We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in all respects”
Review of Il Cielo

Il Cielo
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Cielo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $46
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Periwinkle
Description: Warm and Inviting dining areas with a separate bar/lounge. Piano music Tuesday through Sunday from 7:00pm evenings. Daily Happy Hour from 4:30-6:00pm in the Lounge.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class in all respects”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I am a Sanibel year-round resident have sampled almost every restaurant on the island. But I had been deterred from dining at Il Cielo becuase of reports of high prices and spotty service. My experience last night dispelled all of that. The food was excellent as was the service. The prices are in line with Sanibel Steakhouse (another of my favorites) and less than the Mad Hatter.

Our visit was a celebration of my wife's bithday. I had the veal scollopini and an appetizer of calimari, which I shared. My wife had linguine ai frutti di mare. Both were tasty and well prepared with excellent presentation. For desert my wife had creme brullee which I sampled. The ambiance of the restaurant is outstanding. And the bill (prior to tip) was under $100, which included a glass of wine for each or us.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkyfromSanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco C, Executive Chef at Il Cielo, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank You so much for your review. We are glad that you came in to give us a chance regardless of what you've heard "on the grapevine"! I am also glad to have surpassed your expectations and been able to make your wife's birthday that much more memorable this year. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    143
    54
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband is Italian by heritage, so we are very picky about Italian restaurants. Well, Il Cielo doesn't disappoint in the least! The decor is beautiful but understated (dark wood, beautiful moldings, gorgeous window treatments). The service and food quality are really what make this restaurant a standout. Every person we encountered was warm, welcoming, and made us feel appreciated and fussed over (exactly what I'd expect at a restaurant of this caliber). We brought our own bottle of wine because it had sentimental value (it was the red we served at our wedding last week) and for a corkage fee we were able to enjoy it with our meal. When the staff found out we were on our honeymoon, they were so excited and even the servers that were waiting other tables came by to congratulate us on our marriage. Now, as for the food... a gastronomical paradise! My husband got the special, a seafood ravioli, and I had the agnolotti di prosciutto (prosciutto and escarole stuffed pasta), and both were absolutely amazing. We each tried a bite of the others' and couldn't decide which we liked better! For dessert I had the strawberry and vanilla gelato, and my husband had the pistachio creme brûlée, and that was outstanding as well. Overall, I'd highly recommend this restaurant for any romantic meal or special occasion. It's a great excuse to break out the fancy clothes and have an unforgettable meal!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HamCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow - exquisite!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you want a first class meal, come here. Appropriate clothing is probably recommended (collared shirts for men, dresses/similar for ladies). The decoration inside is incredible - lots of dark-stained wood with a attractive-looking bar area. The staff were all very professional. The food tasted very good. The desserts are good. You will spend quite a bit for this (we spent $125 for two with wine), but if you want a high class experience while you are on Sanibel, this is the place.

There were outdoor tables set up as well when we left...those looked very inviting and romantic.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeeves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Much Improved”
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This new restaurant is very much improved over its predecessors and, while expensive, is good value, all considered ... Recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank jhanlonsanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Il Cielo”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a lovely restaurant - great food and service. We had our best meal in Sanibel here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s51usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cielo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Il Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing