We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT GETAWAY”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I live in Fort Myers Fl., over the years I have stayed at various resorts on Sanibel Island. This time I booked a guest room at the Island Inn, when I arrived I had been upgraded to a Gulfview Deluxe Suite (WOW!!! What a View) The beautuful spacious beach, friendly staff at front desk, great hot buffet breakfast and a delicious dinner at Traditions made the ISLAND INN my perfect getaway....see you all again!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thank you so much for leaving us your review and we take your comments as a great compliment. The fact that a local Southwest Floridian, such as you, would choose our resort over the others is something we are very proud of. I’m also glad you had such a nice experience at Traditions on the Beach, our onsite restaurant, bar and lounge. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope you find the time to make another trip across the Sanibel Causeway very soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

Just returned from on of the most relaxing vacations I can remember. The Inn was situated on a beach front property as we expected and nicely maintained. It is an older property, but the room was updated and very clean. LOVED the huge walk in shower! The morning breakfast buffet was included in our stay and we were very pleasantly surpised that it was a "real" buffet with hot foods and made to order omelets! We had an outstanding dining experience at Traditions Reaturant right on the property. The rooms were cleaned promptly in the morning, the staff was VERY helpful. The pool was well maintained and there were plenty of chaise lounge chairs around the property to use and the pool or beach at no extra charge! Very quiet and relaxing.....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyRN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Thank you for leaving such a nice review and we are so glad you had such a relaxing stay. You brought up some good points that separate us from other beachfront resorts.

We try to include all expenses you will incur in your room rate, such as breakfast, lounge chairs, wireless Internet, etc. Other resorts will charge for these amenities, along with “parking” and “resort” fees… nickel and dimming our guests just doesn’t seem right.

Another aspect you mentioned is our clean and updated rooms. We continually strive to provide clean, modest amenities in a historic, old Florida, beachfront setting.

Our guest services are another way we separate ourselves from the competition. Our staff loves the Island Inn, Sanibel and the island lifestyle. Ensuring our guests experience all that these have to offer while meeting their expectations is what makes our jobs rewarding.

You mentioned how quiet and relaxing your stay was. This is mainly attributed to our extremely low density. With 10 Gulf front acres and a 550 ft private beach, but only 49 accommodations, a peaceful relaxing stay is all but guaranteed.

You also shared your positive dining experience at Traditions on the Beach, our onsite restaurant, bar and lounge. Being one of the islands only Gulf view dining venues while providing world-class food and beverage services may be why Tripadvisor has ranked the restaurant #1 on Sanibel and Captiva.

Thank you again for leaving a recount of your Island Inn experience and we will look forward to your return! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Our family spent several days at the Island Inn and like most places, it had its plusses and minuses.On the positive side, the property is expansive and the laissez faire atmosphere is a welcome change from some resorts that post ubiquitous signs telling visitors what they can't do and requiring them sign out towels and equipment that must be returned at a certain time. The buffet breakfasts included in the price offered a wide choice of foods and custom made omelettes.
On the negative side, the rooms could have been cleaner. The tile in the bathroom was dirty and chipped, and even after the housekeeper had "cleaned" it, the floor still had grime and small pieces of trash on it. The carpet was dirty and stained. I am not sure what purpose of the plastic cups under the legs of the beds and sofa served, but I know that in some cities those are used to deter bedbugs. (I saw no evidence of bedbugs).
The servers at breakfast were slow to bring desired beverages etc. and sometimes forgot the order altogether.
I know this inn is the oldest on the island and is currently being updated. I hope they keep the charm but address some of the problems mentioned above.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmart_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for leaving your review of the Island Inn. Your review of the property echoes the focus new management has undertaken…. balancing the Inn’s old Florida atmosphere, attitude and charm while modernizing its accommodations. The shortcomings you mentioned are being addressed in management’s 3-year plan, which includes replacement of all outdated flooring throughout the property. We are currently in our 10th month of this plan and are making great strides towards modernizing Sanibel’s most historic and established Inn.

Your comments concerning the cups underneath the legs of the beds and sofas are also correct. We have NEVER had any instance of bed bugs and our tireless efforts and preventative approach make us the most proactive hotel on the island. These cups, although unattractive, are part of our preventative plan, which includes the daily washing of all bedspreads (most hotels do not do this).

Addressing your restaurant comments, the service of breakfast is being fine-tuned and I will make sure to personally address your issues with restaurant management.

Thank you again for leaving your comments... reviews like yours reinforce managements plans and gives us confidence that we are on the right path. It sounds like you generally had a nice stay and enjoyed the property. If you do plan a return trip, contact the Inn directly and we will be able to recommend one of our accommodations that have been more recently updated. I believe this may make your next stay that much more enjoyable. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed in Room 228 in the Starky complex.
The view of the beach was phenomenal, the price was more than reasonable, the staff was friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful (especially you, Marguerite!), and I just couldn't have asked for anything better. I've never stayed in a room with a kitchen before. It's got all the amenities you could ask for, yet it's not at all pretentious.

Truly the closest I've ever been to paradise.

--

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamper3132011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Island Inn. Our Gulfview Studio units in Starky Lodge have all the accommodations needed for a family’s beachfront vacation; 2 double beds, a double pullout sofa, full kitchens, wifi, flat screen TV’s and DVD/CD players... not to mention, they are our most affordable accommodations.

Thank you so much for mentioning Marguerite and the rest of our staff. We try to go above and beyond for all our visitors and feel our guest services are one aspect that separates the Island Inn from the rest of the accommodations on Sanibel/Captiva.

Than you again for your review and we are so glad you found our Inn on Sanibel. We will be anticipating your next visit to paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a place to relax and get some sun. We sure found it at the Island Inn on Sanibel Island. The rooms were very clean and the bed was perfect for a very restful sleep. The employees were very nice and helpful. We really enjoyed the sea shell hunt, the shore was loaded with many wonderful finds. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marybb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

Thank you for leaving such a nice review and it sounds like our Inn fit your needs perfectly. We also appreciate your comments concerning the clean rooms and helpful staff… it is a priority to provide both to each and every one of our guests. I’m glad you had a successful shell hunt… most say our beach is the best shelling grounds in all of Sanibel. We hope you return soon and will look forward to hosting you next seashell hunt! J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in Sanibel island, we have stayed other places in Florida, but Sanibel is where we will come back.

We loved the Island Inn, and definitely will be back. We stayed in the Starky Lodge for a week. The room was not renovated, but was clean and very roomy, we had a beautiful view of the grounds and gulf.

We ended up getting bumped for two more days (poor us) and I called the Island Inn to see if they could accommodate us and they made quick arrangments for another room, because our old room was going to be booked. They moved us to the Matthews Lodge, which was renovated and had a beautiful balcony over looking the Gulf.

The grounds are very simple, but remind you of old Florida. The breakfast buffet was very good. We are already thinging about next year, we will definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southshoreWesternNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

Thank you very much for leaving such a well-written review. The staff at the Island Inn remembers you and shared in your disappointment (cheer) when your flight was delayed. We appreciate your recognition of the Inn providing clean, modern amenities in a historic, old Florida setting. The staff at the Inn strives to attain this goal and when guests appreciate this type of accommodation it truly makes our job rewarding. We are so glad you found us and will be anticipating your next visit. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

For my daughter's 16th birthday I booked a trip to Sanibel for her and her friend. The three of us ended up in a kitchen suite in the kimball building, and we were very comfortable. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was great, and the overall atmosphere was exactly what I was looking for. Clean, beachy, and so quiet. I expect to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hearmyelfthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review. The Inn remembers you and the pleasure of having you as our guests was truly ours. We are glad you were able to find our clean, calm, beachfront resort so conducive to your family's needs. We will look forward to your return and, until then, wish you and your family all the best. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,387 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,883 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $163 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing