We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Time!”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Epic Time!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Inlaws havie been going for 20 years and rave about the Island Inn so this year we decided to join them. We had a great time! The room is very modern and clean and the ac was super cold. The customer service was superior from the front desk to housekeeping. The whole property is well maintained and in a great location. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby!

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd story room for good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly. Lots of recycling. Energy efficient lighting
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Van K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and hope you will be returning to Sanibel Island with your in-laws year after year! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    355
    96
    40
    13
See reviews for
383
675
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our second visit . Being an odd weeknight were offered our choice of rooms and were told to "check them out" before committing. Of course we took one look at Spoonbill North and had our own little cottage on the beach. The screened porch overlooked the grounds and the beach with the perfect angle for a sunset! I am usually scared to repeat an adventure because "it " doesn't usually measure up, however, the Island Inn did not disappoint. I can not wait to visit again. The office staff are always super friendly and ready to help anyway they can. Great place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deitra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for return to the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad the Inn again exceeded your expectations and hope you will return to see us again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Island Inn was amazing. Old Florida charm with modern touches! Set on a beautiful stretch of Sanibel Island beach. I stayed in the Kimball Lodge on the 2nd floor in a king suite. The Kimball Lodge appeared to be a newer part of the Inn. The Kimball lodge suites were spacious, clean, full of modern updates but still maintained that old Florida charm. We had a nice view of the ocean from our room. We also enjoyed the great sun deck on the 2nd floor of the Kimball Lodge, great for sunrise or sunsets. The staff was very nice and always helpful from the front desk to the cleaning crew. We dined at Traditions the onsite restaurant, it was very good. I will return to the Island Inn and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Kimball Lodge King Suites are new, spacious, and have ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotXone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn, sincerely appreciate your referrals and are honored that you will return! We hope your travels back to the East coast were safe and will look forward to seeing you on Sanibel Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

For our first trip to Sanibel we chose this hotel. It exceeded our expectations. It was so clean and in such a great location. The grounds were immaculate, the staff friendly and helpful. We loved our studio on the second floor with an ocean view. The screened in balcony was a favorite spot to relax. The kitchen was a great feature with updated appliances. We didnt really use it with our 2 night stay because we wanted to try some of the great restaurants on the island.

Green Features: Recycling bins in the kitchenette were very helpful and appreciated.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and that our location, facilities, accommodations, amenities and guest services exceeded your expectations. We hope your travels home to Charleston were safe and you are able to visit Sanibel Island and the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Island Inn was incredible. Hearing the sound of the waves as you fall asleep..... From the moment we checked in, to requests we had, advice on restaurants, and overall review it was just wonderful. The staff esp. Diane and the other office staff, the breakfast girls and all staff members were so friendly. The pool, beach, breakfast, guest laundry and cleanliness of the Island Inn were impeccable. We will be back. We stayed in the Matthews Lodge and The Kimball Lodge. Both have their own charm and both rooms were beautiful with breathless views. My 5 year old daughter loved the pool and beach as did we. Stayed May 26th-31st

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirst31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to bring your family to the Island Inn and we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope your travels home to NY were safe and you are able to return to the Island Inn and Sanibel Island again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at the Island Inn for 2 nights (May 27 & 29). Each year when I visit Sanibel - I stay at the Island Inn. I LOVE IT!
The rooms are clean, so close to the Gulf. The staff is very friendly & helpful. The continental breakfast gets you going in the morning. Loved the newly remodeled rooms. I stay in the Kimball Lodge. I did request room 253 or 254-(These 2 rooms have the BEST view of the beach). They did try to get us the room, but we stayed in room 247. We had a microwave,silverware, even a wine opener in the room! Plus we could still see and hear the Gulf outside our door.
The Inn is a slice of old Florida, with the little cottages you can rent as well. I did buy the book about the Island Inn last year, loved the history of the place. When you visit Sanibel-make sure to stay @ the Island Inn. I wish I could stay longer!!

Room Tip: If you want to hear and see the Gulf-ask for the Kimball Lodge.
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask you to reuse your towel. Why not? It helps the environment & is a great practice to use on vacation & when you get home.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seashell0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for being such a loyal return guest of the Island Inn and we are so glad you enjoyed yet another wonderful stay. We appreciate your kind words and will be anticipating your arrival next year! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I escaped over to the West Coast of Florida for a little weekend getaway for our anniversary. We stayed in Matthew's Lodge and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to our room. The furniture and decor gave the space such a coastal cottage feel, and the neutral colors used within the room give it such a fresh and minimalist appearance which is perfect if you're looking for a place to unwind and relax. Our room overlooked the ocean, and the screened in porch was wonderful for just sitting outside to soak up the view and the sounds of the sea.

At check-in we were given such a warm and personal welcome. The Inn has such a quaint and cozy feel, and it's obvious that the staff are interested in ensuring their guests enjoy their stay. Sanibel is extremely bike friendly and has paths around the entire island, so we rented bikes right from the Inn.

We decided to have our anniversary dinner at Traditions which is on the same property as the Island Inn, so it was totally convenient. We couldn't say enough wonderful things about the waitstaff, and the food was impeccable! They had live entertainment which turned out to be a lot of fun as we threw down a couple of glasses of celebratory Persecco! The crowd was a great mix of ages, so there was definitely something for every generation.

The only thing about our trip that we would've done differently is we wished we had stayed a day longer - but we'll be back for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for writing such a nice review of your experience. We are honored you choose the Inn for your special celebration and that you fully enjoyed your time on Sanibel Island. We hope your travel home to NJ were safe and you are able to return to the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,777 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing