We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Island Beach Resort(Sanibel Island)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$199
Song of the Sea
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$240
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$186
$159
Sunset Beach Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$229
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
202
107
29
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
107
29
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchsandbar restaurantno daily maid servicesecond floorfree standingadirondack chairssmall kitchenliterally stepstowel exchangeeach cottageold floridatop floorbeach locationgulf viewthe staff was friendly and helpfulbeach frontthe past years
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 371 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

coming here 15+years. Peaceful, any minor hiccups always appropriately dealt with by Ramos and/or front desk staff. Immaculate, well-maintained & improved (we speculate annually about what will be improved). On-site laundry a boon, it's fun doing a wash while sitting in the sun in Nov/Dec. Non-smoking a great improvement. Only quibble is that we'd like the pool a bit warmer (as it used to be).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is by far one of the cleanest hotel's we've ever stayed at. We loved the view from the second floor. Honestly, we spent all our time on the beach and never used the pool, altho it looked nice. The office staff was very pleasant. Loved being able to use their computer to print my boarding passes. They had morning coffee available, a book exchange, dvd's to use. Just a great place!

Room Tip: Choose 2ndfloor for a great beach view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusybeeKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. I think your prices are equal to other similar type places in Sanibel but think the service could be better in the way of amenities. Having a coffee maker to make your own coffee in the room would be nice. By the time I got to the coffee in the office at 10 am it was all gone. Some of the BBQ grills are in terrible condition. The rooms were excellent and we enjoyed are time there.

Room Tip: There are two cottages that are duplexes and have direct views of the beach. The motel type rooms for two have a decent beach view although at an angle. The rooms at the far end have the corner and best view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexT7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great motel. Huge rooms with efficiency kitchen amenities. Beautiful view from screened porch & right on the beach! They also give you a discount at the wonderful Sandbar resteraunt which is right next store. Rooms are spotless and staff is excellent. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The beauty of Tripadvisor is seeing everyone's different perspectives of the exact same place. I stayed at the Shalimar during the "frat boys and sorority girls" week one of the reviewers referred to, in fact, I just may have been one of those sorority girls!! To be fair, yes, there was a night we came home late and were upon reflection - a bit loud as we settled with the cabdriver, said our goodnights and made our way to our rooms. For that I sincerely apologize. As for the walls being "paper thin" I think everyone understands when you stay in a motel, you just might hear your neighbors from time to time. I did not find it any noisier than the five star resort I stayed at in Marco in December. Yep in a hote/motel - sometimes you can hear other guests. I did not feel it was an issue at all. I personally slept to the sound of the waves hitting the shore every night. The Lanais all overlook the ocean and we enjoyed breakfast out there every morning.

The Shalimar truly is a lovely place to stay, the closest to the beach you will find on the island, just off the steps of the motel. Very clean grounds with paver stone parking lot. Each room has an ocean view and the kitchen was so handy and very well-stocked. The pool was never busy while I was there, due to the proximity to the ocean I suppose. The fishing off the beach was fabulous and we saw tons of dolphins and manatees cruising by close to the shore. A lovely walk on the beach in either direction, and the most beautiful sunsets. A short drive to all the restaurants and pubs. I highly recommend the Shalimar and plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJBoo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews