We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sanibel Island Beach Resort(Sanibel Island)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$240
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$199
Song of the Sea
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$229
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$186
$159
Sunset Beach Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$179
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$177
$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
202
107
29
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
107
29
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchsandbar restaurantno daily maid servicesecond floorfree standingadirondack chairssmall kitchenliterally stepstowel exchangeeach cottageold floridatop floorbeach locationgulf viewthe staff was friendly and helpfulbeach frontthe past years
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 371 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed at Shalimar twice and are going back this September. It has been mid September when we have stayed which couldn't be a nicer time. The beach is very quiet and NO children. The manager and staff are very helpful and kind. We usually stay 3 nights. Yes there is no maid service but that doesn't bother us. I don't mind taking the beautiful walk to the office to exchange linens. The rooms have been recently remodeled with lovely furnishings. We did stay at the motel on the first floor ( would probably choose a second floor room but traveled with elderly parents) and did notice noise from people walking above but it never kept me awake as other reviewers stated. And I never heard tv noise or people's conversations. Yes, when you are on the balcony you may hear other people on a nearby balcony, but I don't see how the owners could avoid this.
The beach is very nice and close to the motel. We saw dolphins swimming by usually twice every day. The pool area is very nice and clean.
The motel room kitchenette is well equipped with dishes and pots/pans. The bathroom could be a little bigger. Other than those small complaints, I love it here and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need pampered by a fancy resort.
The only complaint I have about Sanibel island is the No-see-ums!!!! They ate me terribly.

Room Tip: Second floor would be less noise and better views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We drove to Sanibel from Miami without any plans or reservations. Just wanted to check it out and boy what a pleasant surprise...the whole island was a wonderful experience. We ended up staying at the Shalimar Cottages and Motel. Since we didn't have a reservation there was only a hotel room available the first night and a cottage came open the second night. Even though the hotel had been remodeled it was not sound proof at all...you can hear every step from above and everything next door. The second night we stayed in a cottage and it was sooo much better. The previous reviewer was right about the chairs they were cheep plastic and not really beach chairs made for the sand but other than that everything else was pretty good. There was lots to do, many places to eat, and lots to see and explore. We will surely go again.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages not the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Paula,

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Never mind and disregard the negative reviews here, the Shalimar is an outstanding property on Sanibel Island. Lighten up a little! My family has been coming to Sanibel Island since 2001 and the Shalimar is always our first choice. We've reluctantly stayed in other places on Sanibel but always come back and prefer the Shalimar. It's NOT a fancy 5-star luxurious resort. It IS a quaint and charming property with the best access to the best beach on Sanibel. It's old school Florida charm without the over the top mega resort dynamic (vanilla decor, hyper kids going crazy everywhere, nickel and dime expenses etc...Blech!). The cottages are great for longer stays but the motel efficiencies are just fine for shorter stays. We've stayed in both and it has been great every time. You have direct and easy access to the beach no matter where you are on property. Also, it's an easy drive to the main drag Periwinkle and westward to Captiva. We were even there in 2008 when Hurricane Gustav was in the Gulf and still had an amazing time!

We called very late this year and were thrilled to find out they still had vacancy for Labor Day weekend 2013. They even worked something out for us regarding their minimum stay requirement for the holiday weekend due to another commitment just because we were returning guests and they remembered us! The service has always been excellent and if you are going to complain about a bit of insignificant noise or murky water beyond the management's control, maybe you should rethink your philosophy on vacation! Just chill, relax and enjoy the shells, sunsets and beach. Sanibel Island and the Shalimar will always be a very special place for our family and we LOVE it there! We cherish our memories here and look forward to creating more. My kids have basically grown up going to the Shalimar throughout all the stages of their lives from toddler through college years. We can't wait for our next visit to see our old friend on West Gulf Drive in a few short weeks!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadtrippers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello, thank you for your kind review! We appreciate that you took the time to give us feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Shalimar about 3 weeks ago. Overall we had a good time. The motel is very close to the beach, which is a nice benefit. The balconies are screened which allowed us to eat on our patio.

However, there are a few cons to this place people should be aware of. First off, if you stay on the first floor and you have anyone above you, you will hear every footstep they take. The ceiling apparently is constructed of a material that i guess creaks and of course this is probably due to the age of the building.

Second, they do provide chairs for the beach, but no umbrellas. Do not expect the chairs to be on the beach as in most resorts. The chairs are not the beach adjustable kind. They are the $10 types you find in Walmart that are not usually used on the beach. You must lug the chairs to the beach and back when you are done.

Like I said - overall we had a good time since we were there for the beach, but for the money, the management could at least provide umbrellas, and actual beach chairs and at least lay them out on the beach for the guests.

By the way - this weekend we stayed at the Holiday Inn - umbrellas along with beach chairs provided right on the beach, no creaking, a tiki bar, and not much more per night.

I would suggest to the management that they upgrade the amenities to compete.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the second floor to avoid hearing your upstairs neighbors every footstep
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southfloridaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello, thank you for your feedback – we are happy to take your observations into consideration. Just to provide more detail for other readers: the chairs are Adirondack-type, which are quite commonly used on the beach on Sanibel; we ask guests to return the chairs to two main locations (they are light and easy to carry) in order to protect wildlife on the beach. Especially during sea turtle nesting season (May 1st to October 31st), absolutely no items may be left on the beach. As we are a very small resort, we do not have the staff capacity to put out large chairs that would need to be collected and stored by several staff members every night. The same reason applies to putting out, collecting, and storing umbrellas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

First off, We have been staying here for over 10 years and it is by far one of the best places to stay on Sanibel especially the cottages. The hotel rooms are ALL recently remodeled and beautifully done and trust me they spent some money on these rooms. The cottages are also recently remodeled in bright tropical colors. The owners and staff, especially the manager, take great pride in this place and it shows. We are local and this is our go to place for a Staycation.

OK..Second..To the reviewer that gave them a bad review because of WATER CONDITIONS is a crock of Bull crap ESPECIALLY when they themselves live less than 2 hours away. It is all over the news that we are experiencing a set back with the water being released from Lake Okeechobee and YES it is causing our normally beautiful waters to be murky so that is a disgraceful and lack of education review. I am still trying to grasp how this is Shalimar's fault and how that makes them thieves!! Smh

As for maid service, it is in their pamphlet and at their front desk that it is not offered daily. You can always get whatever you need from the staff and or front desk. Stay at an over priced hotel on the island that lacks the Florida charm if that is what you desire.

The noise I have NEVER experienced and I have stayed all over this property. That does not mean you can hear other guests but maybe try communicating the manager and or owners before jumping ship and leaving such a bad review that can be harmful to an establishment.

NO I am NOT an employee and or relative I am a local business owner who takes great pride in saying this place is awesome and am fed up with spoiled vacationers who think nothing of ruining an establishments reputation through social media and or Trip advisor. Trip advisor is our go to place when we want to stay and or eat anywhere. If I had never stayed at Shalimar and read the recent reviews I would have doubts and that is disheartening considering I know this place first hand.

They recently opened a restaurant next to the hotel and it is amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dolfngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews