We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent Host and Location”
Review of Tarpon Tale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tarpon Tale Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most Excellent Host and Location”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent 3 days in January 2013. Walked and road bikes (free to guests) to 2 of the local beaches. Newly refurbished with tile and bathroom fixtures. Near a restaurant, ice cream parlor and another NY deli. Dawn the owner was most accomodating. When she learned I had sensitivuty to cleaning products she went out a got us fragrance-free laundry soap. Dawn turned the hot tub on for us when we arrived and had a glass of wine waiting for us at night. Dawn even encouraged us to use the free bikes after we had checked out. Free internet access 24/7 was a great plus. The owner set us up with a wagon that we took in our truck to Bowman Beach and it was the best suggestion she made

The Tarpon Tale is worth the price, has the best 0wner we have ever experienced and the location cannot be beat !

Room Tip: Check out the Seashell and Lighthouse rooms. if you like quiet try either of the Seashell rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azsteve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    50
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
163
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vritts@stlcc.edu
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My niece and I spent three nights at the Tarpon Tale Inn. This is a great accomodation in a nice, quiet location. I've stayed on the "other" side of the island several times and while that is excellent, I prefer the nice and quiet side. We had an excellent time strolling down Buttonwood Lane to the ocean side of the beach. On the way to the beach we watched two ospreys on Buttonwood for the longest time as they sat outside of their nest. The Inn has complimentary bikes that were an excellent way to see the island including Ding Darling. I would highly recommend the Tarpon Tale in for your next visit to Sanibel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I just got back from a wonderful vacation in Sanibel! Dawn and Joe at Tarpon Tale Inn made it even nicer. The Inn is very comfortable, clean and convenient to the Lighthouse beach and cafe. Bicycles and a hot tub are nice additions. Our host and hostess even had wine and peppermint bark available to us for our Christmas stay. I would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveling2places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn R, Owner at Tarpon Tale Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2017
We look forward to your return
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was there with my husband. We had a lovely time. There was always something to eat like Brownies and Wine, fresh fruits and so on. We could take bikes, umbreallas and what ever we needed for the beach. Every rooms has his own little terrace.
On the other side of the street is a great breakfast place. They serve eggs any style, home made jam, fresh fruits and so on.
We would go back any time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sibylle848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband Joe and I were married on Nov 9th and arrived at the Tarpon Tale on the 10th. We stayed in the Island Sunset Cottage and absolutely enjoyed it! I grew up vacationing on Sanibel but had never stayed up by the lighthouse before. It was such a cute and cozy inn, and very private as well. We enjoyed breakfast on our porch several mornings, and it was convenient to get everywhere on the island. Dawn was a wonderful host, friendly and welcoming. It was my husband's first time to Sanibel and he fell in love with it too. We really enjoyed our stay at Tarpon Tale Inn - perfect for a cozy little honeymoon! Thanks and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lclangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dawn and Joe are fabulous hosts and the inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is great to be so close to the beah and in a quiet area. I would recommend the Tarpon Tale Inn to anyone. I hope to return many times! Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn R, Owner at Tarpon Tale Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2017
Thank you!!!!
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido Beach, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed at this sweet inn on Sanibel for several years now starting about 10 years ago. We hadn't gone down there for the last couple of years, and returned last month. It was better than I remembered. Joe and Dawn keep the place up-to-date and work so hard to make everyone's stay comfortable. The units are clean and comfortable, and having the kitchen and privacy of a housekeeping unit is so much more relaxing than a hotel, or, god forbid, a dressy resort. It's a beach vacation for goodness sake! Shoes off! We've stayed in just about all of the units, and they are all clean and quiet. We also love being in this part of Sanibel, having stayed in various parts of the island since the late 80s. You can't do better in terms of comfort, quiet, price, convenience to the beach, shopping, great shelling and wildlife viewing. Take one of the free bikes to explore the area up by the light house (also an easy walk on the beach), or ride the few miles to Jerry's (opposite Casa Ybel on Periwinkle Way) for groceries and other shopping. At sunset, we were thrilled to see a pod of dolphins at play in the bay. Also enjoyed kayak rental at the Ding Darling Preserve. We took the kayak tour a couple of times, and love it. They usually let you keep the kayak for a few hours after the tour, too, so pack a lunch. Enjoy this wonderful inn in paradise!

Room Tip: All good. The website is honest and accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
691 reviews
5.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Tale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Tale Inn

Property: Tarpon Tale Inn
Address: 367 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7431
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Tale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarpon Tale Inn is a charming, family run property on the east end of Sanibel, a short walk from the island's famous shelling beaches, the lighthouse and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Each of our cottage style accommodations has its own distinct character, and range from cozy efficiencies to spacious one bedroom suites. We hope you'll choose the Tarpon Tale Inn as your home on Sanibel. You'll find the Florida you're looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Tarpon Tale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Tale Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing