We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy destination for middle-aged midwestern party animals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Noisy destination for middle-aged midwestern party animals”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quiet 5 day getaway on Sanibel Island, Florida and thought that we found the perfect place in the Shalimar. At first glance the place is charming and with both cottages and motel-style rooms facing the ocean we were impressed with the outwardly appearance. To be honest we would have rated this place very high had it not seemed to be a magnet for loud-mouthed, drunken party animal mid-westerners that partied all night every night while we were there. The phone in the room did not work, so we could not complain about the noise and there were different groups that cycled in and out during our stay.

If you are looking to be a loud and obnoxious drunkard, screaming all night as if you are a bunch of frat punks, then the Shalimar is your place.

If you are a couple looking for a few nights of quiet and romantic piece and quiet, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DystopianUtopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShalimarCottages, General Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We appreciate your feedback and would like to address your concerns. We would hope that when something is not working in the room, or when any other problems arise, that our guests would simply stop by the office (open from 8 AM to 9 PM) to let us know, or mention it to any of the cleaning or maintenance staff who are out and about on the property. We would have been more than willing to fix your phone at the beginning of your stay, and to also let the disruptive guests know that they were disturbing others (although we received no complaints about "loud-mouthed, drunken party animal mid-westerners" from other guests.) We also hope you do not assume that Shalimar is a "magnet" for disruptive guests, simply because they happened to be staying with us at this particular time; we have no control over how guests choose to spend their time on vacation, although we certainly try to mitigate problems when we are aware of them (and in this case, we were not). We apologize again and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    97
    23
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
164
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Shalimar motel was nice and clean with an excellent view of the ocean. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was a nice quiet atmosphere. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from the crowds and hectic everyday life. Will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinh2o21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Shalimar is a small cottage-style resort sitting right on the Gulf of Mexico. We have stayed in both the gulf-front cottage (I believe it was #5) and one of the gulf view rooms in the "motel" section. Both were very pleasant and had porches that looked directly at the ocean. The facility is fairly old, and kitchenettes were tiny, but usable and updated. Everything was clean, and fresh towels were available in the office, as well as morning coffee. Wifi is available.

The white-sand beach is beautiful! beach chairs, but not umbrellas, are provided. There is a pool which is clean and refreshing. They have DVD rentals and a player in your room. The cottage sleeps 4, but the fold-out sofa in the living room is not the most comfy if you have arthritis! The king bed was just fine, as were the queen beds in the motel section.

All in all, a lovely experience, will go back!

Room Tip: Check to see which rooms have gulf views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband traveled all over Florida and "stumbled" upon this perfect place to stay. The hotel is a great location if you want peace and quiet and to enjoy nature's beauty! We were sad that we didn't come across it sooner, but will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the motel section, top floor. Very quiet! Slept with the sliding doors open all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 560JudyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the motel room for a week of spring break.
We loved our stay, and our kids did, too. We came to Sanibel to collect shells mostly, and our experience was perfect except for a few cold mornings. The hotel has a great location, and all the conveniences necessary of a good relaxing stay. Kitchen was really useful. We took frequent trips to Baileys to get deli like rotisserie chicken, and prepare meals in the room.
Staff was friendly and really helpful. I've noticed the Lithuanian flag on the staff below American, and they explained that owners and several maintenance people were from there. This is really interesting to me, since I've been to that country many times before migrating to Us.
Overall, great experience. Kids are already asking to book the next spring break here. I hope to return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cottage # 8. It is an obstructed view cottage, but literally steps from a perfect view! We walked (the few yards) to the beach every morning and had our coffee. There are beach chairs and towels provided. There is an attached screened porch on each cottage. They really have thought of everything you might need for your little personal beach cottage, including a fully equipped kitchen. There is even a clothesline and an outside hose to wash the sand off your feet, and rinse your shells. And oh my! There are shells!!
The office people were wonderfully helpful in giving us suggestions. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and are planing a return trip to the same cottage next Fall!! Don't miss Doc Ford's Rum Bar and Grille!!

Room Tip: We were in Cottage # 8- there are others that have a true beach front. Ours didn't, but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerriwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were headed to NYC the day Hurricane Sandy Hit and diverted to Sanibel Island Florida instead. We took our chances and did not have a reservation for lodging. We found the Shalimar Cottages and booked in to one of the Ocean Front Cottages for a week.I have traveled extensively and this was perhaps one of the most relaxing vacations of my life. The Shalimar was wonderful in every respect. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves only a few hundred feet away, looking for shells int eh morning, relaxing by the pool. While our trip to the Shalimar was by chance and unplanned, I do plan to go back again soon!

Room Tip: While they also have a two story hotel, stay in the cottages; It is worth the extra money! Not all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMskies62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Property: Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing