We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute,nice and clean but lousy on the small things” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The PalmView
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cute,nice and clean but lousy on the small things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Cute little place in a quiet part of Sanibel Island. Very clean and pleasant interior. But it is very irritating with some small details- no coffee filters, pepper shaker empty, and gas grill works poorly. I had to go and relight gas burners a couple of times, and heat wouldn't get hot enough to properly cook steak, so I tried to broil in oven- but no broiler pan. So we had tough, undercooked steak that took 50 minutes to get meddium rare.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sanibel Island has become dog friendly over the years. They are allowed on every beach and in many hotels. My spouse, 2 dogs and I spent two nights at a The Palmview. The place is small and consists of only 5 or 6 cottages. Our cottage was a duplex done up in nautical style and painted a bright, tropical color. It was quite spacious with a full kitchen, utensils, and cookware. The queen size bed was separated from the living area by a half wall. Windows opened and provided a nice breeze. Parking was tight, but doable because everyone was considerate. The place was very clean, and since our "duplex mates were quiet people, noise was not an issue. Had they been loud it WOULD have been problematic since the walls were not terribly soundproof...particularly in the bathroom. I could hear very clearly what our neighbors were saying. The beach was just a short walk away. Beach chairs and bicycles were provided for free. Bikes are the best way to get around the island when it's busy and it WAS busy! We would have stayed another night or two had there been availability, but alas, when our two nights were up, we had to move on. The owner/caretaker, Laurie, (very nice woman who allowed us to do our laundry in HER machine for free) was not around much so if you DID have a complaint it might be difficult to settle it. There WAS a telephone next to the office you could use to call her if needed.
My only complaint, and it's not REALLY a complaint is that checkout was 10 AM.

Room Tip: If there is no duplex, I'd go for that. There was one "duplex" where the units were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darasaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, great location and complimentary bikes were a big plus! Had a ball riding to and from ll the happy hours at the local restaurants. Breakfast within walking distance. We love sanibel and will stay here again!
Very clean, great location and complimentary bikes were a big plus! Had a ball riding to and from ll the happy hours at the local restaurants. Breakfast within walking distance. We love sanibel and will stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ktmmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

did a last minute trip to sanibel island and picked the palmview because they are pet friendly. although the rooms are clean they are in need of some updating. we stayed in the caloosa and were comfortable. the room as crntral air not a wall unit so it was quiet and cool. we had a king bed that was comfortable and all floors were terazzo with a area rug in living room. the innkeeper seems to be off the property after hours and the office is closed with a phone number to call which went to voicemail when I called it. so i guess questions are for the day hours which is when most people are out.
the exterior grounds are not well kept and the bldgs are in need of pressure washing and cleaning and some repairs. just not neat and trimmed and clean as you would expect, but I guess this is why the price was cheaper.
although I dont have any major regrets i might look further into pet friendly hotels next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Palm View is a very pleasant 60's vintage motel that has been maintained and enhanced. I stayed in the Caloosa/Unit 1 for 3 nights. It was very clean and had bright and cheerful colors. The bed was comfortable, refrigerator clean, and the a/c worked well if a little noisy on occasion. The floors are vintage terrazzo and the bathroom tiles are original but clean. There are 2 flatscreen tvs and the place is well laid out.

The neighborhood is quiet and it is about 1 1/2 blocks at the most to the beach. Easy access. The grounds of the Palm View were attractive, with the Royal Palms, a mango, a coconut, a mahogany and a variety of other plants. There are a couple of outside sitting areas that were pleasant. Bikes were available and were in good shape. The place could use some chairs in front of the units perhaps and a bit more landscaping, but it is really a nice looking place.

This would be a good place for going solo, with family, or a group of friends. It is not fancy, no pool/hot tub, nor is it on the beach. It is clearly a vintage 60's motel, but is bright and cheerful. Anyone with reasonable expectations or that likes the feel of old Florida should enjoy the place. Probably not the best fit for high maintenance types. The price is reasonable especially by Sanibel's over priced standards and it's a very easy and short walk down a path to the beach so Palm View is certainly a good option. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Caloosa/Unit 1 had good light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our first visit to stay on the island and it was a very pleasant surprise. Although the weather was not very cooperative we certainly made the most of it. Upon arrival at The Palm View (which was exactly how the pictures looked) Laurie the manager left a sweet note on the door of the office welcoming us as we arrived in the evening. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed although the only thing I concerned myself with was a coffee maker .As I am a clean fanatic it certainly passed my white glove test! Having bicycles at our disposal was a great perk even though it rained most of the time we were there,we still rode them to the beach which was only three or so blocks away .Having two rainy days there we found great shopping which always makes me happy.And the restaurants we visited were very pleasing to the palette. My family and I truly enjoyed our mini get a way and would certainly visit the island and most definitely The Palm View again, hopefully sooner than later.Thanks to Cindy the owner for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Close to beach, roomy, charming, clean, quiet. There are bicycles available to use-free, which is a serious plus, because many people don't want to bring their own bicycles. The hotel is only a block and half away from beach, which is a very easy and safe walk. The size and charm of the accommodation was very appealing.

Wonderful place to stay, as friends, couple, or family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#3 of 5 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Property: The PalmView
Address: 706 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6708
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing