We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Island Beach Resort(Sanibel Island)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$177
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$241
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$186
$159
Sunset Beach Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$229
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$179
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
202
107
29
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
107
29
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchsandbar restaurantno daily maid servicesecond floorfree standingadirondack chairssmall kitchenliterally stepstowel exchangeeach cottageold floridatop floorbeach locationgulf viewthe staff was friendly and helpfulbeach frontthe past years
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 371 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked a last-minute weekend trip on Sanibel, and stayed in the motel at Shalimar for the first time. I had read negative reviews on tripadvisor regarding the noise level from overhead rooms; however, I wasn't overly concerned as our room was on the top floor. We arrived late at night, and the staff was very helpful in ensuring we were able to find and access our rooms at that late hour. The room was very clean and had a MARVELOUS view of the ocean. Although we heard very little noise from our neighbors on the first night, the floor squeaked every time we took a step, and we felt like we couldn't walk without disturbing the guests underneath us. The second night was very different - we could hear our neighbor snoring as though he was in the room with us. My boyfriend had to use earplugs to go to sleep! I think we will try the cottages when we come back. Other than the noise issue, Shalimar was PERFECT. The beach is literally steps away from the motel, and we had fun renting kayaks and shelling. The staff was non-intrusive and very friendly. Visitors should be warned there is no room service provided here - you can exchange your dirty linens for clean at the office.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage if possible (minimum stay is 5 nights, but they will make exceptions). If you are staying in the motel, choose room 11 (top floor, corner room) if possible. If not, choose rooms 12 - 20 (top floor - less noise). We were in 16 and had a great view of the gulf.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We cut our off-season visit short by 2 days due to the noise levels in our "Motel" room. Wood framing, wood floors, no noise dampening insulation in the walls or between floors meant that we heard every footfall from the unit above ours, every word from the TV on both sides, every slide of a patio door from all 3 sides, every conversation from adjoining rooms could be heard as clearly as if they were being held in our room. The last straw was the guitar playing "singer" and her band of merry men on the patio last night at 11:30. We finally just packed up and left. Attempts to reach the room next door to us by phone the night before went unanswered because their phone did not ring - believe me, we would have heard it ringing. Calls to the front desk when unanswered and re-routed to the automated attendant.
We contacted the hotel this morning after arriving home to let them know that we left and why - maybe not in the most polite fashion - but we had a net of about 8 hours sleep over the previous 3 nights. The manager was argumentative, stating that he lived on the property and was aware of no such issues. (He obviously doesn't live in the motel!) When we requested a refund for the last 2 nights, he refused stating that we had paid the on-line site we used to book the room - when we mentioned the power of social media, he became indignant. The call did not end well.
This place does not offer daily maid service - you need to go the office to get clean towels, extra toilet paper, or linens. It's not even quaintly "old Florida". We booked here because of its location on the beach for a long weekend getaway. Not being able to sleep made any enjoyment negligible. There are other places on the beach.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid this property.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SuwaneeCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello,
We are very sorry to hear about your experience, though in this case yours was the only complaint we received. The following morning we contacted the guests next door and no one else had problems sleeping or complaints about noise. (All phones worked perfectly, as everyone we called answered, and an inspection of the phones was made shortly afterwards.) The reason you received an automated response it is because the office is open between 8 AM and 9 PM. Also we are wondering, why you did not say anything after the very first sleepless night of your stay. We could relocate you to a different room or talk to a “guitar playing singer”.

If you visit our website, read our brochure, or read reviews about us, you would find out that we do not provide daily maid services, and that fresh linens, towels, toiletries, and other supplies are available at the office daily. Although you said 'there are other places in the beach', many have similar policies; in any case, you chose us, and this is simply the way we operate.


We are willing to work with anyone to solve an issue; yet in this case, you were raising your voice at the manager; there was no need to do this, especially because he instructed you to call the third-party site through which you made the reservation in order to receive a refund (which we are not able to process at our office), though you chose to disregard the manager's advice and instead as you put it ”If you will not refund my money, I will light you up on internet”. It is very sad to see, that trip advisor and other social internet sites are becoming a tool for extortion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I have stayed here repeatedly, and we always find it to be a wonderful experience. We just got back from our last trip, and we had a great time. Because it is an older hotel, Shalimar is built closer to the beach than is now allowed. That makes it one of the most convenient places that I have ever stayed. The rooms are extraordinarily neat and clean. The setting is beautiful, and the people who run the place are all very nice and helpful. If you are looking for a lovely, comfortable place to stay on Sanibel Island then I recommend Shalimar without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I found Shalimar on the Internet (yes, tripadvisor) for our first trip to Sanibel. If you are looking to be wowed with luxury, this is NOT the place. However,if you are looking for a nice, clean, well kept hotel in an ideal location, then this is it. We had room 11 in the hotel.....perfect. Best balcony, lovely views, adequate kitchenette and right ON the great beach. Lots of free beach chairs, fishing off the beach, we picked up star fish and sand dollars for hours in the surf(yes we put everything safely back) and saw manatees and dolphins daily right at our beach.

Other reviews have said rooms are a bit noisy....yes, they are. Try to get upstairs but if you don't, stay here anyway. Nice relaxing vacation and I would stay at the Shalimar again in a heartbeat. Relaxing and very friendly!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanne072455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We found the Shalmar years ago while exploring Sanibel. I pulled a brochure for sometime in the future. We decided we were ready to go back, and booked one of the cottages on the beach (#4). What a fantastic place! The cottage was free standing and right on the beach, just steps away. The cottage was very clean, had everything you'll need (we still brought stuff with us) and if you need anything Baileys is right down the road. This is the place to go, staff very nice and helpful. We just cannot say enough.

Sanibel is beautiful, the sea life is amazing in the week we were there, we saw two mama dolphins with thier babies, came right up to the shore, found tons of sand dollars and starfish, a turtle, a manatee. Saw a baby shark caught by a fisherman, very cool watching him release it and it swim back out little fin in the air!

It was awesome every morning having coffee on our patio with the beach right in front of us.

This is a MUST STAY and Sanibel is a must go. And if you do, please dont take any live shells

Room Tip: they have watch you need but I would bring a small tephlon fry pan for eggs lol
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunset1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews