We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The PalmView
Certificate of Excellence
Thornwood, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

On our 5th stay at Palmview we look forward to our 6th. It was clean, quiet, and pleasant. We used the new bikes and cooked when we wanted. We walked the 3 blocks from our door to the ocean's edge. Our English friends have stayed there 13 times so everyone thinks its something special. We updated to larger quarters which makes it extra special. We give it a 99 percent perfect rating. Hope to meet new friends there January and Feburary.

Room Tip: Give a call if any questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
51
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
716 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was what we were looking for. It's an 8 minute walk to the beach which was doable. One of the cleanest places we stayed at. Owners/managers are off site, but in the office during business hours. Bikes are provided complimentary, along with beach chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a great experience staying at the Palm View Inn, all of my needs were met with a full, spacious kitchen, beach access, and access to beach chairs, and towels. Bike access allows easy and fun travel to the beach as well as all of Sanibel's shops and restaurants. I plan on visiting Sanibel again, and will certainly stay at the Palm View Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
310 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Loved the location-the staff(yes the dog too)-and the room, the colors in Pirates Cove were my favorite, room sizes are wonderful and large and you have bikes, tables and grill to use. Walk to beach is 5 minutes along with a few places to eat. But still off the beaten path a bit. Prices were good and the ability to bring two small dogs was great. We will return. Only thing I did not like was that the water heater kept tripping the breaker because of storm so water was not hot when "I" needed it-but staff was made aware and are working on that issue. So its fine, we were good since it was so hot out anyway. Oh, and best part-was rooms were VERY clean.

Room Tip: All were nice as in a U shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I visited Sanibel staying at the Palm View Inn in 2005.Since than I've visited a dozen times all at the Palm View.The rooms are CLEAN spacious and quiet.Conveniently located to all actives on Sanibel,and a 6 minute walk to the beach with no parking fees.Umbrellas,beach chairs,beach towels and bikes are provided no charge.The rates are reasonable which can be hard to find on Sanibel.The only bad part is when its time to leave,I,m all ready planing my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you such much for returning to the Palmview Inn so many times, and for taking the time to write a nice review. The beaches are so wonderful on Sanibel, and we are happy we could supply you with what you needed for relaxing at the beach.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Chrisitine Lemmon who is an author on Sanibel Island encourages everyone that they should have their "Portion of the Sea." Saniblel Island and staying at the PalmView is our "portion of the sea." The island brings us such peace, and being return visitors as well we cannot imagine staying anywhere but the PalmView. It is cozy, welcoming, quiet, and quaint. The rooms and grounds provide everything you need. We love to walk the beach, or hop on the bikes that are provided and explore the island. It is a perfect location, a great price, and very updated and clean. We enjoy and appreciate Laurie very much and the great job she does as the manager. We also enjoy her warm welcome! There is nothing we would change, and we are so glad that aside from a few updates PalmView remains as it did when we first discovered it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Sanibel Island is certainly special, and we are glad you enjoyed the Island while staying at the Palmview. Your description of your stay is what Sanibel is about, and descibes what we hope all of our guests feel about the Palmview.
Thank you also for mentioning how helpful Laurie, our Manager ,was. We hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed at The Palm View for 2 weeks. It's like renting a little cottage; guests take care of their own housekeeping (the staff provides fresh linens weekly). It's clean, quiet and comfortable. This little complex has its own laundry for guests and provides bikes, beach chairs and umbrella. Just a short walk to the beach; a bit longer to Jerry's grocery and nice little shopping mall. For other activities, you will need a car on Sanibel. Manager Laurie was terrific.

Room Tip: The website gives good explanations of the rooms, and read the Trip Advisor reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Palmview Inn, and taking the time to write such a nice review.
We very much appreciate this. We are also so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that Laurie was so terrific. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#3 of 5 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Property: The PalmView
Address: 706 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6708
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing