We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic means "old"!”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historic means "old"!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here two nights for a getaway. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly! The first thing i noticed was the many buildings on the grounds. There were lounge chairs for guest use that you could drag to the small almost private beach (and drag back when you're done). The pool is small, but had an 8' end! The shuffleboard equipment has seen better days. The horseshoe pits looked a little rough. No exercise room. We had a large comfortable 2nd floor room that included a refrigerator, microwave and safe. Our room smelled musty and old, even though it was clean. The included Continental breakfast was adequate for me, but I've had much better. I'm saying all this because we paid a lot of money to stay here, even if it was "season". I really expected much better. We also did not eat at the restaurant, which only serves dinner. I wouldn't recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time at the Inn and we will use your comments to better our guests overall experience

Again, thank you for your review and patronage. I hope you will be able to return to Sanibel Island soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    355
    95
    39
    13
See reviews for
380
673
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We recently spent a week in the Matthews Lodge at the Island Inn. The room was clean and comfortable, but very small for a week's stay. It did have a screened in porch with table and chairs which expanded the space a little - if the weather is nice. The restaurant doesn't serve lunch and the continental breakfast needs some new options - it's very limited. We didn't go there to dinner as other nearby restaurants were more highly rated in Trip Advisor. The beach and activities are very, very nice, and the staff is wonderful. There is no fitness facility, and the one that they recommend has very old equipment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mejehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. I am so glad you enjoyed your overall stay and hope you can make it back to Sanibel Island soon.

To add information for prospective guests:

If a larger sized accommodation is desired for extended stays we suggest the Gulfview Studio in our Starkey Lodge or one of our cottages. They both have full kitchen facilities, along with our Gulfview Kitchen Suite and Gulfview Kitchen rooms.

Our restaurant serves a Complimentary light Continental breakfast to our guests, which consists of fresh baked pastries, fresh cut fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt assortment, coffee, tea and fresh squeezed juices. Traditions on the Beach, our bar and lounge, is then open for dinner at 5 PM. Guests who book their accommodations directly with the Island Inn receive a 15% off discount for the restaurant and it is consistently a top choice for Sanibel diners.

We recommend guests use the Sanibel Recreation Center as their gym while on the island. It is approximately 2 miles from the Inn and has fairly modern facilities. By googling Sanibel Recreation Center guests can find the site that lists their classes, equipment, programs and facilities.

Again, thank you for your patronage and comments. I hope your travels home to VA were safe and you are able to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband & I stayed here last month for an extended weekend trip to get out of the cold. While he weather was not ideal, this property certainly was. Such wonderful, helpful staff and beautiful grounds. The beach directly in front is superb for shelling in the morning and sunsets in the late afternoon. Our room was quite large and very clean. The restaurant on site was fabulous as well - we ate there 3 times! Other reviews indicated there was an issue with the hot water - just give it a few minutes, its get nice & hot!
This was our first visit to Sanibel and we would highly recommend Island Inn!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Island Inn and I’m so glad you had an enjoyable Sanibel Island experience. It sounds like the Inn’s unparalleled beach proximity, relaxed, old Florida atmosphere combined with our modern accommodations and amenities were a perfect match to your needs and expectations. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 4 nights at the Island Inn and stayed in the newly renovated Starky lodge. The room was clean, new with modern kitchen/bath, equipped with good A/C and ceiling fan and very comfortable beds. Nice screened in porch with table and chairs (try to get a room on the 2nd floor for best views).

The only draw back is the restaurant, it would be good if they were open for lunch and improved the Continental breakfast a bit.

Would recommend the Island Inn and would come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PoppyBoston1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. I am so glad you enjoyed your overall experience and we look forward to your return.

For prospective guests, our restaurant serves a Complimentary light Continental breakfast , which consists of fresh baked pastries, fresh cut fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt assortment, coffee, tea and fresh squeezed juices. Traditions on the Beach, our bar and lounge, is then open for dinner at 5 PM. Guests who book their accommodations directly with the Island Inn receive a 15% off discount for the restaurant.

Again, thank you for your review and patronage. I hope you will be able to return to Sanibel Island and the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Island Inn is unique -- The 10 acres of grounds, with buildings in a u shape with open area facing the water, and landscaping create a lovely setting. Units have screened porches so you can enjoy your spectacular water view! There is a large heated outdoor pool. Beach chairs are provided free to be used at the pool or on the beach. The dining room is lovely and we found guests and staff friendly and polite. They provide a nice breakfast buffet. We liked our dinner so much we could eat there every night. We love the apartment--though cozy, the unit was beautifully decorated and designed to included features for every comfort. The large walk in bathroom was very luxurious. The only thing missing was a dishwasher but for the amount of cooking we didn't miss it, We were thrilled to find this Inn last year and came again this year. After coming to Sanibel for 35 years, we hope we can keep coming back to the Island Inn for the next 35!.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your annual Sanibel Island visits. I’m glad our old Florida charm, world-class shelling and low density, combined with our modern accommodations and amenities were a good fit for your needs and expectations. We are proud to be your new Sanibel Island home and will look forward to your return next year! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

You'll note from the reviews for this hotel that the manager has an excuse for EVERYTHING that is wrong, even stating that they have nothing to do w/ the restaurant. That being said, I can tell you that we travel extensively & have stayed in fabulous places- this is by far, the worst hotel we've ever stayed in! We booked our room thru a travel site. When we arrived they informed us that we had reserved 2 rooms instead of one and that we'd be responsible for it. They also told us that normally, they would call the party if they noticed 2 rooms booked- they did not call us. The bldg. our room was in was having maintenance work done at the main doorway & they told us we'd have to go around the bldg. to get in. We had to carry all of our luggage THRU THE SAND to get to our room from the outside. Not cool. When my husband put the key into the door the entire lock mechanism broke off and fell on the floor. We had to wait in our room until they could find a locksmith to come from town & fix it. The room smelled horrible, and the floors were very dirty. That night while in bed the TV suddenly stopped working. The next day we had to wait in our room until a repairman could come to fix it. The 2nd nig/ht, while in bed the TV suddenly stopped working again- so, no TV the 2nd night either! We decided to call the desk to report it- SURPRISE! No one stays there overnight. We followed the prompts on the recording we reached instructing us to call the restaurant if any problems- we did- they too, were closed. We dialed the next phone # given us & ended up reaching a hotel employee at his home, on his personal cell phone-- no help that night. Ironically, the manager demanded to know how we got the employee's personal phone number, not believing that is was given to us on their own after hours phone recording! In the evening we wanted to go for a walk on the beach, but the hotel grounds are in total darkness- no illumination whatsoever- very scary and unsafe. They hang an American flag there, but not even it was illuminated, nor lowered for the night. The manager told us it was because of the nesting turtles, but when I pointed out that it wasn't turtle nesting season, then he blamed it on nesting birds! The restaurant was sickeningly dirty, with the filthiest carpet we've ever seen in an eating establishment- very poor breakfast selection. The hotel promotes this restaurant & provides a coupon for dinner. However, the fine print states that they charge a mandatory 18% tip, so any "savings" are meaningless. As they had told us that we'd be responsible for the 2nd room (that they maintained we booked) because they are "100% full & could never book that room this late" we decided to see if that was true. We never noticed a "no vacancy" sign illuminated, so on the first day, we called the hotel from our cell & asked if they had any rooms available for that evening we were told "oh, yes! they have 'several' beautiful rooms available". We called again the 2nd night and we were told the same. So.... when the manager again told us that they were 100% full we pointed out his LIE, then he stated "well, it's 90% filled". (that's not quite the same as 100%, is it?) Ultimately, we did not have to pay for the 2nd room, but are angry over their lies. Interestingly, we were never offered a key to "our 2nd room" the entire time we were there. Lastly, I informed the manager of the safety hazard in our room- the cord from the hairdryer mounted on the wall was so stretched out and long that it lays in the bottom of the sink- this manager was un phased. We'd recommend a stay in a tent on the beach before we'd recommend this place!

P.S. We are easy-to-please folks - this is the FIRST negative review we've ever left for a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and we are sorry your stay was not as expected. The staff and management at the Inn remember your experience in detail. We strongly urge prospective guests to book directly with the hotel. A mistake made by a 3rd party online travel agency may prove to be more than a guest can overcome, causing a disappointing vacation experience as a whole and leaving the hotel staff handcuffed as to the level of assistance it can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Island Inn was a wonderful find on the beautiful island of Sanibel. We were greeted in our room with an unexpected bottle of champagne to help celebrate our anniversary. Our suite was more than we expected: a full modern kitchen, screened in deck overlooking the beach, and large modern bathroom. The atmosphere and personality of the resort is laid-back and romantic. The staff was always helpful and friendly. We especially appreciated the large deck overlooking the beach available to all patrons, bike rentals on site, and the continental breakfast available every morning. The hotel restaurant, Traditions, was probably the best meal we had during our stay, and the staff was attentive and helpful. Enjoyed the entertainment Friday & Saturday night; dancing in the dining room added to the romantic atmosphere. We strongly recommend the Island Inn and plan to return again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotter428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Island Inn. I’m glad the Inn’s relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and unparalleled beach proximity were a good fit to your needs and expectations. We hope your travels home to NJ were safe and will look forward to your next visit soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,252 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,714 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing