We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Island Inn has an amazing location on the island with a very nice private beach that was better than most of the other public beaches we had visited elsewhere on the island. The staff was extremely hospitable, the room was very clean, and the complimentary breakfast was nice as well. During our stay, we even were lucky to see baby sea turtles hatching right there on the beach! We would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Matthews lodge, and the second floor has a better view of the beach. After booking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERock2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for writing a review of you experience. How wonderful it is that you were able to witness the baby sea turtles making their madden voyage into the Gulf!

You room tip brings up a good point. Make sure to call the Inn directly to book your accommodations. This way, our knowledgeable and friendly staff can help ensure your accommodation selection fits your needs and expectations.

Thank you again for your stay. I hope to see you at the Island Inn again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just loved it at this motel. Very clean - stayed on the first floor, enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning - the woman at the breakfast counter was just wonderful. Very helpful people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igdi11m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your stay and comments concerning your recent Sanibel Island vacation at the Island Inn. I’m so glad you enjoyed your time and hope you can make it back soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Sanibel Island, and we felt like we found the perfect place to spend our few days. The beach-side location and amenities (complimentary breakfast, kitchen, pool, low-cost bike rentals on-site) gave us great value for money. If you're looking for modern and luxurious, this isn't the place for you; if you're looking for value and comfort, I'd recommend it.

The property has retro charm--old photos and seashells everywhere, Sinatra playing in the dining room, soft pink and green decor, friendly staff who call you "ma'am." We stayed in Starky, one of several two-storey buildings on the property, and were lucky to get a room on the top level with views over the beach and ocean. Wonderful way to wake up. Our suite had everything we needed, including beach chairs and a kitchen, so we enjoyed the breakfast provided (fresh pastries and cookies, which were delicious, if not exactly healthy) and ate lunch and dinner in our suite (the grocery store is minutes away).

Being right on the beach was ideal: we spent every day either on the beach, in the pool or riding our bikes about the island. The beach itself is unique: piles and piles of gorgeous seashells. Go for walk to the north: you'll find different varieties of shells in different locations. We noticed that many people at the Island Inn were returning guests, and we can see why.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchen and a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozvickijc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and I’m so glad our “old Florida”, low density and southern hospitality, combined with our updated accommodations, amenities and unparalleled beach proximtiy were a good fit to your needs and expectations. I hope your travels home to Canada were safe and you are able to return to the Island Inn again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Island Inn for our 25 wedding Anniversay. We stayed at the Spoonbill Cottage. We requested the south side, but our luck we got the north side. There is a difference. The south side has a view of the ocean, the north side is very close to the Matthews cottage and at night you can see them inside! So I'm sure they could see us as well. But we still has a wonder view of the ocean. Cottage was very clean, and we love the old Florida charm. It was a wonderful Anniversary! Thank you Island Inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thursia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Island Inn to celebrate such a special occasion. I’m so glad you enjoyed your time and accommodations at the Inn and hope you will be able to return for your next special celebration! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were counting up our visits to the Island Inn, 8 times over the years. The inn has moved on over the years but it still holds he same appeal. The Gulf is still at the propertys edge and the weather is hot. It would be nice if they would fit shaving mirrors. Traditions mixes a good rum runner. Come to the Inn sit back and relax. (I know theres no fitness room)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for being such a loyal guest of the Inn and part of the Island Inn family. Thank you also for your suggestions. We continue to reinvest in our facilities, accommodations, amenities and guest services, using valued feedback from return patrons, such as yourself. I hope your travels home were safe and we will be anticipating your next arrival! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying here and we are never disappointed. We stayed here from June 23 to the 27th, we had some serious health issues happen for my husband and had to cancel our vacation we had scheduled at the Island Inn in May. When I called to cancel the girl I talked to was very understanding and helped me pick another time and thankfully this one worked out and we had such a nice time and everyone was so nice and helpful. It was a very much needed few days to unwind and relax. I can't say enough about how great the staff is and how nice and clean the rooms are. We always stay in the Kimball on the 2nd floor and they have a nice large sun deck and we would go there at night when the sun was going down and just sit and talk and relax. We seen an osprey every night with a fish he had caught what a treat that was they are so beautiful. It is such a nice place to be. We were disappointed that the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge was closed due to repaving the road because we love this place but understand these things are needed so we are going back down in October when it opens back up and of course we will stay at Island Inn. You will not be disappointed if you pick this great Inn.
Thank you very much

Room Tip: We are always on the 2nd floor and like these very much but I didn't like the room we had with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Island Inn as your return accommodation option on Sanibel Island. I’m so glad we continue to earn your business and staff adds value to your stay. We can’t wait to see you again in October! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is located on the coast of Paradise! The carpets need to be updated and a fresh coat of paint would do wonders. The office CLOSES very early, so put requests for extra towels in early. The dining at the facility is nice (Polo shirt and khaki), but I recommend heading to the Island Cow for lunch or dinner and hitting Pinnochio's Ice Cream for islander favorites. I would and likely will return, placing my request for extra towels at check in! Perfect for shelling and beach lovers, though!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and sharing a review of your experience. To clarify for prospective guests, our front desk hours of operation are Sunday – Thursday 8 am to 7 pm and Friday – Saturday 8 am to 8 pm. Extra towels can be requested and delivered at anytime during these hours and guests can also ask their housekeeper for additional towels/linens during their complimentary daily maid service visit.

Again, thank you for your stay and comments. I hope your drive back to Orlando was safe and you are able to visit the Island Inn again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,501 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#4 of 20 in Sanibel Island
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,016 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 20 in Sanibel Island
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $194 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing