We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!”

Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Botanical Gardens of Sanibel Moorings Resort are overflowing with 6 acres of mature and unusual tropical flora and fauna. A must see for plant lovers and Garden Clubs! Guided 90 minute tours every Wednesday at 9am,reservations required. Check in at the office after parking in a GUEST parking space.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here so this was part of where we were for 5 days! Gorgeously maintained and such a wonderful variety of plants nad flowers!

1  Thank Terrenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you Terrenski, gorgeous is a word that we like to hear with our gardens. So glad you enjoyed staying with us - come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a great property, with such an assortment of tropical specimens. The staff has managed to bring together an array of beautiful landscape plants that are a pleasure to stroll through AND benefit the wildlife who are lucky enough to make this place home. The design of the landscape is a prime example of how to do things right. We took the tour lead by the head gardener, Anita Force Marshall, but there are self guided tours available too.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Wow, Jamie B we love your pictures! Thank you for your compliments and thoughtful review. Dont be a stranger - hope to see you in the gardens again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Absolutely excellent. 2 hour walk. Beautiful gardens. Very fun and informative. Priced right at $5 a person. The head gardener knows her stuff and you can tell she loves it.

1  Thank Lizbeth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Excellent is a word we love to hear! Thank you Lizbeth123 for your fabulous review, hope to see you soon in our gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you have an opportunity to visit the Botanical Garden at Sanibel Moorings, do so. The resort is open to the public on Wednesdays for $5.00 for the tour. It was a beautiful day, the grounds are beautiful and Anita our tour guide is very informative and very passionate about the gardens. You can tell she truly loves what she does.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank BordnerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you BordnerC for your kind words and great review. We are so happy to have given you a beautiful day-see you soon again in the gardens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Yesterday I toured the beautiful and peaceful gardens that surround the Sanibel Moorings Resort on Sanibel Island. It was quite a learning experience and a beautiful one at that. The variety of plants and trees is outstanding--and many were in bloom.
If you can stay at Sanibel Moorings, you will find it exceptional. But if you can only go for the gardens, it is a very worthwhile experience.
Patricia Myers

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank shellhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitabutterfly, Head Gardener at Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you shellhouse for your wonderful review. We are so glad that your visit with us was a great memory and a learning experience. Hope to see you again real soon in our gardens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing