We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal setting for Families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loggerhead Cay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loggerhead Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal setting for Families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

On our previous visit to Sanibel Island, my husband and then 5 year old son stayed at the Sunset Resort (which we loved). After seriously considering returning to the resort, we chose a condo rental option instead, based on the idea of wanting extra space with our now 7 year old and 1 year old sons. We were extremely happy with our decision, which offered us all the amenities of a hotel, but with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen , a screened in deck and a nice sized living room area. Loggerhead Cay features a large, heated pool, tennis courts, shuffle board, well-cared for grounds and is located directly on the beach. I LOVED falling asleep to the sound of the waves and being met with an amazing view of the gulf in the morning. True, no one is coming in to make your bed for you, but when you consider how much a large hotel suite would cost compared to a condo rental....I was more than happy to make my own bed. They supplied us with everything we needed (the rentals are professionally managed) and the rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. One caveat: Some of the condos have not been updated, while others have been completely redone. Ours looked brand new, while we heard from other guests that theirs looked several decades old. Also, there are numerous buildings and some are set further away from the water than others. Ours was the closest to the gulf, which we knew ahead of time. When looking for these rentals, be sure to view the photos presented online of each condo. Some units also allow pets, ours did not and ditto on the smoking. Our unit looked exactly like the photos on the Trip Advisor and VIP rental agency sites.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    33
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
StPaul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

we were a bit leary about renting this unit as we were told there had just been work done to it, but who ever handled this renovation knew what they were doing. Previous reviews hinted that work should be done, and i guess the management listened!! This place is a beauty and we plan to return. Close to the beach and especially the pool. Our own parking spot and convenient to everything on Sanibel. I would recommend it to anyone! Everything is new!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dvpmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Loggerhead Cay 132 is nicely decorated, clean and has an incredible view of the beach and gulf. We loved being just steps from the beach and all of the beach toys and chairs that were provided to us by the owners. The owners were easy to work with, we contacted them through vrbo.com. The complex is very nicely maintained and it was very easy to get to restaurants on the island from here. With 3 children, it was great having 3 beds in the 2nd bedroom so nobody had to sleep on the couch.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sanibelbeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were referred to this condo by friends who have stayed. They highly recommended it (they are a retired couple who winter in Florida) and now we understand why. It is a perfectly maintained and well decorated condo with all the things we needed it to make it a perfect family vacation. It even has sand toys, beach umbrella and chairs, games, books, washer and dryer, everything we had at home. Loggerhead is on the beach, no having to cross a street or a bridge to get to the beach. Loved it!! Will return!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandvisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We are currently staying at Loggerhead Cay unit 183. We rented from vrbo.com and the owners could not have been nicer to deal with. Loggerhead Cay is a great location on the beach, not across the street but actually on the beach. The pool is very clean and the beach is perfect for swimming, no bad currents. The condo itself is very nice, clean and well stocked. There are even pool and beach supplies and chairs to use while you are here. The bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable. It is a short drive to Jerry's grocery or most all dining establishments and shopping. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wckate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at Loggerhead Cay 264 over the July 4th weekend. Everything about the condo--its location, cleanliness and value were second to none. The two bedroom top floor unit was spotless and every amenity you could think of was included. A beautiful screened in porch allowed us to sit out at night and the pool and ocean were just a few steps away. Two large gas grills allowed us to cook out and the tennis courts were perfect. Managed by VIP Rentals, the condo felt like home the minute we arrived. I highly recommend it and look forward to returning. Mike S.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sizzlecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Updated 2 bedroom 2 bath condo was perfect for this family of 4. We had a great view of the gulf and the unit also overlooks the pool so we could watch the kids swim from the lanai. Shuffleboard, tennis, BBQ grills. Tons of fun! The beach is beautiful. We collected enough shells to fill 2 buckets. And a full kitchen made feeding the family a pleasure. I would definitely return to unit 214! We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meryltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loggerhead Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loggerhead Cay

Property: Loggerhead Cay
Address: 979 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6929
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 168
Also Known As:
Loggerhead Cay Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing