We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Beautiful grounds. Lovely gardening and lush palm trees. I enjoyed walking on the quiet, peaceful beach in the mornings.
The cottage was cute and brightly furnished and decorated. Lots of towels, beach towels and great coffee all supplied. The king size bed was too firm for me. The pull out couch was horrible. Just an old thin mattress. The couch was comfortable enough to just sleep on as is without pulling the mattress out. Extra sheets etc... were all provided.
Make sure you bring bug spray with deet. I was attacked near sunset and suffered with itchy, red welts all over my legs for days. It unfortunately caused me to have trouble sleeping as well.

The pools were a great distraction. The water temperature in each was perfect.

The walls in the adjoining cottages are thin. I could hear the neighbor and their kids get up at 5 a.m.

Room Tip: pick the ocean front cottages, either the mango or lime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0110pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Sounds like you had a wonderful time, except for that darn hide-a-bed.
I don't think I have ever slept on a hide-a-bed that was comfortable. So sorry about that ,but next time, let someone at the office know so that maybe we can find a solution. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. We do appreciate your review and will look into solutions for that issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 607 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Cozy and a 5 minute walk to the beach! Not a luxury stay but the rooms were clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing getaway. Being teacher of 36 kids... The peace and quiet was priceless. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fuzzybunny0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

We appreciate your review from your stay here at the Waterside Inn on the Beach. As the name says.....we're on the beach, so I'm a little confused when you said that there was a 5 minute walk to the beach. At any rate, We're glad you had a quiet and relaxing time here with us. I know being a teacher can really be stressful, so we're glad we could help you out to de-stress! Hurry back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My family has considered Sanibel our island for 45 years. Going on 4 generations.. This place is heaven on earth; perfect centralized location, great shelling, right on the beach, clean, beautiful and personal. Debbie, Peggy, Lynn and not to mention John (Go Steelers and Penguins – Really??! GO BEARS and HAWKS) They are family! If you like your stay to have people always available, kind and generous, this is the place! There is nothing they wouldn’t do for their guests! One word – Amazing.. If you want to experience Sanibel, as I know it from the 60’s and on.. this is the place.. Nothing like West Gulf Dr. and the Waterside Inn on the Beach! We'll See you every year for our family Thanksgiving!

Room Tip: Cottages are a quaint flavor of the island’s history. Clean and personal. The Breakers West are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TH45yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Wow, 45 years and 4 generations!! That just about says it all. When you find a place to call your home-away-from-home, you’ve found it all!

We are so blessed to have you as our guests and feel that Waterside Inn is just as much your place as ours. It was great fun having you stay here again this year and such a kick to tell old stories of old times on Sanibel.

To all our future guests, I hope you will become a part of our family as well. We will do our best to make you feel comfortable and right at home! See ya soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed two nights during Thanksgiving weekend in Mango 102, a perfect home away from home! One bedroom with comfortable pullout sofa in living room, kitchen, and bath. Very clean and looked just like the pictures on their website. Best of all, this unit is beach front! Walk out the screened porch door and take the short path to the beach. Or enjoy sitting in the screened porch and watch the swaying palm trees. Porch is fairly private too due to bordering hedges. We also appreciated it was dog friendly; a few small happy dogs and no problem to anyone. Friendly staff added to our positive experience.

Room Tip: Mango 102, end unit on beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bookbudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here at the Waterside Inn. Some folks say that it’s as close to heaven on earth as you could get. Yet others say that rather than a resort, we are a color-coordinated step into Old Florida via wonderfully simple cottages on a spectacular beach. Whatever your description, we are happy that you made it here to experience it for yourself. Hopefully this will be an annual pilgrimage for you.
Thanks for sharing your wonderful review to our future Guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just got back today from the Waterside Inn. Stayed in The Pineapple Room 123. Was clean and very nicely updated. Large bathroom with double sinks, granite counter tops and plenty of drawer space in bathroom cabinet. Bed was comfy and clean. Property was a very short stroll down to the beach. Could see the gulf from our porch but #123 was not gulf front. No problem.
Had a small refrigerator, coffee pot, wine glasses and toaster. All we needed.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor in 123. No elevator, in case that is a problem for anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaShells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Waterside Inn and Sanibel Island for your vacation. We’re so happy that you enjoyed yourselves and that your choice of rooms suited your needs. Our main goal is to bring you back again and again so hopefully we will be seeing you again someday soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

What an amazing beach front vacation! Really enjoyed our clean room with a full kitchen. The bed was so big and comfy. Nice clean linens. And very spacious cottage. And all personal were very pleasant and friendly! We will be back for another long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louscojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you sharing your comments about your stay here at Waterside Inn. Sounds like you had a wonderful time and got to unwind and relax. Just what you needed! We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Waterside Inn on the Beach for 4 days and really enjoyed the area! We stayed in the Breakers West A2 condo, it had 2-bedrooms and each BR had its own bathroom. One bedroom had a large king size bed and the other room had two twin beds. There was also a fold out sofa. The kitchen was nice and had all items you would need to make meals. The condo also included a washer and dryer which came in very handy. Condo also included free WIFI. You could also rent umbrellas from the front office and they had beach chairs and towels you could use for no charge. The beach is very nice, lots of shells if that is what you are looking for. The area is very quiet and relaxing. This is not a party island! There are lots of great restaurants in the area and lots of small shops to get souvenirs. There is also a small grocery store and liquor store close, but I would suggest stopping in Ft. Myers at Walmart or other larger stores to get groceries and all your needed items before going to Sanibel Island. Overall we had a great time and the weather was wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speedldf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences here at Waterside Inn. You gave everyone reading some valuable information about Sanibel and the surrounding area. As you mentioned, there is a large grocery store (Publix) right before you travel through the toll booth. Many of our guests will stock up on food/liquor/beach toys or tolietries before checking in here at Waterside. Don't worry if you forget anything though as we have two grocery stores on the island as well as drug stores, pharmacies, and liquor stores.

Once again, thank you for your review. We have a wonderful community of people that come back year after year. We look forward to having you join this group as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,434 reviews
3.8 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,928 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,333 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $153 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing