We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
202
109
29
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
109
29
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screened in porch sandbar restaurant no daily maid service second floor adirondack chairs small kitchen literally steps old florida top floor beach location bedroom cottage gulf view beach front the past years your feet gulf of mexico nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 373 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

This place is great and very relaxing, we stayed in a cottage and it was very quiet and a clean cottage. My only negative is the beach at the moment with the red tide, seems no one pitches in to help clean the shore of dead animals that wash up. There are plenty of shells but unfortunately we couldn’t stay out for to long as our sinuses really gave us fits, but that is the only negative. Would be a five star rating if it wasn’t for the red tide!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank levydawg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank You for this great review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

If you are looking for relaxation on the beach, this is the place for you. We stayed in the motel part of the property, each room faces the beach. We were on the second floor and had the most beautiful view every morning. Plenty of room, comfortable accommodations. Kitchenette was stocked with basic needs. You are not only close to the beach, you were on the beach. We were down the stairs and right there on the beach. Beach is quiet and clean, lots of shells. Facility is older and it shows it's age, but has exactly what we were looking for. If we are back in Sanibel, it will be our go to hotel. Would highly recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing vacation spot with direct beach access.

Room Tip: All motel rooms have view of the beach and gulf. Second floor rooms are quieter due to first floor having noise from the rooms above.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithann60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank You for this great review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly & accommodating staff! Great location on the beach and near to everything!
However, do not plan on using their WiFi - it is non-existent on a good day! Stayed 8 days and struggled constantly to get internet! Also, the couch/sleeper in the cottage is not good for sleeping - very hard and uncomfortable! Bring your own pillows too - the ones provided are hard as rocks! The cottage was very clean and the grounds immaculate! I will return!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, General Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Thank You for this great review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

If you stay in the Motel on the bottom, get ready for a lot of noise. Every foot step made from your neighbors above will feel like they are going to fall into your room. I don’t know if all the rooms on the bottom are like this but number 7 is. At first glance the room looked pretty clean, but you could tell the bathroom needed a deep clean, which doesn’t look like it ever gets one. The reason for 3 stars is the beach brought it up from 1 star.

Stayed: July 2018
3  Thank smittykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Stayed at Shalimar Cottages and motel Thurs- Sun the view from our motel is absolutely beautiful . However the motel is old and a little outdated . It did come with a kitchen ,fridge ,stove microwave so that was nice and the pool was very nice . Our room was on the top floor only two floors and I believe they may have been wood floors so you could hear every move you make along with the neighbors in the rooms next door and the air conditioner was loud . However with all that being said the beach was right out side the door so you take the good with the bad . Would I stay here again ? Yes but I would definitely want to choose a different room .

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank dkb82946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, General Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank You for this review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews