We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Loggerhead Cay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loggerhead Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We booked unit 264 through VIP Vacation Rentals and everything was fantastic. The Condo was spacious and clean. Loggerhead Cay is a very nice complex with an excellent beach and pool as well as nice BBQ facilities. Loggerhead Cay is a great place to stay with the family.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbchamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2009

Loggerhead Cay 122 was clean, nicely decorated and gulf-front! The lanai is hard to beat with a full view of the gulf of mexico. We watched dolphins feeding right from the lanai. The sunsets on Captiva were breathtaking. The shelling is unbelievable and you better bring extra suitcases if you are a shell-collector. The restaurants were great and casual and reasonable - The Island Cow, the Captiva Cantina, the Mucky Duck, the Hungry Heron are some of the few you should visit. J Ding Darling Wildlife Reserve is beautiful and a must see. The Shell Museum is something all of you avid shell collectors must experience. You can walk on the beach forever at Sanibel. I would highly recommend you staying at Loggerhead Cay 122! It is roomy, the beds are extremely comfortable, the bathrooms are nicely done with a roomy tile shower and you have great privacy with a split floor plan on the bedrooms. There is internet access,cable TV, VCR, stereo, wonderful new appliances and all the comforts of home at a wonderful island retreat. The lanai is priceless! There is nothing like the peace and wildlife and shells on Sanibel Island!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshineshellseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

My brother and I brought our families to Loggerhead Cay for a beach vacation and had a blast. The complex is almost exactly 20 miles from Ft. Myers airport and easy to get to - straight across from the stop sign when you hit the island. That let us miss the traffic on Periwinkle. We were glad for that, especially on Friday and Sat when that main drag was a crawl.
We rented both units together through VIP Vacation Rentals and their people were very helpful. We got a nice break renting both units together. They gave us tips on where to go and will help you print out your boarding passes if you want.
Unit 122 has a great full beach view and 572 has both an angled beach and nearby pool view so it was easy for us adults to keep a close eye on the kids in the pool. The condos are nicely decorated and steps to the beach and the pool.
We had a challenge getting tennis time til we figured out the sign-up sheet - if you like to play watch for when it's posted. We tried our hand at surf-casting and the kids had a blast and caught some pretty good-sized fish. Get bait at the grocery store at the main intersection before you head out to Captiva.
The beach goes for miles in each direction and we enjoyed our morning runs. You can go forever if you want. We rented four bikes (2 adult + 2 kids) for the ten of us. It worked out pretty well. The kids wanted us to rent a couple more kid bikes, but we wanted to keep an eye on them. We ended up keeping them busy most of the time.
Each condo has a kitchen with all the appliances and utensils you can use. We were told to shop at a grocery store off-island on our way from the airport, and that was good advice. We got stuff for snacks, breakfasts and lunch and ate out most nights. But we had a fine two-family dinner on the lanai in Unit 122 overlooking the water. The Dads & helpers grilled steaks on the outdoor grills and the Moms & other helpers set up stuff indoors.
For eating out, we all loved the Island Cow but when the island is busy, consider going early. There are a ton of other nice places. The adults liked the Timbers, the kids prefered DQ, which is close by. We found a neat breakfast place for the adults on Periwinkle down toward the lighthouse.
We biked all over, sat on the beach, splashed in the pool, rented kayaks one day, spent an afternoon up at Captiva, and had our own kite fight. There's a ton to do.
Oh, and check out the Sanibel Fitness Center. It's open to the public and you can get a family pass. VERY reasonable. We discovered it on Friday, but I would have gone every day had I known about it. It's after the school on the main drag out to Captiva. It's great for the fitness nut who wants to lift and get in some cardio. There's some awsome pools there too.
The adults took advantage of having the cousins alternate sleep-overs. It was their idea, but it was great to have a couple nights alone and sleep a little later.
We hope to make this a family tradition. Loggerhead is a great fun, family place and Sanibel is such a wonderful, unspoiled island. Next time I want to explore the Darling nature center and will bring my golf clubs. There are a couple courses on the island and I'm told there's another close by just off island.
The Moms and girls found got into the shopping at the shops on Periwinkle. Some of them had some nice deals, 0r so I was told. There are also plays and other live entertainment - just a ton of stuff going on that the kids were not too hot on, but something the adults will explore in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed in Unit 101 for the past week, 20 steps to the sand. The unit was completely fresh and updated, well appointed, and large. There were plenty of towels, supplied kitchen, and beach chairs and umbrellas. The first bedroom had twin bedrooms and a full bath, the second a king bed and full bath, there were three TVs. Sliders went to the lanai from the master suite and the living room. Our son could play on the lawn right in front and go off to the sand just steps away. The heated pool is great and there are restrooms at the pool. There is tennis and shuffleboard as well. We saw a number of kids there, no noise though. Ellington's restaurant is two doors down with great food and jazz. Everything we needed, no noise, no traffic. At $1900 for the week not inexpensive, but I will do it again next year with certainty. Upper units or one farther back wouldn't be the same.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CapeCodRealtor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary on Sanibel Isl. We stayed at the Loggerhead Cay in rm. 502. It was absolutely perfect. We were about 100 ft from the Gulf, with a great view in our living room, or our wonderful screened in porch. It was immaculate, in fact the cleanest place we have ever stayed. Very comfortable. It was quiet and private. It was very hard to leave there, and had a little cultural shock coming home to Louisiana!! We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MermaidPineville_La_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We have stayed at many condos in Sanibel and this was the best by far. Loggerhead Cay is a beautifully maintained complex near the causeway with a beautiful beach, tennis courts a large pool and barbeque where we could cook our own steaks. We stayed at #472, the owners live locally and keep their condo immaculately, as advertised. If you want a great vacation check this one out. We are returning!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lauriann8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I love this place, myself and my family have been staying at loggerhead since 1994 and keep coming back for more. I went back for the 1st time in June 2008 since June 2001 and this time took my partner. We went to celebrate my mums 50th and had a fab time. The thing that makes this place special is its location to the beach and the people you meet.
The grounds are immaculate and the apartments are all to a very high standard. re 2 of my favorites.
We have met some life long friends over the years including the Smiths from Chicago, Washam's from Ohio and Sass's from Wisconsin to name but few who we keep in touch with. The only problem with this place is it took nearly a full day to get there. We went from Nottingham, to London Heathrow, then 8 hours to Miami, then 3 hours to Sanibel in all it took us from 5am Sat morning until 7pm Sat night US time (midni
There are lots of places to eat out ( i think we ate in 3 times 1 of them we had pizza delivered) and they are value for money. The Island cow and Lazy flamingo aght uk Time) to get there and the same on the way home. if you want paradise this is your place but if you are from the UK you have to travel a long way to find it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Samiantha81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,433 reviews
3.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kona Kai Motel
Kona Kai Motel
#7 of 45 in Sanibel Island
395 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loggerhead Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loggerhead Cay

Address: 979 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6929
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $244 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loggerhead Cay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Loggerhead Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loggerhead Cay Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing