We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sleeper on Sanibel”
Review of Il Cielo

Il Cielo
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Cielo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $46
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Periwinkle
Description: Warm and Inviting dining areas with a separate bar/lounge. Piano music Tuesday through Sunday from 7:00pm evenings. Daily Happy Hour from 4:30-6:00pm in the Lounge.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A sleeper on Sanibel”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We have dined here many times but last year they changed management and what an improvement. We prefer to dine on the small porch as they have it decorated so one does not see the parking. The food and presentation are both superb. salads are definitely large enough to split. My favorite dinner is the small lamb chop serving of 2 chops for 22.00. The pork chop is large. The fish is delicious ,esp if it's local. Wait staff are knowledgable and pleasant. We have also attended private events here and they have done an excellent job.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    142
    53
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yes, Yes, Yes!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

great food, yes...great service, yes....great ambiance, yes!
Beautifully prepared and presented,great combinations of flavors. Great drink menu and wines.
We are going back for a second meal this week!
The fixed price menu selections were excellent and bountiful, a real value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derby178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Fixed Price Menu Is A Wonderful Value”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've been coming to Sanibel the same two weeks late April for over 35 years. This was our first visit to Il Cielo and found it because of TripAdvisor. Simply an outstanding restaurant. We went for the fixed price menu. I had meatballs as my appetizer, wonderful mushroom soup, and the fish of the day as my entree. Fixed price is $38 and includes these plus two glasses of wine. Topped it off with the key lime desert. John was our waiter and did an exemplary job. The chef came out to check on the quality of the meal. We will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlsonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but not special”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited with a family of four. Friendly service and not too busy. Food was good but nothing special. To be in Sanibel not really worth tje price.

Helpful?
Thank Christer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice place, but don't expect the unexpected...”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

There is nothing wrong with Il Cielo at all, but then again it doesn't present itself as very original...or for that matter, very SW Florida-Sanibel Island-like. It's large with high ceilings and a somewhat nondescript interpretation of "office-Italian" that I assume means to be elegant, but felt like a Brio's at a mall. Our waiter was a nice young guy with all the right intentions, very polite, and trying very hard. We learned he was new to Sanibel which means new to Il Cielo - not a problem, but his knowledge of the menu and preparations needed a little honing. Our salads were fine, but we were disappointed in the freshness, or lack of, with the Heirloom Caprese and Local Artisan Greens. For our entrees we ordered the Seared Tuna and Lamb Ribs. The tuna was supposed to be Asian-inspired, but truthfully it seemed flat...again, that freshness thing. My wife had the Lamb Ribs and they were flavorful but quite dry and the sweet potato fries mushy. We love Sanibel and Captiva, but there are many more interesting restaurants where you'll get the unexpected and be pleasantly surprised...not here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cielo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Il Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing