great rooms, and value. Small, very private . Equipped kitchens, for basic cooking. love the outside area, hammock footsteps from our door,gas grill available for use. bikes and beach accessories (including beach towels ) available to borrow . bikes, were great for getting around the island . With beach parking 2.00 /hr , having bikes available was great to make trips to the beach . This is a great place if you want to have a value oriented stay without frills, No maid service, mints on pillow etc . innkeepers are friendly, receptive to guests needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tarpon Tale Inn in October 2012 during our honeymoon and it was an excellent choice. We were looking for a place that would allow us to relax for about five days and the Tarpon Tale Inn was it. Our room had everything we needed and was an excellent choice for the money. The innkeepers were there when you needed them but other than that they stayed out of sight. There was an excellent little diner across the road as well. It was conveniently located and only a short drive to all of the restaurants on Sanibel Island.

FYI, the "Island Cow" restaurant was our top choice for restaurant's on Sanibel Island. We liked is so much I think we ate there 2-3 times.

The Tarpon Tale Inn was an excellent choice for the money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steeli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 20 in Sanibel Island
209 reviews
5.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Tale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Tale Inn

Address: 367 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7431
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $104 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Tale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarpon Tale Inn is a charming, family run property on the east end of Sanibel, a short walk from the island's famous shelling beaches, the lighthouse and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Each of our cottage style accommodations has its own distinct character, and range from cozy efficiencies to spacious one bedroom suites. We hope you'll choose the Tarpon Tale Inn as your home on Sanibel. You'll find the Florida you're looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tarpon Tale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Tale Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing