We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”
Review of Tarpon Tale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarpon Tale Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“love this place”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

came to visit last year for a little romantic weekend getaway. We checked in late so they left our key for the "light house" room on the cork board outside of the office. Rooms are so clean, beds are comfy and our room had all necessary items in the kitchen. If I would have known that I would have brought groceries :) about a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach & right across the street there is a great little place we had breakfast at. The island is so quiet and peaceful and the tarpon tale inn exceeded our expectations, so relaxing and quaint. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlyn_Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    49
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
159
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed 1 week mid-June 2013; 3 nights in Lighthouse II and 3 nights in Seashell I. Both rooms were in excellent shape, very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable beds and sofas, necessary dishes and utensils (can openers, wine openers, knives, forks, wine glasses, coffee cups, plates, paper towels, etc). Both rooms had coffee maker & microwave. Seashell I is a much larger room with table & 2 chairs and full size kitchen (stove, full fridge, toaster). Lighthouse II had a decent mini-fridge that easily held bottle of wine, beer, cartons of milk, OJ, etc. Plenty of room for 2 people. Each unit has it's own designated parking space. Hand soap, bar soap, shampoo & conditioner are provided. Coffee, sugar, & creamers are provided (additional coffee available from the laundry room). Bathroom in the smaller unit provided excellent under counter storage and counter top storage for toiletries. Bathroom in the larger unit was much smaller and had a pedestal sink. There is limited storage in a cabinet above the toilet. Check out photos for more details.

Owners are on site every day and couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Although no daily maid service, plenty of clean linens are always available in the laundry room, which is in the rear of the office with it's own separate entry for guests. Owners provide plenty of bikes (which are in great shape) and all that you need for the beach (large beach towels, comfy beach chairs, umbrellas, noodles, and a wagon to cart it all). They are a 5 minute walk to gulf or to bay. Beach chairs have straps attached so you could easily carry it like a backpack and bike to the beach. All their beach equipment was in excellent condition. They provide a computer in the office lounge and a phone to use. We were able to get WifFi in Lighthouse II because it's next door to the office. Dawn & Joe (owners) go out of their way to ensure their guests needs are met. In the laundry room they provide all kinds of stuff you may want or have forgotten. In the office lounge, they always have wine available, and also will have lemonade, ice tea, and some goodie (cakes) to nibble on.

Tarpon Tale Inn is a short bike ride from the main area of Sanibel with restaurants, shopping, & groceries. Across the street is an excellent breakfast spot, an Italian-style ice cream place (made fresh daily), and an outstanding bakery/cafe. Next door is another excellent deli also serving breakfast items. All are reasonably priced. Believe me, the ice cream is addictive and the bakery goodies are sinfully delicious!

We prefer the quieter side of Sanibel Island and enjoy staying at a place with less people. Tarpon Tale Inn gives you the feeling of "living" on the island and not just visiting in some hotel. We would definitely recommend this Inn and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alwaysjerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Once again our goal was met. We wanted complete relaxation as well as beach access and no crowds. We got it! Further the inn keepers, Joe and Dawn are wonderfully helpful and just as friendly as could be. One week here is not enough, we are shooting to double our stay here next year. Surrounded by great food and pleasantly located in quiet Old Town Sanibel, I highly recommend this place to any who wants to get away! You can choose to be as relaxed or active as you want, a very convenient location and the grounds are simply wonderful! Thanks, J&D!!
Hans and Amanda

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiefnomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Sea Shell II in early May and had a wonderful visit. The room was very clean and the inn had all the amenities for preparing a meal as well as a cozy table in our room. Dawn was very gracious and helpful about questions we had about Sanibel (beautiful island). She also suggested watching the sun rise which we did and it was spectacular. We particularly enjoyed her flavoured water and snacks in the office open to all guests. In addition, we took advantage of the bikes offered to cycle around the island (very easy cycling, all flat). Sanibel is a wonderful island to visit and we would love to go back and will definitely choose the Tarpon Tale Inn.
Andersen, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in Historic Lighthouse II. The room was plenty big enough for two and, although on the main road with pavement alongside, was secluded and quiet. Amenities included free wifi, private parking, a fridge, microwave, a private verandah, which was great for eating a breakfast bagel from the deli 20 metres away (and included the addition of a breakfast friend, a gecko who often visited to lap the condensation off the bottles!), a hammock for two (mind you don't lose your key out of your pocket at night!), free bikes, beach equipment and a "wheelie" for getting it there and delicious baked goods / lemonade / wine in the office next door. Very close (walking distance) to the beach or biking distance to the lighthouse. Over the road was the Lighthouse Café which served both breakfast and dinner while we were there, and would highly recommend. A great place to have a relaxing time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just spent 4 nights here for a relaxing girls weekend and absolutely loved it! It is a quaint little inn, spotlessly clean, well maintained, and absolutely lovely. We enjoyed our rooms and the sitting areas outside, sharing drinks with a neighbor. A quick walk across the street is the Lighthouse Cafe and Pinocchio's with some of the best and biggest serving of ice cream I've ever had. Dawn was wonderful to work with. My friend and I both agreed that we would love to come back and bring our spouses next time. Great value. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but there is a spa. Didn't miss not having a pool one bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Convenient to breakfast at Island Grill?? Bikes and all beach equipment included. Two blocks to beach or a mile from the Lighthouse. Great for miniture/micro shelling at this end of the island. Traffic is a lot lighter at this end of the Island but room faces Periwinkle. Traffic noise is covered up by AC and everything goes quiet after sunset anyway. Modest pricing and comfortable space.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,247 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
5.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,704 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Tale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Tale Inn

Property: Tarpon Tale Inn
Address: 367 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7431
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Tale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarpon Tale Inn is a charming, family run property on the east end of Sanibel, a short walk from the island's famous shelling beaches, the lighthouse and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Each of our cottage style accommodations has its own distinct character, and range from cozy efficiencies to spacious one bedroom suites. We hope you'll choose the Tarpon Tale Inn as your home on Sanibel. You'll find the Florida you're looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Tarpon Tale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Tale Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing