We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect (minus noisy AC)”
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The PalmView
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really only positives about this place. Room very comfortable, well decorated. Short walk from beach and nearby restaurants, and bikes available to borrow. Also 2 beach chairs and an umbrella to be easily taken and carried on your shoulders. When we arrived the innkeeper was not there but she left a note on the office's window welcoming us. We did not cook but everything would have been available if we wanted to.
AC was a little noisy but it was not too hot and I switched it off at night
We would definitively return

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicosne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our first visit to Sanibel. We enjoyed a very quiet stay at the Palm View in the Caloosa. A short walk to the beach with the beach chairs provided by the resort slung over our shoulders. We had not very cooperative weather--warm but rainy one day and threatening rain another. I appreciated having a living room with comfortable furniture to read while the rain poured down. The full kitchen was great since I am a breakfast eater and my husband is not. No need to go out for every meal. The bathroom is a little dingy--the tile around the toilet looks very worn--but functional with a nice shower. Overall, I would stay there again if we return to Sanibel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sqrlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here while visiting family on the island for four days. Most importantly, everything was exceptionally clean and quiet. We were able to walk to the beach (barely a block away) and several restauarants and businesses on the island. We used the free bikes the inn provided (they were very new) to enjoy the warm weather and get to places further away. The flat screen TV's in both the living room and bedroom as well as the DVD player were great at night, and the even have free movies available in the office, including new releases. We couldn't be happier with our stay at The PalmView and our trip to Sanibel, and we plan on being regular customers in the years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJO90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

On our 5th stay at Palmview we look forward to our 6th. It was clean, quiet, and pleasant. We used the new bikes and cooked when we wanted. We walked the 3 blocks from our door to the ocean's edge. Our English friends have stayed there 13 times so everyone thinks its something special. We updated to larger quarters which makes it extra special. We give it a 99 percent perfect rating. Hope to meet new friends there January and Feburary.

Room Tip: Give a call if any questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was what we were looking for. It's an 8 minute walk to the beach which was doable. One of the cleanest places we stayed at. Owners/managers are off site, but in the office during business hours. Bikes are provided complimentary, along with beach chairs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a great experience staying at the Palm View Inn, all of my needs were met with a full, spacious kitchen, beach access, and access to beach chairs, and towels. Bike access allows easy and fun travel to the beach as well as all of Sanibel's shops and restaurants. I plan on visiting Sanibel again, and will certainly stay at the Palm View Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Loved the location-the staff(yes the dog too)-and the room, the colors in Pirates Cove were my favorite, room sizes are wonderful and large and you have bikes, tables and grill to use. Walk to beach is 5 minutes along with a few places to eat. But still off the beaten path a bit. Prices were good and the ability to bring two small dogs was great. We will return. Only thing I did not like was that the water heater kept tripping the breaker because of storm so water was not hot when "I" needed it-but staff was made aware and are working on that issue. So its fine, we were good since it was so hot out anyway. Oh, and best part-was rooms were VERY clean.

Room Tip: All were nice as in a U shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JULIA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
724 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Address: 706 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6708
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $85 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing