We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Beach Club
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our family has been going to Sanibel Island for a summer vacation for over 8 years. It is a fabulous family beach destination for many reasons: shelling, gulf waters, wildlife viewing, quiet place in the summer, and many rental options. We have stayed in several condo developments and inns, but once we found IBC, we never changed.
We have stayed in several different units. The buildings are arranged so that all but one (the one facing the pool) have a view of the ocean. Building D sits directly on the beach and gives the BEST views! Building C faces Westward so you get beach views, sunset views, and a lower price than building D. Units with a "P" in the name are top floor units. All building have 3 levels of condo units (plus ground floor parking) starting at 2, labeled 200's, 300's, and P's. P3C would be the top (Penthouse) unit closest to the beach in building C.
The units for rent are all independently owned and managed (usually) by VIP or SVP. The amazing thing about these units is that they have TONS of sunshine- the living room/dining area has floor to ceiling windows and sliders. You simply can't get any better. The floor plans are all very similar: 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen, and living area.
Some owners give you access to the storage closet at ground level. All units have covered parking at ground level for one car. The pool is one of the largest we've seen for a condo and there are many less units here to share it than some of the other places. Right outside is the beach and this area of Sanibel has a wonderful sand bar that you can easily walk to at low tide. Nice for little kids swimming at low tide. Even at high tide there is plenty of space for kids to swim. We have seen dolphins playing many times right from our dining table!
The place is never crowded in summer. I don't think there are many rental units here and the other owners must only visit occasionally. We have found all units to be very nice. Some need to keep up with cleaning the carpets better. Some need to update bathroom facilities. Many got major renovations after the 2004 hurricanes. All have been very well-stocked in the kitchen. Some even have lots of board games and books.
The condo development has a WiFi from their club house but units further away don't get great reception in all rooms. Each owner could really make an improvement by providing their own WiFi, or IBC could do a better job of improving the range of their condo service.
Sanibel is a wonderful vacation spot with lovely beaches, some of the best shelling in the world, great restaurants in a range of costs and style (check out the Sanibel Steakhouse for great steaks and seafood, Island Cow for fun salads and great breakfasts, Timbers for great seafood, and CheeburgerCheeburger for casual burgers), and fun boating trips.

Room Tip: Buiding B faces East for sunrises (for early birds), Building D is right on the beach so views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
18  Thank FloridaMom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Sanibel, and a fairly new experience with condo rental. Both worked out very well. Condo was booked via Select Vacation Properties.

The facility and specific unit were great. Pool was clean, beach access was easy. The unit was nicely furnished, had decent linens, beach towels, good large/small appliances, covered parking, and some beach toys/chairs in the basement storage.

The beach area is perfect. Tons of shells, clean, nice tapered beach at the water, etc. Near the southern point of the island, so sunrise/sunsets are good, too. Very conveniently located to shopping, dining, attractions, too.

I would return to Sanibel and this condo facility/unit without hesitation.

Room Tip: Suggest the south building or two immediately north of it for best access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cliff_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This review was written for Vacation Rentals By Owner..... We refer to a previous review by another renter which we've copied below, since we refer to it in our review....

Stay Away
Guest: None (Minnesota)
Date of Stay: 02/25/12 Review Submitted: 03/18/12

Extremely disappointed. Not our first trip to Island Beach Club. We have stayed at other units in building C and have been extremely satisfied. This unit is in NEED of a maintenance person. Master bedroom bath, back of door is peeling. Bath handle fell off, ( we put it back on). Guest bath, shower head dangling straight down. Hard to use. KITCHEN is dismal at best. One fry pan, few utensils, NO BROILER PAN or pan to use to broil. Had to saute our shrimp and pan fry our steak. Front door inside has a chain lock that I can't even explain how it works. BEAUTIFUL VIEW, BUT VERY WORN OUT. Beach equipment in non existent. If updated, this unit would be a dream.

OUR REVIEW:

Date of Stay: March 17-23, 2012
Review written: March 24, 2012

We just returned from Sanibel yesterday and have been trying to figure out what to say for our review of this unit. We just read the previous review and we couldn't agree more. We experienced the same things and are surprised given the previous review and response many of the items weren't addressed before we arrived. We also arrived to the unit and found the shower head dangling in the guest bathroom. The dishwasher was rusted out on the inside and when we ran the dishwasher our dishes had rust specks all over them and we had to wash dishes by hand. We called VIP and they were very responsive. The dishwasher was immediately replaced and the shower head fixed. We have to respond to the manager's response of the previous review and say, we did not pay a high price to stay in this unit for one week to spend our week dealing with simple maintenance issues. All of us REALLY had trouble turning on and off the master bath's sink faucet. However, when we mentioned this item it was not replaced. It needs to be replaced! The view from this unit is spectacular! However, the grimy dirty windows prevents truly enjoying it to its fullest. It really isn't too much to ask to have clean windows for this rental price.....We agree IBC is a great condo complex! We hope to rent another unit at IBC next year. As far as P1D we think the owner is not adequately maintaing their unit and know they are charging just as much as owners who are providing an updated unit and a better overall experience. We would recommend VIP not include this unit in their portfolio of condos to rent until the owner invests some money in updating the unit as it reflects poorly on VIP. Even the replaced dishwasher was one of the cheapest models on the market. We agree with the previous reviewer "stay away" from this unit until some changes are made.

Stayed: March 2012
18  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Won't tell you our unit # for fear that it will be booked when we want it, but this is the closest resort to the beach on Sanibel. No-frills, but everything is clean, the pool is pristine, and if you rent right you can watch the dolphins morning and night from your dining table. Find an owner with a unit facing the beach and the panoramic views will take your breath away. Call or order online ahead and have Jerry's deliver your groceries when the cleaning people are there and you'll check into a well-stocked paradise. The badly designed and weirdly stuccoed Beach Club exterior is a great camouflage for a perfect spot.

Room Tip: Do some Internet research and find an owner who has a full beach facing unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Our unit (330C) had an updated kitchen ... very nice. Overall, unit was very clean and compfortable, but carpet is old, stained and needs replacing. Pleasant surprises in storage closed with bikes and other beach paraphenalia. Lots of nice neighbors included some of the live in owners that seem to genuinely enjoy having families around.

Only major concern, given that I had to conduct business, was that the wireless network service in out unit was very thready, ranging from mediocre to non-existent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichmondR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Floor to ceiling sliders on two sides opening to beautiful ocean views with the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep- what's not to like! The location is perfect to see the sunset from the beach and the shelling out front was the best we had seen on the island. The little ones loved the heated pool and the elevator and we oldsters sat on the beach in brand new beach chairs- even a higher one to make up and down easier.Having a washer/dryer right in the unit was a treat. A call from the owner was a kind touch and made us feel very welcome. We are already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bostonlilygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at 210C and had everything we could need or want. We were right on the beach and when we went to the beach we practically had it to ourselves. Same story with the pool-had it to ourselves! What an awesome view from all around our condo. We could see the gulf from three different rooms and our wrap around lanai. Yes, there are lots and lots of seashells, just not very big. We brought home bags and bags of shells. When we had an occasion to talk to owners/neighbors, they were very friendly and helpful. We've had Sanibel on our list of where to go for years and finally went and had a wonderful, memorable time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beverlyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
721 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,954 reviews
7.7 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kona Kai Motel
Kona Kai Motel
#7 of 45 in Sanibel Island
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Club

Address: 2265 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6122
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Island Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing