We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing in Paradise”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Laurens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing in Paradise”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just spent a week on the Gulf coast of Florida for the first time. We could not have chosen a better location and hotel. The staff was very accommodating and friendly! The hotel was clean and comfortable. The outside looked like the Florida hotels we stayed in as small children but the inside was up to date and very comfortable! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: They have many typed of rooms to choose from including cottages. We stayed in a room with a king be...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very impressed that a recycle can was provided for our room.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamG121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your Sanibel vacation. I’m so glad our low density, relaxed, “old Florida” atmosphere, combined with our modern accommodations and amenities were a good fit to your needs and expectations. I hope your travels home were safe and that you are able to return to the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    354
    94
    39
    13
See reviews for
377
670
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place could be a gem but unfortunately the customer service, dumpy dining room, and oddly set up room ruined it for us. They have recently renovated some of the rooms and we had a full kitchen, which did not include a knife suitable for anything other than sectioning a grapefruit, a cutting board [if there had been a knife], or a broiling pan. When we went to the front desk to ask for a knife we were told to ask at the bar. When we asked there they told us that they were not in any way connected to the hotel and that the chef wasn't about to give us a knife. The next night they advertised a prime rib dinner and live band ... dinner served until 9:30pm. We showed up at 9 and the band was packed up and leaving and the dining room was empty. We ordered a couple of drinks at the bar and were told that they were closing so they gave us our drinks in plastic cups. We couldn't charge them to our room since they aren't part of the hotel. The waiters and bartender were talking about what parties they were going to and how much they hated working there. Great. What a pain in the butt. We were going to stay here for a week but moved on after 3 nights [wish we had moved on after 1]. We won't be back. This place was a huge disappointment. We wanted a taste of 'Old Sanibel', but this place has such an outdated attitude that they are in the cemetery. It's a shame because it is a stupendous location and could be a world-class property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cydney04106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Island Inn and I’m sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. As you can see from the hundreds of other reviews mentioning our staff’s guest services, this is certainly not the norm.

I am very sorry your room did not have all the proper utensils in it and, more importantly, the staff you brought this issue to did not respond in a helpful, positive manner. Be assured that this will be a topic at our next weekly staff meeting and please contact me directly if you have any further information you feel could enhance this learning opportunity.

As far as your comments concerning the restaurant, I will be sure to pass these onto restaurant ownership and address this in our weekly meeting, too.

Again, thank you for your patronage and I’m sorry you had a less then positive experience at the Island Inn. I hope your travels home to Mass were safe and you are able to visit Sanibel Island again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our family of 4 just spent three days here and wish we could have stayed longer. We had a room in "Starky" with 2 queens, pullout sofabed and full kitchenette. Lovely room, very comfortable and clean. Property is spacious and relaxing. Pullout bed was less than fabulous for sleeping, but son slept on couch with sheets vs sharing with sibling. Decent shelling, nice pool and other ammenities available as well. We would go back again and stay longer!

Room Tip: Didn't need a balcony room in summer. You are going back to your room to cool off, not sit outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyTravelLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m so glad our facilities, accommodations, amenities, guest services and location met your needs and expectations. I hope to see you at the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Terriffic vacation here the last week of June. Far away from the heavily populated tourist traps this is a low key, laid back relaxing cottage atmosphere. Its clean, with a great beach and the staff is very friendly. Also visited Marco Island, Miami Beach, and Key Largo. Sanibel wad my favorite. Only downer was that the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge main trail was closed until October, so now we have to go back :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romantictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your Sanibel Island stay and I’m so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn.

We hear quite often that Sanibel ends up being our guests’ favorite destination when visiting multiple locations in southern Florida.

We’re glad you choose Sanibel Island and the Island Inn as your return destination and I look forward to seeing you in October! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first time visiting Sanibel Island and fell in love with the area. The Inn reminded me of the quaint seashore inn with updated furnishing and decor plus it was extremely clean. The staff had very good customer service and were helpful. There is a restaurant Traditions located on the property which I highly recommend the service and food were excellent! complimentary Continental breakfast was good would have enjoyed toast or dry cereal but it still is nice to have . If you have a kitchen make sure to stock up at Baily's the local market for lunch and snacks because the Inn does not offer any food other than dinner at Traditions. This is low key and relaxing resort that is worth the visit. I know my husband and I will be back again.

Room Tip: The Kimble rooms (second floor) have a side view of the gulf with screened in deck which is perfect.
See more room tips
Green Features: windows had protective film reusable towels temperature control
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonfly094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Inn and that you plan on returning!

Since you mentioned stocking up on groceries at Bailey’s General Store, I want to let prospective guests know that Bailey’s will deliver groceries especially to Islands Inn guests so that they are placed in your accommodation upon arrival. This information is in our E-Concierge link, which guests who book directly through the Inn receive in their confirmation and reminder emails. A very convenient service provided exclusively for guests who book directly through the Inn!

Again, thank you for your patronage and comments. I hope your travels home to NJ were safe and will look forward to seeing you on Sanibel Island again soon! 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Island Inn has an amazing location on the island with a very nice private beach that was better than most of the other public beaches we had visited elsewhere on the island. The staff was extremely hospitable, the room was very clean, and the complimentary breakfast was nice as well. During our stay, we even were lucky to see baby sea turtles hatching right there on the beach! We would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Matthews lodge, and the second floor has a better view of the beach. After booking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERock2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for writing a review of you experience. How wonderful it is that you were able to witness the baby sea turtles making their madden voyage into the Gulf!

You room tip brings up a good point. Make sure to call the Inn directly to book your accommodations. This way, our knowledgeable and friendly staff can help ensure your accommodation selection fits your needs and expectations.

Thank you again for your stay. I hope to see you at the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just loved it at this motel. Very clean - stayed on the first floor, enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning - the woman at the breakfast counter was just wonderful. Very helpful people at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igdi11m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay and comments concerning your recent Sanibel Island vacation at the Island Inn. I’m so glad you enjoyed your time and hope you can make it back soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing