We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable!”
Review of Loggerhead Cay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loggerhead Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable!”
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My family of 5 recently stayed one week at Loggerhead Cay - Unit 321. We enjoyed the unit very much. The owner has decorated it in a very delightful way. There are also a lot of beach supplies, books to read, and movies to watch - a lot of personal touches in this particular unit. It very much felt like staying in a friend's condo. There was quite a bit of landscaping being done to beautify the grounds while were there. The establishment was being maintained quite well. It was a great location on the beach. The waves were a bit calmer there than at other pubic beaches on the island which was great for swimming and playing, especially for my 4 year old. The large pool on the premises was also a great feature. We booked the unit through VIP Vacation Rentals and everything went very smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jrtlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    37
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
88
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We (me, my husband and 6 yr old son) stayed here the first week of May 08. We choose our unit (321)through vrbo. We opted to save some money and stayed at the back of the complex, which turned out to be a good decision. The beach wasn't really that far away and we were happy to be away from the pool since it can get loud at times. Our unit was clean and well furnished. The bathrooms needed updating but they functioned fine. Our unit included games, DVD's and books for all ages. It also included beach chairs, boogie boards, sand toys, water toys, shelling nets, beach umbrella, and handy cart to carry it all to the beach. The owners left nothing out!!! It was great. The kitchen was well outfitted as well. The common areas of the complex are very well maintained. The pool is quite large and of course, the beach is gorgeous with wonderfully soft sand and millions of shells. We would stay in this unit again, mostly because of all the extras included by the owners. We were on the ground floor which was very nice when returning from the beach. We just went through the lanai and left all the sand in there!

  • Liked — extras included by owners
  • Disliked — outdated bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jetskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I stayed for a week at Loggerhead Cay with my family at the end of April. The second floor condo we were in was about 100 yards from the surf. Great location - the beach was never crowded (partly because of the time of year, I'm sure), and the weather was terrific.

This property is very well kept - the grass was perfectly cut and everything was very clean. Each condo would be different depending upon the owner, but ours was well decorated, clean, and roomy.

If I travel to Sanibel again, this complex will be my first choice for accommodations.

  • Liked — The Beach
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank omahaH2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Returned for spring break. Had a wonderful time. We had a later spring break than in years past so the crowd was gone. The weather was great. This property has the most beautiful grounds I've ever seen in a condo and not resort hotel community. Our unit (#584) was in building 5 (1 & 5 are closest to the Gulf but only a few units in each bldg are Gulf front). Be warey of Gulf view description. The bldgs are in a "U" shape so unless you are at the good ends of bldgs 1 and 5 you are out of luck w/gulf view. The courtyard area, tennis courts, grill areas are perfectly manicured. There is a fantastic trash chute in each building so you don't have to go to far to take out the trash. Our unit was recently renovated/sold and was in great condition. We had a pet friendly unit as well. Lots of families and regular people were there. We stayed in Ocean's Reach last year and would only return there over Loggerhead for the view.

We went to McCarthy's Marina in Captiva and took the 3-hour shelling tour to Cayo Costa St. Park. It was fantastic. We saw manatees at the marina and would repeat this excursion as well as add others.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lake_Norman_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Space Coast, FL
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Rented a unit in Bldg #5 ( closest to the beach) through VRBO.
The unit itself was clean and updated.
I was on a "get away" from everybody vacation, so when I was woke up at all hours by babies screaming and dogs barking I was a little disappointed. The condo walls are not very thick.
The grounds at Loggerhead Cay are beautiful and well kept. I did not check out the pool, becuase it was full of screaming young children from 8 am to 9pm (even during the usual afternoon lightening storms). All units surround the pool, so if you are looking for peace and quiet - this is not the place to stay.
The condo association was replacing front door on several units during my stay, so I felt like I was in a contruction zone, When I complained to the management - they assured me the work would stop at 5pm ( which it did).
Loggerhead Cay is close to dining establishments and shopping on the east end of the island.
This would have been a great family destination. Next time I stay on the island I will look for someplace less pet/child friendly.

  • Liked — Location it was close to everything. The unit I stayed in was extremely clean.
  • Disliked — Screaming children in the courtyard, dog feces in the common areas, and construction work.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 020210b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Just returned from a week at Loggerhead Cay! Oh, my! When we walked in the door my breath was taken away by the view. We had a large picture window looking onto the gulf, a mirrored wall that reflected what you saw in the picture window, a screened-in porch overlooking the gulf and a second porch off the side also overlooking the gulf. The condo was beautifully decorated in light, airy colors. Beautiful kitchen/living area, 2 bedrooms (1 king and 2 twins), pull-out couch, 2 bathrooms, washer/dryer, 3 TV's. Everything you could possibly want was available (except a bike). Down the stairs and to the beach, what could be better?! We stayed in 503. Definitely would stay there again!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Turk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We rented a condo through Royal Shell Vacations website. We looked at several places on Sanibel and decided that this location would be best with our small children (11, 8, and 5). We wanted tranquil water and close to restaurants, etc.

We then chose from one of several at Loggerhead Cay. The one we rented was very nicely decorated. It was clean, had loads of whatever kitchen supply we might need, tons of bath towels, beach toys, movies, puzzles, books, etc. The beds were VERY comfortable! My son even liked the pull-out couch!

There is a short walk directly to the beach either via a boardwalk or a path. The grounds are nicely kept. Lots of flowers and bushes. The pool was clean and warm and close to our room. We had easy access to a tennis court if we wanted (we didn't!). The condo building itself is not as "pretty" as some of the newer ones (this one is 15 or 20 years old), but the inside of ours was totally redone and beautiful.

The people at Royal Shell were great. Booking was a breeze. We were able to check in early and found dish soap, dishwasher tablets, and garbage bags in abundance in the condo. The other nice thing is that the RS office is very close to the condo, so we got our keys and within 5 minutes were walking up the steps to our room.

I would definitely stay at Loggerhead Cay again and would definitely use Royal Shell Vacations again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — screened porch
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kyderbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loggerhead Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loggerhead Cay

Property: Loggerhead Cay
Address: 979 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6929
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Loggerhead Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loggerhead Cay Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing