We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Inn Sanibel, Florida”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Highly recommend Island Inn.....quiet, clean, friendly. Traditions Restaurant on property is an excellent dining experience. This past week was our first stay and will not be our last. Nice breakfast included in room rate. Would need a car as shopping and deli is 2 miles away.

Room Tip: Room 214 had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 214sanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your Sanibel Island stay and we are so happy that you will be returning. We hope your travels home to Kansas were safe and we will be anticipating your next arrival! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We can't stop raving about our stay at the Island Inn. We stayed one night to celebrate our 37th anniversary. Had dinner at Traditions. The wait staff were courteous and professional..the food fabulous.
From the moment we walked into our Kimball Lodge suite, we were in awe. The staff had taken the time to surprise us with little touches like flower petals on the bed and a bottle of champagne chilling.
The suite itself was modern and impeccably clean., The balcony was perfect for sharing some cocktails and enjoying the gulf view. The entire staff is friendly and courteous. Even the sheets and towels were fresh and of excellent quality.
We plan to make this our anniversary "tradition" and extend our future stays.

Room Tip: While we were a couple, observed many families staying at the Inn. Great activities available Fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for such a special celebration and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary with us and we are honored that a stay at the Island Inn is now a yearly tradition. We hope you have a wonderful summer and will look forward to seeing you again next year! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed one night and we were not disappointed. Our room was clean and modern and overlooked the gulf. We were just steps away from the beach. Absolutely perfect. Staff was very, very friendly and the continental breakfast was light and satisfying.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank your for sharing your feedback concerning your recent 1-night stay at the Island Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your time and hope you will be able to make it back soon for an extended visit! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Inlaws havie been going for 20 years and rave about the Island Inn so this year we decided to join them. We had a great time! The room is very modern and clean and the ac was super cold. The customer service was superior from the front desk to housekeeping. The whole property is well maintained and in a great location. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby!

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd story room for good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and hope you will be returning to Sanibel Island with your in-laws year after year! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our second visit . Being an odd weeknight were offered our choice of rooms and were told to "check them out" before committing. Of course we took one look at Spoonbill North and had our own little cottage on the beach. The screened porch overlooked the grounds and the beach with the perfect angle for a sunset! I am usually scared to repeat an adventure because "it " doesn't usually measure up, however, the Island Inn did not disappoint. I can not wait to visit again. The office staff are always super friendly and ready to help anyway they can. Great place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deitra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for return to the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad the Inn again exceeded your expectations and hope you will return to see us again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Island Inn was amazing. Old Florida charm with modern touches! Set on a beautiful stretch of Sanibel Island beach. I stayed in the Kimball Lodge on the 2nd floor in a king suite. The Kimball Lodge appeared to be a newer part of the Inn. The Kimball lodge suites were spacious, clean, full of modern updates but still maintained that old Florida charm. We had a nice view of the ocean from our room. We also enjoyed the great sun deck on the 2nd floor of the Kimball Lodge, great for sunrise or sunsets. The staff was very nice and always helpful from the front desk to the cleaning crew. We dined at Traditions the onsite restaurant, it was very good. I will return to the Island Inn and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Kimball Lodge King Suites are new, spacious, and have ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotXone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn, sincerely appreciate your referrals and are honored that you will return! We hope your travels back to the East coast were safe and will look forward to seeing you on Sanibel Island again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

For our first trip to Sanibel we chose this hotel. It exceeded our expectations. It was so clean and in such a great location. The grounds were immaculate, the staff friendly and helpful. We loved our studio on the second floor with an ocean view. The screened in balcony was a favorite spot to relax. The kitchen was a great feature with updated appliances. We didnt really use it with our 2 night stay because we wanted to try some of the great restaurants on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and that our location, facilities, accommodations, amenities and guest services exceeded your expectations. We hope your travels home to Charleston were safe and you are able to visit Sanibel Island and the Island Inn again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,386 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
289 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,883 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $163 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing