We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great location for family reunion and wedding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location for family reunion and wedding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Island Inn for eight nights. From check in to check out the Inn was more than first class. It has the Old Sanibel feel with modern updates and amenities. The staff was wonderful, helpful in every way. Our daughter was married on site and spent her honeymoon there as well. All told our group stayed in three cottages and five rooms. We stayed in Phister, Matthews, and Seagrape cottages and had rooms in Kimball Lodge. The rooms are clean and well kept. The recent renovations to Kimball are beautiful. The breakfast is very good, and the staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful. The best part about the Island Inn is that it has something for everyone. It was great for our event because everyone was in the same place, but everyone also had privacy and space. Highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Rooms in Kimball have lovely views. Phister cottage is great for hosting larger groups. Matthews cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for such a wonderful celebration and we are so glad your family enjoyed their time with us! The staff at the Inn remembers your family's stay and hope you all can make it back to Sanibel Island and the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    322
    89
    38
    12
See reviews for
326
595
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a wonderful and relaxing time! We really enjoyed the free access to beach chairs and the private beach area. The room was clean and nicely updated and decorated. The room was a little on the small side with the pull out couch out but was not a big deal. The full stove and fridge were wonderful to have. The only complaint we did have was that the breakfast could have had more variety. This did not bother us much though because of the full kitchen to use in our room. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. We found a wonderful deal on a travel website that included airfare and hotel. Overall this was a great vacation!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the king size room with pull out couch and full kitchen.
See more room tips
Green Features: They were very conscious of the turtles and beach area. They also had a recycling bin in each room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your Sanibel Island stay and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad you were happy with your accommodation selection, but urge prospective guests to book directly with the Inn as apposed to using travel sites like Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, etc. Many times these third party sites do not translate the correct, best and/or complete accommodation offerings, causing false expectations and disappointment upon arrival.

Again, thank you for your patronage and comments. We hope your travels home to NY were safe and you are able to visit Sanibel Island and the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just came back from spending 4 days here with our grandchildren. Can't say how much we enjoyed it. Rooms were wonderful and staff was the best we've ever dealth with. Continental breakfast (which was free) was plenty and actually had a good selection. Whoever complained should have gone out and bought a breakfast. We loved it. Hotel was booked solid, but the pool and beach were not crowded at all. Grandkids are already planning the next trip. Thanks!!!! Also, I don't know her name but the woman that took care of the continental breakfast during the weekdays had the best people skills and personality that I have seen in a long time. Kudos to her!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your trip with your grandchildren and we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us! We hope your travels back to West Palm were safe and we will look forward to your next arrival! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My friend and I wanted to enjoy a girls getaway, and chose this Inn. Great choice. All the cottages and rooms have had a complete makeover, but retain the old tropical island inn charm.
We stayed at Kimball Lodge, ground floor, deluxe room, views of the beach, which was right outside our screened little lanai. We were pleased to have the availability of a kitchenette in our room. The service was wonderful but not intrusive. The cleanliness of our room was as good as any 5 star hotel. The property is kept clean and well groomed and the tropical palms and flowers are abundant. We enjoyed long walks on the beautiful beach, swimming in the pool, and dining at the onsite restaurant. Great food. Anything you wanted, chairs, umbrellas, sunscreen, etc. was available...just ask the lovely people at the office. We shall definitely go again.

Room Tip: No bad rooms. Depends on the number of people in your group. We were 2 friends so we chose a room w...
See more room tips
Green Features: good environmental practices are in place, as noted, Silver rated.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoCo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of hosting your girls weekend getaway. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and that the Inn's location, accommodations, amenities and guest services only enhanced your time on Sanibel Island. We hope you can make it back to stay with us again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Island Inn in Sanibel for a 15th anniversary trip. We couldn't have asked for a better location. A nice quiet location right on the Gulf of Mexico. We had a screened in balcony that was the perfect place to sit to watch and listen to the waves on the beach, even during the rain that we had a few times during our trip. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful at this historic inn. The breakfast they had available to guests was delicious. They even went out of their way to make our anniversary special with a bottle of champagne and special towel animals waiting for us in our room. I would definately recommend this inn as a beautiful place to stay if you are visiting Sanibel.

Room Tip: Matthews Lodge, second floor had beautiful views of the gulf/sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your relaxing anniversary getaway and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope your travels home to Virginia were safe and you are able to visit the Island Inn and Sanibel Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft' Lauderdale,Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in the Starky Lodge where the rooms have recently been renovated. The room and property were spacious, clean and comfortable for the 4 of us and included an efficiency kitchen. The screened in porch was terrific for evenings and the view of the gulf was spectacular. Management and staff were helpful and friendly, and the continental breakfast was more than expected.
We also enjoyed a delightful dinner with live music at Traditions Restaurant on the property. We would definitely recommend this location to anyone looking for a relaxing and fun time on Sanibel.

Room Tip: All rooms and cottages face the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garrysomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying at the island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad the Inn's accommodations, amenities and guest services were a good fit you needs and expectations. We hope your travels back to the East coast were safe and you are able to visit Sanibel Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Island Inn back in June. Myself, my handicapped daughter, son in law and 2 grandsons (ages 9 and 11) What a wonderful experience! We were in the Kimball Lodge on the ground floor. Room was all updated and bathroom was huge. Had a mini frige-microwave and coffee pot. Also include table service for 4 (dishes cups and silverware) The beach was probably only 50 feet from our door and the pool was also a short walk from our room. Beach chairs were plentiful and each day we would put a chair at the edge of the water so my daughter could collect shells as they came in. The pool was very nice (and warm). Breakfast was sufficient with many pastries and coffee and juices. They gave me a tray so I could take the goodies back to our room to enjoy on the screen porch. There is also a large community room available, where we went to play cards - it has a TV and books to enjoy. We really enjoyed our stay and everyone wants to go back next year for a longer visit-hopefully we can get the same room as it worked out so well for us. The staff was super friendly and housekeeping did a great job. It was so relaxing and the grandkids hated to leave. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioBetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your family's trip to Sanibel Island. We are so glad you enjoyed our low density, beachfront property combined with our updated accommodations and amenities. We will look forward to return to the Island Inn soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,624 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing