We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at Waterside Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2008

The Waterside Inn is a perfect vacation for anyone wanting to have the ocean steps from their door. We saw dolphins every morning and the evening sunsets were awesome. The accommodations were great and the staff is lovely. You can't ask for a more true "Florida" vacation. Six of us stayed in three cottages...the Mango, the Grapefruit and the Raspberry. They are all identical. They have a great Tiki Hut to sit under. This is a very relaxing place with great people and access to the Beach. Go there, you won't be disappointed! (We live in Orlando, FL and have been to many beaches and hotels/oceanside inns., The Waterside Inn ROCKS!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maxandjake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 607 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2008

As others have said, the price for the accommodations was much more reasonable than other places I had priced on Sanibel. You certainly can't beat the location. The hotel is steps from the beach, and since this is mostly a beach for the resorts on this stretch, it isn't crowded like the other beaches with public parking. You can't actually see the ocean from most of the rooms in the lodge though. There are beach chairs you can borrow and spend the entire day out on the beach. We stayed in the pineapple lodge, which was a bit shabby. There is a full size oven fridge, etc which is nice. The appliances are quite dated looking, and rusty. There were many stains on the carpets, and I noticed the smell of the pillows too. They are air conditioned by wall units, which can be loud. The bathroom is also shabby looking, with very small and thin towels. Overall, it seems the rooms need updating, BUT the location and price can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MarissaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

I rated The Waterside Inn above average BECAUSE of the location. If your the fussy type.. then don't stay here, I'm sure you would find plenty to complain about.. if you are visiting the area because you want to enjoy the beach and all the wildlife... then this is a good place for you. We just got back and stayed in the Kiwi cottage - mostly good. The bed & bedding is a small step up from tent camping (haha) The A/C unit was loud - but kept us cool at night :-) We weren't there to sleep the sunny days away anyway! The staff was friendly, our cottage was pretty clean and well equipped for our needs (we weren't traveling with children) and there was a nice TV in our cottage. The grounds were gorgeous and well maintained - I loved the intimate feel. We would stay here again - and probably will next year. My husband and I were traveling through the area and stayed 3 nights. The Waterside Inn was kind enough to accommodate us when several other places required a week minimum stay - so Thank You!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Beach-Cowgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Pineapple Lodge. Upon entering our room, we discovered the carpeting was wet. We didn't complain so that is our fault. The room remained humid all that first day, but finally dryed out the next. I agree with the comments about the A/C units being loud and the bed being uncomfortable, plus the bedding consisted of just a small sheet and a thin, stiff bedspread. Some of the bed pillows smelled awful which I did mention to the office person upon checkout. We had no problems with the staff - they were very friendly. We had forgotten to bring beach towels so they let us borrow some. I had checked out hotel prices on Sanibel Island prior to our arrival and found most rooms in the $300 range. We stopped at the Visitor's Center on the island and made our room reservation from there. Since our room was half that price, we knew it would be just the basics. We were just happy to be out of NE Ohio and the snow and cold!

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank frankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We recently returned from a fabulous stay at the Waterside Inn on Sanibel. The service was warm, friendly and very accomodating. The rooms are clean and quaintly decorated. Hotel staff were very relaxed. Gas BBQs were available as well as beach toys and a shell washing station. The pool was very nice and the hotel is right on the beach. The Waterside Inn was very reasonably priced, considering the service, location and amenities. I look forward to a return visit to the Waterside Inn and Sanibel.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank sanibelvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We spent the Christmas holiday at Breakers West and had a fabulous time! The condo was beautifully decorated, clean and inviting. All the amenities we could have needed were provided. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable.

The pools were warm and crystal clear. The condo was just a short walk from the beach - which was indescribably beautiful. White sands, FULL of shells, CLEAN! Chairs and lounges provided by Waterside Inn right there next to the beach - couldn't be more convenient!

I'd highly recommend the Waterside Inn/Breakers West for anyone looking for exceptional accommodations!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ryaneliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

I have stayed at the Waterside Inn on two occasions, in 2004 and again in 2005. Both times we stayed in the Pineapple lodge on the upper floor and the rooms were a good size with 2 large beds (one of which was used by our toddler) and a small kitchen area with fridge, cooker, worktop space and a small worktop/bar area with stools to sit at. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated (sea green walls and bedding, white furniture and typical floral curtains!) and the balcony was great, although I seem to recall someone else mentioning the AC unit noise outside which I vaguely remember. The view of the gulf from our room was obstructed by several large palm trees but that really wasn't a problem as you’re unlikely to spend much time inside with such a stunning beach on your doorstep. The location is fantastic; literally a few steps from the beach with wonderful sunrises and sunsets and superb shelling. I would often get up at 6.00am while the family slept and slink off to the beach, watch the sun rise and collect some lovely shells in relative solitude. To summarise - a great, no frills, peaceful resort with spacious, clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
4  Thank Missvalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,433 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
300 reviews
8.3 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,920 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
519 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $153 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing